Fixing power window switch for free - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Lobos
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 10-06-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
alfizta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Portugal
County: -
Posts: 2,670
Images: 10
Fixing power window switch for free

just used some wire used to strap bags, cables, etc...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_1687.jpg (33.7 KB, 93 views)
alfizta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
gibot123
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Can you use the switch out of a 156 and remove it and refit in a 147 mount ?
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 13 Old 10-06-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
alfizta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Portugal
County: -
Posts: 2,670
Images: 10
Can't answer that. Don't own a 147. But part number is different...
alfizta is offline  
 
gibot123
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
ok not tried but the switch it self looks similar not sure if you can remove them from the mounting plate ? I will have to get the plate off and have a look.
I take it that is from a 156?
Does that one clip in to the plate or is it moulded in?

Last edited by gibot123; 10-06-13 at 16:34. Reason: missed a bit
 
(Post Link) post #5 of 13 Old 10-06-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
alfizta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Portugal
County: -
Posts: 2,670
Images: 10
yes, from a 156 and clips in the plate!
alfizta is offline  
gibot123
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cheers I' check mine and see
 
Status: turbo charger assembler
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,928
thats nothing like a gt switch though......:-p
hdseven is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 19
That's a really neat hack.
one of my switches is broken off, fortunately the passenger window control so I can just reach over instead. Nonetheless it'll be good to fix. Can I dig out the bottom part and then do what you did? Is there a trick to that?
My car's new to me (156, 2001) and it's my first Alfa so I'm curious!
hodders is offline  
gibot123
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I thought they were all much the same once they were out of the mounting but not yet had a look ? The only thing I am not sure of is the pins wether the wiring to them is the same?
 
(Post Link) post #10 of 13 Old 13-06-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
alfizta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Portugal
County: -
Posts: 2,670
Images: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodders View Post
That's a really neat hack.
one of my switches is broken off, fortunately the passenger window control so I can just reach over instead. Nonetheless it'll be good to fix. Can I dig out the bottom part and then do what you did? Is there a trick to that?
My car's new to me (156, 2001) and it's my first Alfa so I'm curious!
The parts are all cliped together. Once I swtiched the botom plastic box with another because of the colour codes, so you can. But to fit the wire through the 2 holes, you won't need to take off the bottom part, just unclip the top button. Second, this is supposed to fix broken plastic button clips. Therefore, the button will come off freely.

You will also have to twist the wire enough untill it fixes the button tight to the bottom. then it should lock/unlock the window properply.
alfizta is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 34
Just done this to two of my switches.10 minutes job,excellent hack. Thanks for posting it.
Huddyy is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 40

Member car:

alfa romeo 156

Like this!! Will have a shufty at that tomorrow!
The Crusher is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spain
County: Toledo
Posts: 1
Thanks friend!! its the best and easiest way to fix it!!!
alfizta likes this.
Lobos is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
fixing , free , power , switch , window

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome