glow plugs - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 23-05-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 3

Member car:


glow plugs

hi peeps, my alfa gtd 1.9 shows glow plug error when i start from cold,have changed plugs but error still shows please help.
nick cutten is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 67

Member car:


would guess fuse or relay. If you havent got multimeter to test leads and plugs might be worth taking them all out lay safely on engine and see if any glow. If none do check fuses, if there all ok,would just change relay only about 10-15 quid, if that doesn't cure it it'll need more investigation into the wiring.

If its one plug not working say, swap with one you know is working so you can find if its a dodgy plug or the wiring to a certain one and go from there.
666JCK is offline  
Status: Alfa nut
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 1,271
So many threads about this its untrue.Google it for answers. I service around 20 or so 159 or gt diesels probably around a third show glow plug error.The culprit may seem to be the relay on the bulkhead these are about £90 but this may not solve the problem.Ive had a 159 albeit a 2.4 jtd where everything was checked and changed and the ecu was even reflashed by Alfa and the error light still flashed.The fix may be simple or you may resign yourself to a flashing light or error message upon startup.
jim hazell is offline  
Status: Alfabook 4400+
Club Member
Membro Premio
SCGT's Avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Dunbartonshire
Posts: 7,266
Images: 44
Think I got lucky , changed all 4 plugs still got error , done ecu reset all ok and its never came back ....about eight months ago ...
SCGT is offline  
Status: Two Alfa's? Oh yes!
Club Member
Membro Premio
mojo51's Avatar
Club Member Number: 1210
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 202
Images: 37
Originally Posted by nick cutten View Post
hi peeps, my alfa gtd 1.9 shows glow plug error when i start from cold,have changed plugs but error still shows please help.
Don't worry too much! I have had the glowplug error message for a couple of years, and even in that really super cold winter, it started straight away! Modern common-rail diesels are nothing like the bad starters that old diesels were, believe me, I used to drive old FX4 London cabs, and even two batteries and a healthy squirt of Easy-start was no guarantee it would start. Apart from the irritating message at start up, I haven't noticed a lack of glowplug at all. It might get to be a priority if you come to sell, but for day to day ownership......

Rockin' & Rollin' since 1967![/SIGPIC]
mojo51 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

glow , plugs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome