Engine ECU problem after sele to manual convertion? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 11-10-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Jul 2012
County: -
Posts: 8

Member car:


Engine ECU problem after sele to manual convertion?


After a convertion from selespeed to manual, in which the engine ECU haven't been changed, the car (147 2.0 ts) won't rev over 4500. i'm looking for the easiest and cheapest solution.

Is it possible to change some parameters on my ecu to make it work? looking over the net makes me think it is possible, and might be even pretty easy?
If i'll put an ECU that came from a manual, will I encounter more problems?

Many thanks.

Last edited by evgeni.red; 11-10-12 at 06:44.
evgeni.red is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
rarebear's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7,021
you need an ECU from a manual with fly by wire throttle....
rarebear is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Damo732's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 73
Images: 2
Did you solve the rpm problem,my manual 2ltr t spark won't go past 4500
Damo732 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
David C's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 28,997
Originally Posted by Damo732 View Post
Did you solve the rpm problem,my manual 2ltr t spark won't go past 4500
Will it pull over that with the MAF sensor unplugged?
David C is offline  
Status: Alfa nut
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 1,271
From memory you cannot simply do this, even changing a selespeed ecu from the earlier sele to a later version upsets the engine ecu.I suspect the cheapest way to solve this problem is to buy an engine ecu kit from ebay for the type you have now fitted.They run in at from 80 nowadays.Rarebear is clued up on seles and i agree with his input.
jim hazell is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 6 Old 12-11-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Jul 2012
County: -
Posts: 8

Member car:


Hey guys,
Wasn't looking to change the sele ecu at all, the engine ecu has a program which needs changes as it think there's a sele ecu mounted in the car. As a result i cant rev over 4500 rpm, and i get error U1711 which means baisicly - "You dont have a sele ecu in the car and i'm looking for it".

2 ways to solve this problem:
1. Buy a complete new virgin engine ecu (manual ofc) and mount it in the car, or buy a used one ands make it virgin again.
2. Reprogramming the currect ecu which is made for sele and make it good for manual box.

I'm currently looking for way 2, will let you know when all is finally done.
Hope my expirience will help someone, as I enjoy the manual box much more then the sele, it was way too much trouble.
evgeni.red is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

convertion , ecu , engine , manual , problem , sele

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome