147 Error lights - airbag - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 26-09-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5

Member car:


147 Error lights - airbag

Hi, not being electrically minded but will disconnecting my 147 battery reset and clear the airbag error codes or does it need diagnostics plugged in to clear them e.g. an expensive Main Dealer? any help would be appreciated.


Fireman Ash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Enjoying a nice mug of tea
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 1,752
It depends on the age of the car - later ones the light goes out if it no longer finds an error (although it is still recorded on the memory of the ECU) earlier ones will only go out by using the software to clear the message.

I would guess that you have an early car.
CJO is offline  
Status: on my bike
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
County: Galway
Posts: 1,734
Images: 2

Member car:

147 1.6TS

I'm interested in this as i have a bag warning , i was advised to disconnect and reconnect leads under seat , but no joy .
Was plugged into a fiat scan but it was unable to read airbag codes or reset them .
Heres a link i got from another AO member .
I shall get this when cash allows , hope it helps !
brave soul is offline  
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
rarebear's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7,021
You need a modified cable ! PM me
rarebear is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 5 Old 28-09-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5

Member car:


Mines a 2001 model and I'm told it needs to be cleared using software. It's been reset but the man says it may need a new switch which I understand is the switch left side of the glove box where a key can be inserted to isolate the airbag systems. Not sure how replacing that would resolve the issue but he said thats what the error was linked to.
Fireman Ash is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

147 , airbag , error , lights

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome