GT Volunteer - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 2 Old 14-04-05 Thread Starter
AO Silver Member
Sponsored Links
AO Silver Member
Re: GT Volunteer

I posted this write up on it and saved it but can't seem to find it on there now

I am Steve and I live in Ireland. In May 2004 I decided to order an Alfa GT 1.9 JTD. My reason for this was that I always loved Alfa's and never owned a new one before. I thought the GT looked fantastic from all angles and the interior too was very special and exotic looking. Also I had been driving BMW's for the past seven years and even though they were immaculately built and looked fantastic they did not give me the driving experience I wanted. I just felt that they were too cosseting and insulating for my liking.

I chose the diesel model as I always prefer the economy of a diesel car and everything I had read about the Alfa diesel engine was very positive. The model designation I chose was the Sportivo which comes with a lot of extras as standard - including those lovely leather seats. I also opted for the 17' teledial alloys as I thought the standard 16' alloys looked very dull and frankly are too small for this car.

There was a bit of a delay in the delivery of my Alfa GT and to cut a long story short I took delivery of it in January 2005. I bought my GT from Lismard Autoworld in Portlaoise, Ireland. The car was presented in immaculate condition and I was very pleased with the dealer and the deal I had done. I had traded in my BMW 530D (a 2002 model)It cost me 42,000 euros - this is expensive by European standards but its mainly due to our government taxes. They think owning a car is still an unnecessary luxury.