fault codes - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
  (Post Link) post #1 of 25 Old 15-02-12 Thread Starter
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

fault codes

Hi, yesterday afternoon red management light came on and after plugging into alfa diag came up with code p0100 maf component complete failiure. got new one today put it on and reset ecu took our for a drive ad now it wont rev over 4000 rpm and reads p0130 fault recently had new lambda so now im stummped help please 156 1.8ts.
chris5047 is offline  
  3 Latest Threads by chris5047
Thread Forum Last Poster Replies Views Last Post
Aux belt tensioner guide.. Alfa 147, 156 & GT chris5047 0 277 23-06-12 13:24
Another New Issue!!! Alfa 147, 156 & GT chris5047 0 281 02-03-12 04:28
fault codes Alfa 147, 156 & GT GTV sean 24 1183 15-02-12 18:27
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  (Post Link) post #2 of 25 Old 15-02-12
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,861
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris5047 View Post
Hi, yesterday afternoon red management light came on and after plugging into alfa diag came up with code p0100 maf component complete failiure. got new one today put it on and reset ecu took our for a drive ad now it wont rev over 4000 rpm and reads p0130 fault recently had new lambda so now im stummped help please 156 1.8ts.
new bosch?
davealfa11 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #3 of 25 Old 15-02-12
AO Gold Member
 
1of1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sao Tome and Principe
Posts: 11,584
Images: 7

Member car:

156 V6

Genuine Bosch MAF?
1of1 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #4 of 25 Old 15-02-12
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,861
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

touche
davealfa11 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #5 of 25 Old 15-02-12
AO Gold Member
 
1of1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sao Tome and Principe
Posts: 11,584
Images: 7

Member car:

156 V6

Err yeah, for those that don't know, I follow Dave around copying his posts
1of1 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #6 of 25 Old 15-02-12
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,861
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1of1 View Post
Err yeah, for those that don't know, I follow Dave around copying his posts
shh
davealfa11 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #7 of 25 Old 16-02-12
Lacken156
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
is the connector on the correct way around? or did you fit the sensor the correct orination? On the sid eof the sensor is an ===> that needs to go from the airbox ===> to the engine, not the other way.
 
  (Post Link) post #8 of 25 Old 16-02-12
AO Gold Member
 
rarebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 6,983
How does the engine run with the maf disconnected ?
rarebear is offline  
  (Post Link) post #9 of 25 Old 16-02-12 Thread Starter
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

Hi the maf is not genuine Bosch what difference does this make after all I have read on here Bosch is the only way but funds are a little tight at the moment, also lambda is ntk which after readi g on here I should not have had either!! The car was hesitant at 2500 rpm up to 3500 since I got it 6 months ago. Would this have be because of the sensors not being genuine Bosch??

Thanks

Chris
chris5047 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #10 of 25 Old 16-02-12
AO Gold Member
 
1of1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sao Tome and Principe
Posts: 11,584
Images: 7

Member car:

156 V6

Tis well documented that those non Bosch items cause issues...
1of1 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #11 of 25 Old 16-02-12
Davffc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris5047 View Post
Hi the maf is not genuine Bosch what difference does this make

Thanks

Chris
I think you are, unfortunately, finding out what difference a non Bosch MAF makes.
As suggested by Rarebear disconnect the MAF and take the car for a drive and see how it performs.
It likely wont idle properly but concentrate on the rest of the rev range
 
  (Post Link) post #12 of 25 Old 16-02-12 Thread Starter
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

will the ntk lambda be ok for now because this is the fault code thats coming up p0130. i love this car but im still waiting to feel a true alfa experience or is this what they mean!! lol i will give it a go in the morning... im about to make things up with the wife for not doing anything on valentines day!!!!
chris5047 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #13 of 25 Old 16-02-12
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,861
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris5047 View Post
will the ntk lambda be ok for now because this is the fault code thats coming up p0130. i love this car but im still waiting to feel a true alfa experience or is this what they mean!! lol i will give it a go in the morning... im about to make things up with the wife for not doing anything on valentines day!!!!
!!!!!!!bosch systems like reading bosch sensors buy wife new bosch accessories
davealfa11 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #14 of 25 Old 17-02-12 Thread Starter
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

Hi again guys, ok update car when cold will not rev past 4000 rpm when warm will rev like a ***** with slight flat spot at 2500 then fine up to 4000 then sounds like limiter kicks in then pulls through and revs up to 5000 then same again!!! grrr i have been told from the garage that i got maf from that ntk lambda sensors are as good if not better than bosch and that intermotor (maker of maf sensor he got me) make the components for bosch!!

since i did ecu reset no fault codes come up now, but when i plug alfadiag in and plot sensors for the pre cat sensor sensor it shows it running lean then rich then open closed circuit and same pattern again.

i also keep reading on other forums about crankshaft sensors could be doing the same thing????

thanks
chris
chris5047 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #15 of 25 Old 17-02-12
Davffc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Were those results with the MAF disconnected ?
 
  (Post Link) post #16 of 25 Old 17-02-12
Lacken156
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
lambda won't stop the car rev'ing , try disconnecting the MAF sensor & see if it rev's better. if not perha[s the Cam sesnor is defective or that the CAT is blocked.
 
  (Post Link) post #17 of 25 Old 17-02-12 Thread Starter
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davffc View Post
Were those results with the MAF disconnected ?
hi no not with maf disconnected this all connected up..... when disconnected the car srtuggles to move..
chris5047 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #18 of 25 Old 17-02-12
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,861
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

i think you have an issue with your MAF if you can get to the wirral ill look at it for ya
davealfa11 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #19 of 25 Old 17-02-12
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,861
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

better still take it to gus ...he will save you time and money http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/members/alfa+tuner.html
davealfa11 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #20 of 25 Old 18-02-12 Thread Starter
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

thanks all, I will update with news
chris5047 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #21 of 25 Old 18-02-12
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,861
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

i think you got 2 issues one is lamda and other is maf my money is on lambda
davealfa11 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #22 of 25 Old 24-02-12 Thread Starter
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

hi ok update time!! ordered new bosch maf put on today and its a totally different car! revs up to the red line only problem now is at 4000 it holds back feels sluggish then picks up again, could this be the cam sensor??????????? answers on a postcode please

chris
chris5047 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #23 of 25 Old 24-02-12
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 147

Member car:

Gt jtd

My old 145 did that till i changed maf?
AN.OK is offline  
  (Post Link) post #24 of 25 Old 25-02-12 Thread Starter
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

Quote:
Originally Posted by AN.OK View Post
My old 145 did that till i changed maf?
just put new one on so thats why im thinking it could be cam sensor after reading alot on here about this issue.

it is a work in progress and takes up most of my weekends off......... still love it though!!
chris5047 is offline  
  (Post Link) post #25 of 25 Old 20-06-12
AO Member
 
GTV sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 260
Images: 8
now i have a different problem...

i recently bought a 145 thats got 94 000 km on its clock and i bought from a private person that didn't use the car because of disabilities so it stood for about a year. i bought the car and immediately took it home and gave it a full service! it felt so tight and not willing to go so i didnt hammer her. i drove her lightly and after about 2000 km she felt loose and willing to rev and wants to go! so i decided to take it out on the highway and put it into 2nd and put my foot down but sadly i was extremely disappointed when she pulled hard to 4000 and then sort of surged, lost its power and then at 5000 pulled again and then surged with no power and then pulled hard to the red line... i have other than that given her a few hard revs and the same thing happens...

sigh...

i have a GTV 3.0 that i know like the back of my hand and ive sorted a few probs out with it myself so i know how these Alfa's work..i used to use the GTV everyday but i decided i need to preserve it abit so i decided to buy a 145 which is extremely rare here in South Africa..
GTV sean is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
codes , fault

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome