What next - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 4 Old 18-12-11 Thread Starter
AO Member
County: Cheshire
What next

I have been driving Italian cars now for more than 30 years. I have had them all and never regretted any of them. Sure I have had problems but to the best of my ever shortening memory I have never been let down. During the summer I took my last trip to Le Mans in my V6 and then sold her, the fuel costs were killing me. On a whim I bought a 156 2.0JTS and was immediately disappointed. Hardly surprising really, but then I had the Management light failure thing just as we were going away on holiday. Anyway it was no problem and with new plugs and TLC the car now performs well and I am very pleased overall.
However, my brother bought a Merc a while back, I was very impressed with it, reasonably comfortable, bit of a tank but performed OK. So while reading a post on this forum from some guy that obviously had problems with his 156 and decided to buy a German Golf made me think a little.
I started to look at Mercs, the coupe with a 2.0 engine, pretty little car, nothing outstanding but hey.
My next door neighbour has an S600 V12 in Dubai, it has thrown up an ASR warning light, the garage wanted 7500.00, yes that is correct to fix it.
So I searched the Merc forums, people, consider yourselves very lucky to be driving an Alfa.
The problem pages go on forever, and the issues are more complex than ours and the cost is eye watering.
So, to the chap that bought the Golf, because it's German does not make it flameproof.
Although I have warmed considerably to my JTS I am thinking 159 3.2, somehow I know it will make sense.

Last edited by Philjay50; 18-12-11 at 18:59.
Sponsored Links
AO Member
County: North Yorkshire

Member car:

156 JTD M-Jet

Cars are unique I think. My last few: