Have i got the wrong engine? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 10-12-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 9
Have i got the wrong engine?

I have recently bought a new engine for my 2.0L 147. I have got it in the car and have started putting everthing together. Both engines looked the same until i started assembling it. I have noticed a few differences and i am now worried that i have the wrong engine.
The gearbox, engine mounts, and driveshafts went on ok.
The differences i have noticed so far are:
Exhaust manifold on new engine is longer and will not fit my downpipe.
I went to put the old manifold on and it clashed with the water pipe for the oil cooler.
I then went to put the old oil cooler pipe on and it has a different conection to the cast metal water pipe that runs along the front of the engine.
I also see that the twin spark plugs are wired up differently and again have to use the old plug leads.
There is also a different temp sensor near the air intake pipe to the right of the engine. The one in the old engine had a 4 pin electrical connection. This one has three pin conection.
Does anyone have any idea what is going on as i am totally confused now.
Is it a 1.8L TS or is it from a different model eg a 156?
Please help.
scotsbourne147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
You sound as though you have a cf2 engine probably out of a 156 and your 147 had a cf3. The engines are essentially the same but as you are finding out some ancilliaries require changing over from your old engine to the new one.

The cf2 only had one cat under the car your 147 had 3, 2 at the front on the exhaust downpipe and one underneath. Fit the manifold, downpipe from your 147.

The water transfer tube is also different at least in the 2 pipes and the connection so just fit your 147 one.
The temp sensor (grey ) should just be swapped for your 147 one ( black)
Status: age is only a number ;-)
AO Gold Member
rgwm's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,076
Just beat me to it....agreed, the engines are essentially the same, just some of the anciliaries need swapping - incidentally you want to swap the coil packs as well as the plug leads......

You'd be able to tell if the engine was a 1.8 because it wouldn't have the balance shafts - indicated by the big bulge at the front of the timing belt cover....
rgwm is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 418
Images: 6

Member car:

156 2.0TS+V6

think the CF2 has a manual (cable) throttle. The CF3 is electronic
Leaky 156 is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
Pud237's Avatar
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,620
You need to swap ALL the ancillaries from your old engine, and then it will be fine.
Pud237 is online now  
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
you'll need to swap the air con bracket, exhaust manifold & coolant piping/manifold + the temp sender, thats it. anything to the rear of head can stay there.
Status: drifter
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 1,067
irc some engine castings were different and the aircon bracket will not fit therefore you retain the old bracket to remount the aircon pump but the aircon pipes if attached foul the exhaust.Check both engine castings to see if the aircon mounting holes are the same protrusion.
seymour beaver is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 13 Old 11-12-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 9
You guys are amazing. You just made my day. I have been fixing the car every weekend for the last two months in a stoney damp car park. Its been a bit of a nightmare fixing her and as well as fixing the engine i have replaced the front suspension and fixed loads of switches and things. I am getting near the end now and thats where all the problems have started but now i see the end in sight.
Thanks again
scotsbourne147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
David C's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 28,995
Did you check the crank sensor?
Some of the CF3 engines had crank sensors with no attached cable, the connector was on the sensor itself.
Earlier CF3 & all CF2 have crank sensors with a long cable attached.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 13 Old 15-01-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 9
SHE'S ALIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 year since i blew her engine up and she breaths again.
Been rebuilding her for 3 months in a stoney, dusty damp car park in the limited spare time i have.
I did get a few funny looks as i did a victory dance around the car park in my boiler suit. lol
Edit/Delete Message
scotsbourne147 is offline  
Status: lambrettas my first love
AO Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 98

Member car:

alfa 156

nice one
tavspeed is offline  
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
great work
Status: AROC 916 Registrar
AO Gold Member
Mitch916's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 8,803
Images: 8
Good man, it's a great feeling isn't it
Mitch916 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

147 , engine , wrong

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome