Fitting a replacement Alarm box - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 4 Old 25-08-04 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
daveg360's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 511
Fitting a replacement Alarm box

Anybody done this? Is it difficult? I've had a look and it seems straight forward but it could be one of those jobs that suprises you
daveg360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Rosso Alfa Member
kurzon's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 45,472
Images: 1

Member car:

156 2.0 JTS

Re: Fitting a replacement Alarm box

Looks easy enough, see attached.
kurzon is offline  
Status: Tin worm attack ... ARGHH!
AO Gold Member
gazza82's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 8,290
Images: 12
Re: Fitting a replacement Alarm box

Mine went under warranty, so Alfa did it. But I also had to take both keys in which might mean you need to get them reprogrammed to match the new alarm unit.

It went wrong on a nice sunny Sunday morning in local High Street. Locked OK but when I came back and pressed the alarm button all hell broke loose! Place was full of people and there was I driving along with the alarm going off and lights flashing. And not one police car in sight!! It stopped for a while and then went off a couple of times in the garage (car unlocked!) until I disconnected the battery. Had it towed in by the AA.

cheers, Gary

HIS: 1998 156 2.0 TSpark with Sport Pack 2, sunroof and hi-level spoiler in Alfa Rosso. V6 intake mod, clear side repeaters and Zeatek undertray.

HERS: 2009 MiTo 1.4 95bhp Turismo arrived 21st November in Techno Grey with colour-coded headlight surrounds.

"If you're driving on the edge ... you're leaving too much room!"
My Alfa156 Web Site - how-to's, piccies, links, useful stuff, etc.
gazza82 is online now  
(Post Link) post #4 of 4 Old 25-08-04 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
daveg360's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 511
Re: Fitting a replacement Alarm box

Cheers Kurzon - you're a star.

Mine was under warranty too but they couldn't fit me in till the 19th Sept which is ridiculous. Got them to give me the part so I could fit it myself. As it happens they also have me the old unit...... which out of curiosity I tried - It has come back to life!!! So I'm left in the position where my car is fixed and I have a 300 quid, boxed alfa part in my shed.....
Think I'll give it a few weeks then auction it on Ebay. Someone finally came on top with a car dealer!!!!!! Karma will get me I'm sure.
daveg360 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

alarm , box , fitting , replacement

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome