Another Cruise Control Thread - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 98 Old 08-02-11 Thread Starter
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Another Cruise Control Thread

Hi guys,

i could use a helpful hand with my "problem".

As the title suggests i'd like to retrofit a Cruise Control to my car.
The Alfa 156 is a 2003 (PRE-Facelift) 1.9 JTD.
So it has NO CRUISE cable fittet.
However - checking the ECU with FES it reads various CRUISE settings (Set Speed, CRUISE on / OFF etc...) which makes me think the ECU could handle the CRUISE Stalk.

now neede for installing is the Stalk (relatively easy to come by).
AND the Wiring / Cable from the ECU to the STALK > which is verry hard (not to say impossible??) to get.

Now i tried to find it in eper - but somehow i can't find anything related to the CC system?!!
So could any of you please take a look an may name me the part number of that cable? (got Left Hand Drive) Or maybe someone which is selling one / can obtain one?

thank's in advance
BS
Black-Sheep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 98 Old 09-02-11 Thread Starter
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
- bump -
Black-Sheep is offline  
CJO
Status: Enjoying a nice mug of tea
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
If I remember correctly you also do not have the loom for the clutch or brake switches so if you want to fit it will be a major job.
CJO is offline  
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Im trying to do the same thing on my 2002 156 which has clutch and brake sensors but apparently no cruise control cable.
You have to get the cable with 4 wires (on/off, +, -, recall) from ECU to the steering wheel. You have to also get 12V control signal from somewhere (for example from the cigarette lighter).
Then you follow the appended schematics to connect the wires to the cruise control connector.

summary:
cruise control connector | function | ECU
pin 1 | on/off | pin 53
pin 3 | control voltage (12V)
pin 4 | speed - | pin 56
pin 5 | speed + | pin 57
pin 6 | RECALL | pin 55
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tempomat.jpg (29.3 KB, 265 views)
gomezz likes this.
Binji is offline  
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Images: 14
Garage
Hi mate. this has been covered before many times. And I can tell you that you should be able to fit CC. I have a 2003 facelift and asked the same questions. You have the facelift interior? Basically if you have a non facelift interior then its more tricky but our cars are plug and play apparently. It took me about 30mins to fit. I have the light on the dash etc and it all works as it should. I was worried originally as I couldn't see the icon but now that its been working for a while teh light has burned teh smoke pass on the applique so you can just see it like all the other warning lights. Its all there. Just plug it in to the connector in the column. The wiring is already there. You need the stalk (80 ish) and new lower coweling as there is a cut out for it. (13) both from alfa. You will also nee a coupel of screws as they are also missing.

BMW E12 M535i, JC racing diff, Gaz coilover, Powerflex.
Alfa 156 GTA, Q2, Super sprint, CF2, EQ, KW coilovers, Eibach rollbars, Powerflex.
Alfa Mito QV , BMC filter.

GitList Member but not as high as Keithy! No Gibbo....I don't need a haircut AO Troublemaker! You have been warned
Joss is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 98 Old 10-02-11 Thread Starter
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binji View Post
Im trying to do the same thing on my 2002 156 which has clutch and brake sensors but apparently no cruise control cable.
You have to get the cable with 4 wires (on/off, +, -, recall) from ECU to the steering wheel. You have to also get 12V control signal from somewhere (for example from the cigarette lighter).
Then you follow the appended schematics to connect the wires to the cruise control connector.

summary:
cruise control connector | function | ECU
pin 1 | on/off | pin 53
pin 3 | control voltage (12V)
pin 4 | speed - | pin 56
pin 5 | speed + | pin 57
pin 6 | RECALL | pin 55
i was looking for that cable, too
but unfortunately no one seems to have one - or know the part number to buy one
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alecto28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
The cable isn't sold separatly because it is part of the entire wiring loom that comes from the engine ECU to the inside of the car.

I've installed cruise control today on my 02/2002 sportwagon which has no facelift, interior or exterior (well it has the facelift front but I've retrofitted it ).
I had to make the wiring from the engine ECU to the cruise control lever in the stalk.
It is very easy if you now what you're doing.

On TS engines it will work on every CF3 (Euro 3) engines, the ones that have the ME7.3.1 ECU (the ones that have this ECU have the twin cat pipes near the exaust manifold and no throttle cable). Also, they already have the clutch switch fitted.
It will not work on CF1 and CF2 models because that feature isn't built in the ECU.

On JTD's it should work on every one of them.

Note that the ones that don't have the facelift interior don't have the cruise control light on the dash, so either you make the connection and add a new light (wherever you want to put it) or leave it without one.

The pinouts that are posted above are only for 1.9 JTD 8v and 2.4 JTD 10v.

Here are the ones for all the ECU's:

H7----> ECU (conector A)

1.6 TS ; 1.8 TS ; 2.0 TS ; 2.5 V6 ; 3.2 V6 (only Bosch ME 7.3.1 ECU)

1---->10
2---->n.c.
3---->+vcc
4---->58
5---->43
6---->42

1.9 JTD 16v ; 2.4 JTD 20v

1---->77
2---->n.c.
3---->+vcc
4---->78
5---->56
6---->38

1.9 JTD 8v ; 2.4 JTD 10v
1---->53
2---->n.c.
3---->+vcc
4---->56
5---->57
6---->55

2.0 JTS

1---->41
2---->n.c
3---->+vcc
4---->43
5---->44
6---->21

The 1,2,3,4,5,6 numbers are the cruise control lever (H7) pinouts, in front of them are the pins that they connect to in the engine ECU.

If someone needs it I can post the pin where to connect the lamp (only for models with no facelift interior)

Cheers!

Last edited by Alecto28; 24-03-11 at 02:26.
Alecto28 is offline  
Status: obsessed
AO Silver Member
 
Loknar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Thailand
County: Bangkok
Images: 76
I don't like cruise control. It feels like it's not smooth. When there is a hill it will accelerate suddenly. Or maybe that's because I'm on a selespeed? Or maybe this is because I'm a control freak
Loknar is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 98 Old 24-03-11 Thread Starter
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Wave

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alecto28 View Post
The cable isn't sold separatly because it is part of the entire wiring loom that comes from the engine ECU to the inside of the car.

I've installed cruise control today on my 02/2002 sportwagon which has no facelift, interior or exterior (well it has the facelift front but I've retrofitted it ).
I had to make the wiring from the engine ECU to the cruise control lever in the stalk.
It is very easy if you now what you're doing.

On TS engines it will work on every CF3 (Euro 3) engines, the ones that have the ME7.3.1 ECU (the ones that have this ECU have the twin cat pipes near the exaust manifold and no throttle cable). Also, they already have the clutch switch fitted.
It will not work on CF1 and CF2 models because that feature isn't built in the ECU.

On JTD's it should work on every one of them.

Note that the ones that don't have the facelift interior don't have the cruise control light on the dash, so either you make the connection and add a new light (wherever you want to put it) or leave it without one.

The pinouts that are posted above are only for 1.9 JTD 8v and 2.4 JTD 10v.

Here are the ones for all the ECU's:

H7----> ECU (conector A)

1.6 TS ; 1.8 TS ; 2.0 TS ; 2.5 V6 ; 3.2 V6 (only Bosch ME 7.3.1 ECU)

1---->10
2---->n.c.
3---->+vcc
4---->58
5---->43
6---->42

1.9 JTD 16v ; 2.4 JTD 20v

1---->77
2---->n.c.
3---->+vcc
4---->78
5---->56
6---->38

1.9 JTD 8v ; 2.4 JTD 10v
1---->53
2---->n.c.
3---->+vcc
4---->56
5---->57
6---->55

2.0 JTS

1---->41
2---->n.c
3---->+vcc
4---->43
5---->44
6---->21

The 1,2,3,4,5,6 numbers are the cruise control lever (H7) pinouts, in front of them are the pins that they connect to in the engine ECU.

If someone needs it I can post the pin where to connect the lamp (only for models with no facelift interior)

Cheers!
Hey that's superb news,

just one question - what kind of connector have you used on the ECU side?
is that a ISO / standard one - buyable anywhere?

best regards.
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
The 156 2.5 V6 doesn't have the ME7.3.1; only the ME2.1 (CF2) and ME3.1 (CF3).
I'm going to hazard a guess that the connections will be the same for the 3.1 as 7.3.1 - it must be possible as the ME3.1 ecu was fitted to the 166 V6s and came with cruise control.

I'd be doubtful if you could hook up cruise with the ME2.1 on the 156 V6 CF2 though.
filipharvey is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alecto28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Quote:
Originally Posted by filipharvey View Post
The 156 2.5 V6 doesn't have the ME7.3.1; only the ME2.1 (CF2) and ME3.1 (CF3).
I'm going to hazard a guess that the connections will be the same for the 3.1 as 7.3.1 - it must be possible as the ME3.1 ecu was fitted to the 166 V6s and came with cruise control.

I'd be doubtful if you could hook up cruise with the ME2.1 on the 156 V6 CF2 though.
The connections posted above are for the ME3.1 on the 2.5V6.
CF2's don't have that feature built in the ecu so no, it doesn't work.

Cheers!
Alecto28 is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Excellent. I'll be trying it this afternoon.
filipharvey is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
OK, hooked up some switches to make a mock stalk. Took it for a drive and nothing happened when any buttons were pressed.
Plugged it in to FiatECUScan to check the CC parameters.

To start with it shows;
Cruise Control: Unavailable
Resume: Released

then once I press the Resume button I get;
Cruse Control: Faulty
Resume: Pressed

When I press either + or - nothing shows up in FiatECUScan.

Clutch switch is fine and so is the brake switch - also checked with FES.

I'm puzzled - any ideas?
filipharvey is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
I have now tracked the 'Faulty' error down to a short in my wiring - this is now all checked and fine.

It's still not working though. All button presses are being accepted by the ECU, however the Cruise Control system is still showing as 'Unavailable' on FiatECUScan.
filipharvey is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia
County: -
When i connected the cruise control it took some key/door acrobatics until the light would turn on. Try turning on the car, closing and opening the driver's door (im serious), turning the key to MAR and waiting until all diagnostic lights go off and all combinations of the above. After some time the light should light up
Full version of FES also supports cruise control recognition if i remember correctly.

Last edited by Binji; 26-03-11 at 11:45.
Binji is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Cheers for that. I'll leave it in and see what happens over the next few days; unless anyone else has any suggestions.
I do have the full version of FES, as I do a bit of diagnostic work myself.
Anyway, here is what it shows:

Attachment 112212
As you can see, it states Cruise Control is 'Not Available'.

Attachment 112213
However, the 'Increase' button works

Attachment 112214
As does 'Decrease'

Attachment 112215
Resume

Attachment 112216
And the Brake and Clutch switches.

Last edited by filipharvey; 05-12-11 at 19:17.
filipharvey is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alecto28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Black-Sheep, you use the plug that is already on the ecu.
You only need the pins, the slots where you have to put them are empty.

filipharvey, If the buttons work in FES the cruise should work.

The buttons only work with the cruise control set to ON, right?

Go for a drive with the car and see if the system activates.
Dirve above 30 Km/h and turn cruise to ON, the press increase and keep pressing for a few seconds.
Hopefully the car will start to accelerate. If it does, then the system is fully functional.

Cheers!
Alecto28 is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alecto28 View Post
If the buttons work in FES the cruise should work.
You would have thought so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alecto28 View Post
The buttons only work with the cruise control set to ON, right?
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alecto28 View Post
Go for a drive with the car and see if the system activates.
Dirve above 30 Km/h and turn cruise to ON, the press increase and keep pressing for a few seconds.
Hopefully the car will start to accelerate. If it does, then the system is fully functional.
Done that a few times and it isn't working... yet.
I took FES with me on one drive to see if the CC status changed at all - it didn't. No errors are being thrown up, and all key presses are shown in FES.

I saw on the full schematics of the ME3.1, pin 18 is for the cruise control indicator lamp. Any idea how to wire this in too? (Obviously I'll need to install a lamp) Is pin 18 +ve or -ve? 12v?
filipharvey is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Just to check this is right, I have wired it as pictured:
Attachment 112231

Last edited by filipharvey; 05-12-11 at 19:17.
filipharvey is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alecto28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
It's wired up right.

The lamp is pin 18 -ve.

I've measured the voltage in pin 18 when cruise is on and it didn't change.
I'll try to hook it up to see if it works.

If it doesn't we can plug a lamp in pin 1 of the cruise stalk (+ve).
I'll plug mine in pin 2 of connector B of rev counter, which is normally used for trailers turn signal warning.

Cheers!
Alecto28 is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Well hopefully it'll jump into life over the next few trips.
Having the lamp signal from the ECU would be preferable, as it shows that the system is active, as opposed to just showing that you have power to the switch.
filipharvey is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Just checked on my FES... Go to Adjustments tab and there you should have a "Cruise Control Re-Learn" option.
Hope it works.
Binji is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
No such option for the ME3.1 ECU I'm afraid.
It's still showing CC as 'Not Available'.
filipharvey is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alecto28 View Post
The cable isn't sold separatly because it is part of the entire wiring loom that comes from the engine ECU to the inside of the car.

I've installed cruise control today on my 02/2002 sportwagon which has no facelift, interior or exterior (well it has the facelift front but I've retrofitted it ).
I had to make the wiring from the engine ECU to the cruise control lever in the stalk.
It is very easy if you now what you're doing.

On TS engines it will work on every CF3 (Euro 3) engines, the ones that have the ME7.3.1 ECU (the ones that have this ECU have the twin cat pipes near the exaust manifold and no throttle cable). Also, they already have the clutch switch fitted.
It will not work on CF1 and CF2 models because that feature isn't built in the ECU.

On JTD's it should work on every one of them.

Note that the ones that don't have the facelift interior don't have the cruise control light on the dash, so either you make the connection and add a new light (wherever you want to put it) or leave it without one.

The pinouts that are posted above are only for 1.9 JTD 8v and 2.4 JTD 10v.

Here are the ones for all the ECU's:

H7----> ECU (conector A)

1.6 TS ; 1.8 TS ; 2.0 TS ; 2.5 V6 ; 3.2 V6 (only Bosch ME 7.3.1 ECU)

1---->10
2---->n.c.
3---->+vcc
4---->58
5---->43
6---->42

1.9 JTD 16v ; 2.4 JTD 20v

1---->77
2---->n.c.
3---->+vcc
4---->78
5---->56
6---->38

1.9 JTD 8v ; 2.4 JTD 10v
1---->53
2---->n.c.
3---->+vcc
4---->56
5---->57
6---->55

2.0 JTS

1---->41
2---->n.c
3---->+vcc
4---->43
5---->44
6---->21

The 1,2,3,4,5,6 numbers are the cruise control lever (H7) pinouts, in front of them are the pins that they connect to in the engine ECU.

If someone needs it I can post the pin where to connect the lamp (only for models with no facelift interior)

Cheers!
Most interesting thread.
I have been sorely missing using the 156 2.4 driving to Spain instead using a Vectra 2.0 Dti with retro fitted cruise just replace the indicator stalk on those

Will be giving it a look this weekend.

And Alecto, have you the pin out for the lamp as I have no face lift interior.

Cheers

I thought this was funny
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GDtwz35HYag

Last edited by Alfa 156 JTD; 26-03-11 at 15:57.
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alecto28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Quote:
Originally Posted by filipharvey View Post
No such option for the ME3.1 ECU I'm afraid.
It's still showing CC as 'Not Available'.
Haven't seen that option either...

Maybe ME3.1 isn't prepared for cruise control
Just find it wierd that it recognizes all inputs...
On Elearn, in the schematics it has the cruise inputs, but when seeing the ME3.1 ECU description, in the pinouts it only has the resume function. All others say Not Connected.

Alfa 156 JTD, I have the wiring diagrams in my laptop which decided to die on me yesteray

I'll pass everything from my hard drive to another computer and then I'll post the lamp pins for all ECU's.

Just remember the pin for the lamp is -ve!
You'll have to connect the lamp directly to +ve and the other wire to the ECU.

Cheers!
Alecto28 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
control , cruise , thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome