Another Cruise Control Thread - Page 2 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alecto28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 143

Member car:

156 Sportwagon

Alfa 156 JTD just saw the diagram posted by Binji, which is for the 1.9 JTD 8v and 2.4 JTD 10v.

I believe yours is the 2.4 JTD 10v so the pin for the lamp is 23.

Cheers!
Alecto28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 7,207

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alecto28 View Post
Haven't seen that option either...

Maybe ME3.1 isn't prepared for cruise control
Just find it wierd that it recognizes all inputs...
It must be though, as the same ECU is fitted to the 166 V6s, which have CC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alecto28 View Post
On Elearn, in the schematics it has the cruise inputs, but when seeing the ME3.1 ECU description, in the pinouts it only has the resume function. All others say Not Connected.
I saw that, but then I found that someone had written a comparison of the ME3.1 and ME7.3.1 pinouts here

I wonder if Elearn shows different pinouts for the ME3.1 if you look at the 166?
filipharvey is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 207

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD

Ok thxz

ECU is -ve output any idea what the -mA is ?
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
 
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 7,207

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD

So if we ran a wire from the relevant pin on the ECU to pin 2 on the rev counter, that should illuminate the trailer signals?
filipharvey is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 207

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD

Alecto

You are referring to the ECU on the 2.4 10v in the passenger side foot-well ?

I see no spare plug on the ECU unless you are referring to spare pins and have to insert the connectors into the existing plugs ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by filipharvey View Post
So if we ran a wire from the relevant pin on the ECU to pin 2 on the rev counter, that should illuminate the trailer signals?
Only if pin 2 is -ve
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 7,207

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa 156 JTD View Post
I see no spare plug on the ECU unless you are referring to spare pins and have to insert the connectors into the existing plugs ?
Yes, you have to insert new connectors.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa 156 JTD View Post
Only if pin 2 is -ve
That's what I was asking really!
filipharvey is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 207

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD

redundant post

Last edited by Alfa 156 JTD; 31-03-11 at 14:05.
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 7,207

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD

That's what I did, although I just used twisted wire, long enough to make the connection - just under an inch IIRC.
I used a very small screwdriver to get through the gel, twisted the wire and pushed it through - cutting it at the point where it emerged from the connector. This gave me an indication of length needed.
I then pulled it back out of the connector, cut it down by a further 2mm and pushed it back through.
filipharvey is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alecto28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 143

Member car:

156 Sportwagon

filipharvey I only have Elearn for the 147 and 156.

To light up the signal for the trailer it only works if you put directly from the stalk which is +ve.
But, as you said, that will only tell you that the stalk is set to on. If the system turns off the light will stay on.
I believe that it's possible to use a relay to turn on that light.
I'll probably do that and let you know later.

Alfa 156 JTD I don't know where the engine ECU is on your car...
As filipharvey said, you need to put the connector in the correct slots (that are empty) of the ecu plug.

I don't know what the -mA is, didn't measure it.
But I measured the voltage between +ve and the pin in the ecu and the value was the same when it was off or when I turned it on (+/- 8V).
I think it should be 0V when off since the ecu cuts out the -ve signal.
But know that I think of it I only turned on the cruise control with the car stationary, so probably the system didn't activate.

But I have seen a facelift 156 with the engine on Idle and by turning the cruise stalk on the light lit up...

Cheers!
Alecto28 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alecto28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 143

Member car:

156 Sportwagon

Quote:
Originally Posted by filipharvey View Post
That's what I did, although I just used twisted wire, long enough to make the connection - just under an inch IIRC.
I used a very small screwdriver to get through the gel, twisted the wire and pushed it through - cutting it at the point where it emerged from the connector. This gave me an indication of length needed.
I then pulled it back out of the connector, cut it down by a further 2mm and pushed it back through.
I used some pins I have from spare ecu connectors I have.

Are you sure the ON wire is making contact?
Alecto28 is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 7,207

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD

I'm just wondering, as the only part of the system that is missing is the light - could it be that (for some reason only on the ME3.1) it needs to have the light to activate. Maybe as a safety feature - no warning for the driver - so no cruise operation allowed?

Yup, 'ON' connector is making contact, if I pull that wire from the ECU and press any of the buttons, I get an 'Invalid Stalk Signal' fault stored in the ECU and the CC Status in FES shows as 'Faulty'.
filipharvey is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alecto28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 143

Member car:

156 Sportwagon

I think it's worth a try.

I'm not using the light yet and it works fine.
Alecto28 is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 7,207

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD

Yeh, just got to figure out how to wire a bulb up to it
filipharvey is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 207

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD

The lights not necessary for the function of the cruise control.

It just lets you know you have selected the switch to on position and the control is active.

I have made a loom for the ECU and will test it tomorrow.

Need a Cruise Stalk now {x 2} as I will fit the other 156 2.4 I'm restoring with cruise also.

Any one know the part number for the stalk ?
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 7,207

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD

The light may not be necessary for the function of cruise control, but that is the only thing missing on mine and as far as I'm aware, I'm the first to try this on the ME3.1, so it may well be a requirement for activation on that ECU - we don't know!

Anyway, part number for the stalk is 156047955
filipharvey is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Zealand
County: -
Posts: 77
Sounds like you guys are winning.

Any chance of you putting up a loom schematic and other requirements (ECU etc) in order for others (such as me) to have a go who are not as privy to these workings.

Cheers
hendrik789 is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 7,207

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD

I've put a picture on page one of how I have wired into the 2.5 V6s ECU. Presuming yours is a CF3 (ECU will be on the air intake plenum if it is).

Here is the pinout for the ME3.1 ECU.
filipharvey is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 207

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD

Redundant post

Last edited by Alfa 156 JTD; 31-03-11 at 16:09.
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 7,207

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD

Excellent, thank you very much for that.
Not sure when I'm going to have time to check this, but I'll let you know when I have.

Just to check, the bulb/LED is 12v, not attenuated beforehand somehow is it?
filipharvey is offline  
(Post Link) post #45 of 98 Old 27-03-11 Thread Starter
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alecto28 View Post
Black-Sheep, you use the plug that is already on the ecu.
You only need the pins, the slots where you have to put them are empty.

Cheers!

hey

just took a look on eLearn and well now i am completely confused.
WHAT THE FU**?

can you tell me which of those plugs is plug A and how is it possible to understand that pin-layout.... ?!? (i am confused)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg plug 1.jpg (35.8 KB, 98 views)
File Type: jpg plug 2.JPG (54.0 KB, 57 views)
File Type: jpg plug 3.JPG (44.2 KB, 54 views)
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alecto28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 143

Member car:

156 Sportwagon

I don't have Elearn in this pc so I can't see which one is A plug.
If those two connectors in the images are the two existing ones in the ECU it's easy to know which one is A.

In elearn you go to description - engine - diesel injection system (not sure on this one) and it will show you all the inputs for your ECU.

In the images one of the connectors has 62 pin and the other has 94.
See which one is A.

The pin layout is easy to understand.
For example:

In the last picture it's easy to see what pin are from 1 to 6. They are marked with a line.
Then you see on the top right the pin number 2 and at its left pin no 7.
You must now start counting to the left of pin7. So the pin next to 7 (on its left) is pin 8 and so on.
The final pin on that row is pin no 28 (first from the right).
Pin 29 is the first one on the right of the row bellow the first one. Pin 30 is the one at the left of pin 29.
And so on.

For example, imagine that this connector is connector A, the lamp pin is no 23.
On the connector pin 23 is the 6th one on top row counting from left to right (remember the first pin on the left is pin no 28).

Hope you can understant this.
You just have to count them.

Cheers!
Alecto28 is offline  
(Post Link) post #47 of 98 Old 27-03-11 Thread Starter
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alecto28 View Post
I don't have Elearn in this pc so I can't see which one is A plug.
If those two connectors in the images are the two existing ones in the ECU it's easy to know which one is A.

In elearn you go to description - engine - diesel injection system (not sure on this one) and it will show you all the inputs for your ECU.

In the images one of the connectors has 62 pin and the other has 94.
See which one is A.

The pin layout is easy to understand.
For example:

In the last picture it's easy to see what pin are from 1 to 6. They are marked with a line.
Then you see on the top right the pin number 2 and at its left pin no 7.
You must now start counting to the left of pin7. So the pin next to 7 (on its left) is pin 8 and so on.
The final pin on that row is pin no 28 (first from the right).
Pin 29 is the first one on the right of the row bellow the first one. Pin 30 is the one at the left of pin 29.
And so on.

For example, imagine that this connector is connector A, the lamp pin is no 23.
On the connector pin 23 is the 6th one on top row counting from left to right (remember the first pin on the left is pin no 28).

Hope you can understant this.
You just have to count them.

Cheers!

i don't understand a single word

ok - not entirely true - i got that pin layout - however i'm still damn unshure which connector is the desired plug A

Last edited by Black-Sheep; 27-03-11 at 15:40.
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 207

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD

Plug A is usually the larger one with the battery power inputs furthest to the left.
Plug B is usually the smaller connector with injector outputs furthest to the right.

Edit>


Confirmed this morning M10A is the large plug on the ECU M10B is the smaller one.

Also to correct some information posted here earlier.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alecto28 View Post
Alfa 156 JTD just saw the diagram posted by Binji, which is for the 1.9 JTD 8v and 2.4 JTD 10v.

I believe yours is the 2.4 JTD 10v so the pin for the lamp is 23.

Cheers!
Pin 23 is the clutch pedal pin out.

Pin 21 is the cruise control indicator bulb pin out.

PS:

Also I need a cruise stalk secondhand would be great.

Main dealers want 104.12 + delivery

Last edited by Alfa 156 JTD; 28-03-11 at 12:03.
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 207

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD

@filipharvey

I just noticed in your FES there's no Cruise control ON in the parameters list pin 53 should have a 12v signal to it.

I'm having problems also at the moment, they only thing I have not done is put the pin 21 to cruise indicator bulb, I'm not getting any luck from the cruise control,
although the ECU recognizes the input signals calling cruise on, the speed settings +/- and resume, its not working when driving though, will check the clutch pedal switch later.

I found a 147 ECU loom and used the connectors from that to pinout the ECU plug, it was the only way to get a proper connection to the ECU pins.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN0077 copy.jpg (65.5 KB, 115 views)

Last edited by Alfa 156 JTD; 29-03-11 at 17:04.
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
Status: Ich habe entscheiden.
AO Gold Member
 
filipharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 7,207

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD

It has got the cruise control on 12v signal. As I've said before in this thread, if I remove that signal, the buttons still work, but I get an error stored in the ECU about an invalid signal from the stalk.
However, as with you, all that I have omitted from the installation is the light.
I haven't got round to trying that yet, but it could well be the key.
filipharvey is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
control , cruise , thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome