Alfa Romeo 147 Selespeed - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 14-10-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Alfa Romeo 147 Selespeed

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if anyone could help me out??

My selespeed has a really strange little problem. The gearbox is working fine in driving mode but it's when you stop that the problem starts. I make sure I'm in neutral before switching off the engine and locking the door. Smetimes when I return to the car, it has put itself into first gear and you can't turn the key and start it up. The car thinks it's in gear but it's not as it can be rolled.

If anyone has any ideas it would be really appreciated.

Cheers Jonny
Alf777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Member
awol's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 65
Don't they have to be turned off in 1st gear? I was told on my 156 Sele, that you should always turn the engine off in 1st gear and not Neutral?
awol is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
David C's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 28,993
Yes they should be parked in 1st gear.
(as should EVERY car because you should never rely on the handbrake)

Manually select Neutral before starting (foot on brake + lever to right...) or if you can't be bothered to do that, just leave it in 1st and keep your foot on the brake when turning the key. It will then select Neutral for you before starting.

But it is better to manually select Neutral first.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 7 Old 14-10-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4

There's definitely a fault, you can't out of gear by using the brake and gear stick. The only way to get ut out of gear is for the garage to reset it's factory settings. The car is effectively stuck in gear and the car will not start. I have had the car for nearly four years and the problem has only started in the last six weeks and left me stranded six times. We have tried a replacement ECU and it makes no difference.

Anyone had a similar problem???
Alf777 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
County: -
Posts: 2,239
When you open the drivers door, does the pump prime?
sprint_veloce is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 7 Old 15-10-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
The pump primes normally, will have to check next time it throws itself into gear overnight. Although having said that the car thinks it's in first gear but it's not actually in gear as you can roll the car usually on to a low loader!!! The car has faulted when attached to the garages laptop but the car is not telling the laptop what the problem is...strange
Alf777 is offline  
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6
Calibrate it.
Smaky is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

147 , alfa , romeo , selespeed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome