147 jtd Cruise Control stopped - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 03-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 215

Member car:

147 JTD, YZF600R

147 jtd Cruise Control stopped

Hi, noticed in this mini heat wave, my CC has suddenly stopped working.

I twist the switch and nothing happens, no light on the dashboard, nothing.. the RES switch did work though, as I'm sure the trip milage reset while I was playing with it..

I've taken the stalk out and test the switching and it seems to work, the loom connector locates firmly as well,

completely stumped now as to why/what has failed. I've even checked the fuses under the rhs dash board, they all seem to be fine..

any ideas..
stefz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
TribesMan's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,228
Connect to your engine ECU with Fiat ECU Scanner and test if ECU gets all signals from CC stalk... like +, -, On, Off, Reset... That would be the best place to start.
TribesMan is offline  
Status: Saving for engine.
AO Silver Member
tomfromtelford's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 4,244
Images: 54
Have you had any MSCF errors?

Try fiddling with the switch on the clutch pedal.

It's white a pulls out.
tomfromtelford is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 18
I will add: I did the clutch creak fix with red grease and because the pedal came back it depressed the switch more than needed I had to reset.

Remove white switch on clutch. Pull out the little plunger with a pliers. Seat it back in place with clutch depressed and release the clutch. The switch will adjust itself to the required amount.
maxdressel is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 6 Old 18-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 215

Member car:

147 JTD, YZF600R

The weather has changed, and it has started working again! lol. What crap design..

at least its working, shame it could conk out any minute if we get a blast of hot weather..
stefz is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
skint147's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reading
Posts: 10
Replacing brake light switch fixed cruise control

Friendly guy stopped me on road and told me my brake lights weren't working.

They were working intermittantly.

Called AA out - but they couldn't fix them (fair dos, intermittant faults are difficult).

I bought a new switch (about 14) - fitted it and cruise came back as well as lights.

IMPORTANT NOTE: During my tests I found that with a dodgy switch press brake equals no lights, but also meant car didn't drop out of cruise! (workround=quick press of clutch or switch cruise off at the stalk).

skint147 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

147 , control , cruise , jtd , stopped

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome