147 Flashing ODOMETER - Window ECU change over - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 03-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
LBW147's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 9
Images: 2
Well Happy 147 Flashing ODOMETER - Window ECU change over

I recently suffered a case of the flashing Odometer and at first thought it one of those spurious faults that our beloved Alfas like to throw at us now and again just to keep the brain matter active.However the fault was linked to an event which occured three days earlier and this involved the replacement of the drivers door window switch pack as the drivers button had gone floppy and was fiddly to wind the window up and down. So I purchased a second hand unit off e-bay and fitted it. Resut = button operation perfect windows working ok no problem - so I thought. Car was ok for a few days then the other evening the Alarm sounded for no reason duly reset it and then the car developed a few issues. Passenger window auto close stopped working, the electric sunroof started doing some funky things and the the following day the FLASHING ODOMETER apeared. After a bit of research the flashing odometer is due to an "UNKNOWN DEVICE CONNECTED TO THE CAN BUS" as it turns out the second hand switchpack that I fitted would normally have to be "Proxy aligned" via ALFA factory software. So as my problem was a floppy buton I disassembled both my old switch pack and the replacement and just swapped the switch and the rubber contact membrane over to my original reassembled and plugged it back in. Hey presto - switched on the ignition, let the car self test and no more flashing odometer, fantastic and both the windows work as they should and the sunroof also behaves itself. Looking at the collection of switch pack ECUs I have lying around they all have a different three digit code printed on them.
LBW147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Silver Member
armoore's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 3,690
Very useful thread. Those little white pushrods inside are a real b-----r so try doing this in a large clear plastic bag so they don't go awol!

Last edited by armoore; 03-07-10 at 19:02.
armoore is offline  
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
Good thinking.
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 242
Yep - the node in the arm rest, if you change this for one from another car then the odometer will flash. Despite all the "cheats" that are listed to cure this, it is 5 minutes on Examiner or bust in my view.

Last edited by Lotuschris; 04-07-10 at 08:39.
Lotuschris is offline  
Status: ...
AO Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 387
the flashing mileage is cause the new door node isn't proxi aligned
Stibbs is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

147 , change , ecu , flashing , odometer , window

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome