147 immobiliser failure - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 07-05-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 129

Member car:


147 immobiliser failure

I have a problem with my alfa, i have done a complete engine transplant and have now went to start it with this fault coming up on dash. I had fixed the key (as mine was cracked) with a new shell with all the same internals of the original key so i assume it should be good as it started with the key before the engine transplant. Is the small tablet like bit in the key the transponder?its near the top of the key and is very tiny?, excuse my description. anyone any ideas?, could it have lost the code in the ecu from sitting with no battery?, i thought there is an internal battery in the ecu to store important codes etc, any ideas greatly recievede as i need going asap, thx guys
mattys147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: 251bhp/300Nm dynoed :)
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
Membro Premio
gotcha's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slovakia
County: Bratislavsky
Posts: 3,176
I am not sure now, but the transponder in the key looks like a small glass vial with piece of metal inside.
And there is no internal battery in ECU keeping the codes live. They are stored in ROM. But it is possible to lose the immobilizer/key connection, it happened to me last Christmas when the car was standing for 6 weeks and battery went flat. I had immobilizer error after and keys had to be re-coded to be recognized again.
But I donít think that it would be caused by removed battery, I had car with no battery for a year and it didnít happen, however low voltage of a connected dying battery made it loose immobilizer codes. So I think dead battery is worse that no battery at all.

147GTA,Grigio Metallico,Imola leather, 3.75l conversion,F360 TB,ported heads,Balduzzi cams,GTV manifolds,EQ pipes,Supersprint silenced cat back,18" GT multispokes,KW V3,Galfer 6pot 355mm,Brembo sport rear, Blaupunk NewYork 800 + Focal

147 1.6TS, Nerro,Beige Interior,Galfer Extreme Brake kit,2,0TS intake manifold,Custom ex. manifold,200CPI cat,Supersprint silenced center + OO backbox,GTA spoiler,GTA side skirts,GTA headlights,Blaupunkt LA MP74 + Focal + MacAudio + Dynamat + HERZ subwoofer
gotcha is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
biffa's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
Images: 9
If youve changed the engine have you a) used the same ECU as the old engine, b) checked the relays infront of the battery?
I you have access to alfadiag or the free fiatscan and an obd2 cable you can check to see if the immobilizer is picking up the key?

If you let people know roughly where you are there might be a helpful alfisti who could come and help you?
biffa is offline  
Status: drifter
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 1,067
I agree with all of the above .Sometimes with engine changes earthing faults can be a problem.Firstly when starting put a jump lead on the engine from the battery earth.
seymour beaver is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 6 Old 07-05-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 129

Member car:


thx for the suggestions, I have not changed the ecu as i dont belive i need to unless mine is faulty, all earth straps are spot on as i made sure when installing the engine, I have acces to pretty advanched diagnostics but how would that show up under a general scan? it wont let me into immobiliser as mine is a magnet ecu not a bosch 1, i live in nutts corner northern ireland, cheers guys
mattys147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Gino-93's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northumberland
Posts: 151
Images: 4

Member car:

alfa romeo 147

i had the same problem and mine turned out to be loose wires. i would try your luck
Gino-93 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

147 , failure , immobiliser

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome