Change speedo - does engine matter? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 02-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: getting my shit together
AO Member
 
pingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 140

Member car:

156 TS SW

Change speedo - does engine matter?

yes..thinking about changing to the orange sportspack speedo & rev counter. Now, do I have to get the corresponding TS 2.0 gauges or can I get the 260km/h from a V6? Anybody know 100%?

thanks,
pingu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 13 Old 02-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: getting my shit together
AO Member
 
pingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 140

Member car:

156 TS SW

Help

Nobody?
pingu is offline  
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

i could try my V6 Speedo on My JTD on the weekend if i don't forget about it...
Black-Sheep is offline  
 
Status: missing Inverurie
AO Gold Member
 
Pascs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Qatar
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 8,063
Images: 16

Member car:

Zender 156 V6

The speedo is marked with the engine size so I assume you need the one for the TS.

Mine has 2.5 V6, 1giro=1.93m, 7imp/giro which I guess is some sort of reference per turn or rotation
Pascs is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 13 Old 02-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: getting my shit together
AO Member
 
pingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 140

Member car:

156 TS SW

Many thanks - sirs!
pingu is offline  
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pascs View Post
The speedo is marked with the engine size so I assume you need the one for the TS.

Mine has 2.5 V6, 1giro=1.93m, 7imp/giro which I guess is some sort of reference per turn or rotation
Just had the ability to cross - check.

And i can confirm the following

the 1.6-1.8-2.0 TwinSpark Speedo works on the 1.9 JTD (it does not have any preheater blub) the 2.5 V6 Speedo works on the 1.9JTD,too - it has the preheater blub.

Readings on both units in my JTD are identical.
Both show the 1giro=1.93m text on them.
Black-Sheep is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 13 Old 06-03-10 Thread Starter
Status: getting my shit together
AO Member
 
pingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 140

Member car:

156 TS SW

Many thanks for your time!

I think this is great forum knowledge.

Would be cool if anybody has a Sele with a 260km/h speedo? Did the Veloces have them?
pingu is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 42,287
The rev counters need to be from the correct engine. 1.6, 1.8, 2.0 TS & 2.0 JTS are interchangeable. V6 ones won't read the correct revs when plugged into a TS car.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 1

Member car:

Alfa 156 1.9 JTD

Hello everyone!
I own 2005. Alfa 156 1.9 jtd and I'm having problems with my speedo for a few months now, so after a few tries to repair it I gave up and decided to buy another one.
I've tried to use the speedo from a car that had some TS engine (I don't know the year of production), but I got some errors as soon as I started the car. "Go to dealer" was on the display immediately. Then I've tried to use the speedo from a 1.9 jtd car (don't know the year of production also, but both of them were probably taken from the older, pre-facelift cars), and it worked well (measuring speed), but fuel indicator stopped working, informations on display were bad and hand brake indicator didn't work. So it wasn't compatible also.
Now, do I need a speedo strictly from a facelift version jtd (2003-2005), or maybe 2002.-2003. version could fit, or maybe some TS-JTS facelift version? Because there is definitely some difference in speedos on cars with different engine and year of production.
Thanks in advance!
BojanR is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 42,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by BojanR View Post
Hello everyone!
I own 2005. Alfa 156 1.9 jtd and I'm having problems with my speedo for a few months now, so after a few tries to repair it I gave up and decided to buy another one.
I've tried to use the speedo from a car that had some TS engine (I don't know the year of production), but I got some errors as soon as I started the car. "Go to dealer" was on the display immediately. Then I've tried to use the speedo from a 1.9 jtd car (don't know the year of production also, but both of them were probably taken from the older, pre-facelift cars), and it worked well (measuring speed), but fuel indicator stopped working, informations on display were bad and hand brake indicator didn't work. So it wasn't compatible also.
Now, do I need a speedo strictly from a facelift version jtd (2003-2005), or maybe 2002.-2003. version could fit, or maybe some TS-JTS facelift version? Because there is definitely some difference in speedos on cars with different engine and year of production.
Thanks in advance!
You definitely need to use a speedo from a version with the facelift interior.

It would be better if it was also a JTD model, but I think (but not 100% sure) that a different engine version would work also. But not 3.2 V6, as they have oil temperature and the JTD does not have this sensor.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Portugal
County: Lisboa
Posts: 17

Member car:

Alfa 156 SW

Opposite situation . I have 2.5 v6 SW pre-facelift .
I never get to 260km/h so I would like a 240km/h speedo .
if I keep the rev counter, just need to plug a 4pot speedo reading 240km/h from any pre-facelift petrol model ? Would it work ?
Regarding the mileage , does the speedo read from ECU or does it have a "local" memory ?

Regards,
Pedro
drpancho is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
County: -
Posts: 106

Member car:

156

It should work.
The mileage is stored in the speedo. The ECU contains a mileage reading also but it is independent from the speedo and not displayed. It can be seen with diagnostic tool only.
gwinter is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Portugal
County: Lisboa
Posts: 17

Member car:

Alfa 156 SW

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwinter View Post
It should work.
The mileage is stored in the speedo. The ECU contains a mileage reading also but it is independent from the speedo and not displayed. It can be seen with diagnostic tool only.
Ok , thanks . I'll try to find some speedo with 240km/h
drpancho is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
change , engine , matter , speedo

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome