Alloy deflating tyre? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 13-01-10 Thread Starter
County: Derbyshire

Member car:

Alfa 147 T Spark

Alloy deflating tyre?

Hi guys,

I'm new to this & have an issue that hopefully, i can be advised on.

I have a 147 hatch. Over the last year or so i have gone through about 3 tyres on the front drive side. It looks as if the alloy deflates the tyre, which i have to constantly top up with air. Trouble is, the tyres wear quite quickly & have to be replaced.

Do i need to splash out on a new alloy? Can i get this one repaired? Does anyone know where i'd go to in the Derbyshire/Sheffield area?
Sponsored Links
AO Silver Member
County: Derbyshire
Alloy wheels can be porous - used to be a big problem with Fords back in the 1970s. The way my local tyre place cured it was to take the tyre off, clean up paint the inside of the wheel & refit the tyre.
AO Member
County: Essex

Member car:

Various alfa's

The alloy probably has corrosion around the edge where the bead of the tyre 'seals'. It results in a gradual loss of air, and if not kept upto pressure will wear the tyre excessively.

A tyre shop can use a tyre sealant on the inside edge where the tyre sits, or if its very bad corrosion then get the wheel refurbished.

AO Platinum Member
Originally Posted by PowerItalia View Post
The alloy probably has corrosion around the edge where the bead of the tyre 'seals'. It results in a gradual loss of air...
I have that on three of mine.
It was all four until I got an unrepairable puncture and the fitter cleaned the inside edges of the rim properly and used more sealant. Now that one doesn't loose any air.

Not a problem for me as I keep an eye on them and top up.

When I get the next set of tyres I'm make sure they make more of an effort to clean and seal them.
AO Member
County: Greater London