Iphone in a 54 plate 147 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 06-01-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The North (Gods country)
Posts: 10

Member car:

147 1.6 Lusso Ti

Wave Iphone in a 54 plate 147

I have a predicament - I have purchased an ipod connector and the replacement tray for the dash.

My problem is that when I bought these, I was intending to use my ipod in the car, and having just smashed my mobile phone in a minor skiing accident, I've got myself an iphone to replace it.

So the bones of my issue are "will the ipod cable work with the iphone", and "will the iphone charge without the adapter I've read about that changes the voltage from 12v to 5v"

The car is a 147 Ti Lusso on a 54 plate with the audio controls on the wheel.

Any advice is welcome, I am incredibly receptive, having now learned the hard way recently in not heeding wise words on the site.
(lets just say a 750 bill from Ferdi to undo another garage's "work", camshaft, followers, power steering, waterpump and more )
Pic of the adapter I have here:

Northern Bloke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
Seriously doubt iPod Touch or iPhone will work with the old
Alfa/Denison leads.

Try asking/searching in the ICE/Blue&Me lounge.
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 265

Member car:

GT 1.9 JTDm

iPhone is very fussy about what it will charge from. My Alpine iDA X001 won't do it, despite being jointly developed with Apple. This somewhat defeats the object of using the dock connector, as running your phone down while you are out and about is a huge pain. I've taken to using bluetooth audio most of the time. Much easier, and I can use a regular 12v outlet charger if it needs juice.
LiamGT is offline  
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
crApple changed the connector for the Touch and the iPhone so that
they don't work with older kit. It was done on purpose.
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 106
I use the iphone Tom Tom adapter which, if you download the Tom Tom App, then you have a Sat Nav, hands free kit and iphone charger all in one.

The Tom Tom app for Europe is really good if a little pricey but everything works very well.

Be aware with Bluetooth and the iphone - it does not work on most bluetooth equipment except if Apple wants it too!!!
wilksy is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 15
Images: 15

Member car:


I had a classic iPod connected to the 147 with a connects2 adapter. Got a iPod touch for Xmas and it doesn't charge. Spoke to a local car audio place who told me bout a charger adapter. Mines by belkin cost 20 believe there's one by scocshe think that's spelt right, both available on amazon...
mrburtonsir is offline  
Status: Puzzled!!!!
AO Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 27

Member car:

147 JTDM 16v

i've got lead straight from my dealer to my bose stereo, my iphone works as an ipod but does not charge or handle calls
cavemanflynn is offline  
Status: Saving for engine.
AO Silver Member
tomfromtelford's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 4,244
Images: 54
Apple changed there pins at the bottom foriphone and iPods over the last year. So don't think it will charge.
tomfromtelford is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

147 , iphone , plate

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome