ECU Reset - It's A Miracle Cure !!!! - Page 9 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 13

Member car:

156

Hmmm

Hi, since doing the reset, my car now struggles in a morning, runs. Lumpy then cuts out, after 5 mins running, it seems fine and is so all day, the battery light comes on only when revs are struggling?? Any ideas.
mattstimpson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: FOUR YEARS CANCER FREE !! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 3,170
Garage

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Battery light shouldn't be on.....have it checked.
ronan is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 13

Member car:

156

Both battery and alternator fine?? Even more confused. Would it have anything to do with a maf sensor??
mattstimpson is offline  
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 13

Member car:

156

Well it gets worse, car really struggled to start today, wife kept up and it eventually fired up. Spluttered to do the school run, then conked out again. No diesel.! Flaming fuel filter seal had gone chucking a full tank of diesel out onto 6 miles of tarmac!!! Starting to regret buying a bloody alfa, oh and passenger door handle coming loose!
mattstimpson is offline  
airwave88
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by airwave88 View Post
Did it on my 2.4 20v as well, idle seems smoother and the car definitely leaves a smaller smoke trail behind than it used to. I'll do a tank refill tomorrow and will check fuel consumption as well.
I'll have to reconsider my lines above. The black smoke was due to an intermittently functioning EGR (still not replaced, should be ready tomorrow), nothing to do with the ECU reset.
 
Status: FOUR YEARS CANCER FREE !! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 3,170
Garage

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

This thread should be renamed "Throttle reset" ie no removing the battery....just the MAR,15 mins at idle,switch off for 10 mins and then a blast.

ECU reset is questionable.
ronan is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 13

Member car:

156

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronan View Post

ECU reset is questionable.
If I could go back 3 days I wouldn't do it again, opened up a right can of worms! bloody car! I might buy a Ford escort!!!
mattstimpson is offline  
Status: FOUR YEARS CANCER FREE !! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 3,170
Garage

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Matt,I'd get that car on diagnostics if i were you....tho' can't really see an ECU reset being the cause of your problems.
ronan is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 13

Member car:

156

I'm going to take it today, local garage near me has all the kit, thinking id better go with deep pockets!

The fuel filter seal is obviously not related to ecu reset but just adds to my streak of bad luck with this car. It's only just come back from body shop thanks to a sleeping polish berk who thought he'd play dodgems with me!
mattstimpson is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 13

Member car:

156

I'm going to take it today, local garage near me has all the kit, thinking id better go with deep pockets!

The fuel filter seal is obviously not related to ecu reset but just adds to my streak of bad luck with this car. It's only just come back from body shop thanks to a sleeping polish berk who thought he'd play dodgems with me!
mattstimpson is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 13

Member car:

156

Well I've had it diagnosed and the only thing found was intermitant fault on glow plugs so still none the wiser! Oh well.
mattstimpson is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
MacCross's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 226

Member car:

147 1.6TS 2001

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdmc View Post
Hi All. I've got a 2002 156 1.6 TS. A few months ago I had to call on my insurance breakdown assistance service to have the battery replaced. The original had finally given up the ghost, having given its all.

Anyway, since the battery was changed the EOBD warning light is constantly on. I'm just wondering if this is just a glitch caused by changing the battery. Has anyone else experienced this? It definitely wasn't appearing until the battery died and was replaced. It also appears to be on for no good reason. The car is driving perfectly.

Will this 'ECU' reset trick work to cancel the warning light?
This is a very old post, BUT... I read somewere in the forum, that if the new battery "is not man enought", YOU WILL get a engine light on, all the time. Hope this helps someone!

Cheers!
MacCross is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,256
Does doing this procedure on JTD 16V have any effect at all?

I've done it yesterday and now it seems that the car is much worse performance wise that it was.

It feels dead. Any ideas?
TribesMan is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 5

Member car:

GTV 2.0 TS

ECU and THROTTLE RE-SET

Just followed instructions for the above: can't believe the difference it's made to my GTV 2.0 TS.
Prior to this it had lacked power from take off and seemed not to have the guts that my other GTV's have had,as i type this the negetive lead is off the wifes SPIDER as we begin the re-set.
Many thanks to the members who posted this amazing tip.

NOW does anyone know where i can get the convelute hose that comes from the throttle body to the air filter without having to pay 89 from my alfa dealer?
paintboy is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Ayrshire
Posts: 2

Member car:

156 veloce 1.6l

Hi Guys
I have just had my cylinder head done on my 156 veloce 1.6l a few months ago and when I got it from the garage it ran great for 24hrs althought the engine management light was on, my mechanic assured me it would prob. go off in a few days and it did the next day. The followng day it came back on and the car was driving in limp home mode so we put the code reader onto it and it returned the cam positioning sensor(which was fine before the engine work) anyway I bought a new one and had it fitted and the car was great for 5 days then the same problem started again lights on and cars in limp home mode, this is really getting to me as I do love to drive my alfa has anyone any ideas my car is a 2001 model so it is getting on but I have spent a fortune and the car looks like new. The frustrating thing is its not in limp home all the time when its running properly it runs like new too, I hope someone has an idea what is happening.
Thanks James
jamesypd is offline  
Status: Its getting hot in here
AO Member
 
amcb10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 44

Member car:

156 V6

Will this work on my 2.5 V6 Q-System (2000 V)?
amcb10 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
dylan_147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 31
Hello everyone probably already been mentioned but my enforced ECU reset due to draining battery (see my other thread - still unsolved) anyway it cured my key fob not working - happy days! Almost!
dylan_147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
alfadaveuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
Posts: 211
your airbag light could be a dodgy connection under passenger seat i have same problem i just wiggle the wires around under the seat and it goes fine for a few weeks this is to the guy who posted a message asking if the ecu reset will sort his airbag light out
alfadaveuk is offline  
Status: amused
AO Member
 
kiwialfanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
County: Hawke's Bay
Posts: 50
Help ECU Reset after minor mods???

Hey guys, Have just replaced the thermostat, had the Cats removed (Legal here) and installed a new pod air filter. Can't believe the difference... the traction control light keeps comming on in 1st and 2nd under acceleration Do you think I should now do an ECU reset to recalibrate the ECU to the mods?? The car is running fine (except I think the variator is causing a rattle at idle) and after some of the posts here I wouldn't want to **** up the good running, any thoughts???
kiwialfanut is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 13

Member car:

156

Kiwi, based on my own experience with the ecu reset id say no, don't do, although. Therell be plenty on here saying yes,just for me, it created problems that weren't there before.
Good luck.
mattstimpson is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 13

Member car:

156

Kiwi, based on my own experience with the ecu reset id say no, don't do, although. Therell be plenty on here saying yes,just for me, it created problems that weren't there before.
Good luck.
mattstimpson is offline  
Status: BEEN AWAY SITE GOT WORSE .....
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,912
Images: 4

Member car:

bmw 335d coupe

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveD GT View Post
My GT 2.0L JTS has been idling a bit rough recently, and it felt like a few of my horses had flown south for the winter. In addition, my climate insisted on only blowing hot air, no matter what temp I dialled in.

Having trawled through various threads, the ECU reset fix was mentioned several times as a cure for both symptoms.

So, today being a quiet day in the Christmas break, I decided to attempt the ECU and throttle re-set procedure -which is as follows if you haven't seen in other threads :

1. Disconnect battery for 45 mins
2. Reconnect battery, and turn ignition to MAR for 90 secs
3. Turn off and leave 90 secs
4. Start engine WITHOUT pressing throttle and let the car idle for 15 mins (I repeat, do not touch the throttle whilst the car is idling)
5. Turn engine off and leave for 10 minutes
6. Start the car and go for a drive, using a number of styles (eg town, motorway, thrash etc)

So I did this, and my GT is reborn ! Faster, smoother, more torqier, even idle - it's bloody fantastic ! I can't believe how different the whole car feels.

It nearly cured the climate problem (well it blows a bit cooler) so if anyone has any tips on how to fix, let me know.

But the cherry on the icing on the cake was something I didn't expect, it seems to have cured my 'stepping' drivers window problem that I had given up on !!

Now the driver's window goes up and down as smoothly as the proverbial baby's bum.

So, if you're thinking of trying the ECU/Throttle reset and you have a hour or two on your hands this festive break, give it a go - it might work miracles for you to !

i would assume if this ecu reset works would it not be not 15 mins idle time quoted but be realistically until cooling fans kick in as it would be full range of temperature of engine measured by temp sensor,thats if you aint got duff thermostat
davealfa11 is offline  
Status: on a mission
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ashford, Kent
Posts: 143

Member car:

147 1.6ts lusso

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattstimpson View Post
Kiwi, based on my own experience with the ecu reset id say no, don't do, although. Therell be plenty on here saying yes,just for me, it created problems that weren't there before.
Good luck.
I think the bulk of your problems may have more to do with the polish berk playing dodgems with your car than the ecu reset, thats speaking from experiance after my neighbour clipped the wing of my 147, during the course of repair various things starting breaking whilst at the bodyshop all covered by my neighbours insurance thankfully.
twig is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Croatia
County: City of Zagreb
Posts: 3
Images: 10

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 147

Hi to all,
just wanted to say that I tryed this reset on my 147 1.6 and it's just great.Car is working better than ever and fuel consuption is lower than before.Think that this is realie good thing to do.
andro is offline  
Status: Veloce!
AO Member
 
frasermac834's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Glos
Posts: 78

Member car:

GTV Red.

Would this work on the V6?
frasermac834 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
cure , ecu , miracle , reset

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome