ECU Reset - It's A Miracle Cure !!!! - Page 19 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,360
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalcQV View Post
Think my GT has been disconnected since December. Do you reckon that is long enough?
It's probably forgotten all it's ever learned....
jwq is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
MalcQV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 11,803
Images: 27
Garage

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
It's probably forgotten all it's ever learned....
Quite possibly
MalcQV is offline  
Status: Wallet empty
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,412
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
No idea. I'd start by cleaning the outside glass area in front of the sensor, using a good glass polish.
Re. the BC reset (battery disconnect), you can of course always try that as it's easy to do, and won't do any harm...
Edit: I see you have a 156 ? That doesn't have a bodycomputer, so I wouldn't bother with the battery disconnect. You'll also need your radio codes if you have the standard Alfa radio.....
Cleaned the windscreen with a polish and did the reset, the engine does seem a little smoother, not sure about the wipers though. It's bound to rain tomorrow, so we'll see if there's any difference.

Should you do a reset after changing the MAF?
TOX1C is offline  
 
Status: BEEN AWAY SITE GOT WORSE .....
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,904
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

cant believe this bull still going on here
davealfa11 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Soldiiier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
County: Queensland
Posts: 361

Member car:

RX-8

How can you achieve a reset of adaptive learning settings?
Soldiiier is offline  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,360
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soldiiier View Post
How can you achieve a reset of adaptive learning settings?
via OBD + software (apart from throttle, wich can be done via the described method)
jwq is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2
well. ive just done this,

i had a wierd buffering feeling under 1.5k in higher gears when literly cruising at say 30/40 mph.

but i wanted to give the car a major reset as i am a new owner and going by the fact it has a stupid cone filter and half arsed exhaust im guessing the owner liked to give it some beans some times, i mean dont get me wrong i dont mind some foot down action entering 70mph zones, but the car isnt going to set any land speed records.
i know ive come from a 1.8t heavy audi a4 to this for fuel economy reasons so i knew it wouldnt be "fast" per se, im actually suprised on its get up and go once it gets going.
but it did feel a little down on the 145bhp promised!

still done as described

fel perkier, smoother at slower speeds pulling away, and i think the buffering has gone away!

either way it can't hurt i suppose,

well worth the two hours, even if you pass the time cleaning the car!

thanks to op
Twin spark. is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
V6soundsgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 198

Member car:

GT 3.2

Might as well add to the 400 posts haha...

Tried it on my GT, didn't make any noticeable difference. It was running sweet before though so there probably wasn't anything wrong to fix!
V6soundsgood is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 5
Hi guys, Just wanna say thanks for the tips above really helpful.

Just want to add that this procedure did clear up a O2 error in my engine management as well.

I recently replaced 1 of my pre-CAT O2 probes. (Nice generic one 59 Euro ;-) )
Found this post while searching for a way to clear ECU after repair.
I read that it doesn't clear error code but it did on my 2001 156TS SW.

Thanks again.
Marcos71 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Glasgow
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfcg View Post
Performed this today while fitting a new battery. Although I hadn't been having any trouble with my car (touch wood!), the throttle response seems to have improved and the engine feels a bit smoother, although I don't know if I only think this because it is what I expected it to do.

Will update in a few weeks whether there is any lasting changes from the reset.
Been about 5 months since I did the reset, apart from the above (possible placebo effect!) for about a day, I have noticed no difference in the day to day running of the car.
rfcg is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Zimbabwe
County: Harare
Posts: 11
Just joined the forum. Recently bought a 2000,156 2.5 v6 with 40k mileage. Managed 2.4k and started misfiring when starting and would perform well after that, then lost power and still misfiring and revs woundnt go beyond 2000. Now when i start it wil go bruu bruu and rev counter wil go to 1000 briefly then 0 and wil stall
Bopoto is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Zimbabwe
County: Harare
Posts: 11
Sorry, wanted to ask u guys what could be the cause. Plse help
Bopoto is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Jiberson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,591
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bopoto View Post
Sorry, wanted to ask u guys what could be the cause. Plse help






Quote:
Originally Posted by Bopoto View Post
Just joined the forum. Recently bought a 2000,156 2.5 v6 with 40k mileage. Managed 2.4k and started misfiring when starting and would perform well after that, then lost power and still misfiring and revs woundnt go beyond 2000. Now when i start it wil go bruu bruu and rev counter wil go to 1000 briefly then 0 and wil stall

I would put it on a new thread, will get better help then

[color=gray]Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App[/color]
Jiberson1 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Zimbabwe
County: Harare
Posts: 11
Ok thanks will put on new thread
Bopoto is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bopoto View Post
Just joined the forum. Recently bought a 2000,156 2.5 v6 with 40k mileage. Managed 2.4k and started misfiring when starting and would perform well after that, then lost power and still misfiring and revs woundnt go beyond 2000. Now when i start it wil go bruu bruu and rev counter wil go to 1000 briefly then 0 and wil stall
Check MAF sensor
Marcos71 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Malaysia
County: Selangor
Posts: 10
There are two methods.

I have tried the DIY-Manual method listed at Alfa Romeo ECU and Throttle Reset successfully. As answered by Ronan, you only need to disconnect the negative battery terminal.

I usually perform the listed throttle reset as well.
mafiace is offline  
Status: Remapped and EGR blanked
AO Member
 
Geoff159Ti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 150
I had a hesitation just before 2k.
EGR cleaned out,
EGR solenoid checked,
MAP and MAF sensors cleaned,
ECU and throttle reset.

=Fresh feeling car, smooth and nimble. I'll report back if the hesitation returns.
Geoff159Ti is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 2

Member car:

156 JTS Ti

ECU & Throttle Reset

Hi All
I just done the ECU and Throttle reset to my 05 156 Ti, and she is so much responsive now, amazing what that step by step reset had done.
It has so much more power, and now I want more and was looking online for turbo kits or supercharger kits, and I came across this website, Alfa Romeo 156 Electric Supercharger Kits Alfa Romeo 156 Superchargers
Has anyone used this before, any advise, or just a waste?

Thanks.
Antz156Ti is offline  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,360
Images: 16
There is no such thing as a working electric supercharger.... Complete waste of money
jwq is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 2

Member car:

156 JTS Ti

Thanks jwq for that advise was about to click proceed with payment - glad I did'nt.
Antz156Ti is offline  
Status: Love my alfa
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
County: New York
Posts: 37

Member car:

alfa romeo

Done the ECU resetting last week with KESS V2, seems helpful to reduce oil consumption
Scottie7777 is offline  
Status: Sick of Cheap Screws :-O
AO Member
 
156pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 180

Member car:

156

Thumbs Up

I did the "ECU Reset" which also acts as a Throttle Body Reset .. in early November. Since then, the car has been more free-revving, and more "sporty" under acceleration. It doesn't feel like a "new car", but it is a definite improvement. This is the first time the car has been lively since I purchased it!!!
156pilot is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 1,247

Member car:

147 JTDM 16V

I take it the Throttle reset doesn't work on the JTDM since it has no throttle body ?
Alexie is offline  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,360
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexie View Post
I take it the Throttle reset doesn't work on the JTDM since it has no throttle body ?
nope.
jwq is offline  
Status: 3rd Alfa, this time a beautiful GT
AO Member
 
iandudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 34
ECU Reset on a GT 3.2 V6

Hi there,

i'm having similar issues with my 3.2 V6, will this ECU reset work as well on the non turbo'd motor?

i know how temperamental these babies are so don't want to cause more problems trying to fix a minor rough idle and throttle response...

iandudley is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
cure , ecu , miracle , reset

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome