ECU Reset - It's A Miracle Cure !!!! - Page 11 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Africa
County: -
what a difference!

Wow I just did the ECU and Throttle reset and it has made such a difference! Its so much fresher!

Normally my low end torque was so poor but its now back! Just when I was thinking of
Flogging my 147! I do recommend this process to anyone experiencing issues with
Performance!

Mike
lime147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
alfiesred77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Coventry
I've tried to do this twice today and now my 156 2.0 JTS wont fire up,any suggestions.
PS It was fine before,jus lumpy tickover issue.?
alfiesred77 is offline  
Status: FOUR YEARS CANCER FREE !! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Garage
Is the key code light showing ?..if it is...it's your immobiliser !!
ronan is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Well, what can I say?

Excellent results.

I've only had my 147 for a few weeks but it didn't feel as quick as I'd expect a 2 litre engine in a little car like this should do. I'd heard people talk of the power coming in above 4k but I had no such performance step.

I've just got back from a drive after doing the throttle reset and wow what a difference.

Torque at lower revs is noticeably improved and that feeling of the power coming in is there now.

To be honest it still isn't as fast as I think it should be, it still feels a little tired but it's an enormous improvement.
Betty_Swallocks is offline  
Status: BEEN AWAY SITE GOT WORSE .....
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Images: 4
doing throttle reset on your motor is maskin problem

get ya codes read
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betty_Swallocks View Post
Well, what can I say?

Excellent results.

I've only had my 147 for a few weeks but it didn't feel as quick as I'd expect a 2 litre engine in a little car like this should do. I'd heard people talk of the power coming in above 4k but I had no such performance step.

I've just got back from a drive after doing the throttle reset and wow what a difference.

Torque at lower revs is noticeably improved and that feeling of the power coming in is there now.

To be honest it still isn't as fast as I think it should be, it still feels a little tired but it's an enormous improvement.
davealfa11 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by davealfa11 View Post
doing throttle reset on your motor is maskin problem

get ya codes read

I've read the codes using FiatECUScan. There's nothing recorded. I think it just needs a jolly good service and new filters. I'll do that over the next couple of weeks.
Betty_Swallocks is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Hi all

My first post, but from what I can see I'm not posting anything that new, but I thought I 'd share my experience with some fellow 156 owners.

Since fitting a stainless steel ripspeed air filter at weekend my 156 started getting a very lumpy/eratic idling, low power on acceleration and a generally poor running engine. I nipped out yesterday, and bought a standard airfilter thinking that the new one was just not right for the ECU mapping and putting an original back on would sort it, but this made no difference at all.

I used my K&N filter oil spray to coat the filter so I have to assumed that the oil messed up the MAF element. So I removed it and cleaned it with isopropanol, still no difference. I was getting a signal from the MAF, however, as the engine would cough and splutter when I disconnected it. Speaking to Emissions control, and browsing the forums I thought it must be the MAF. So I bought a new Bosch MAF and installed it. Sadly, this had no immedidate benefit, infact it caused my engine to keep stalling. So I ran the throttle reset process, but this didn't work either. I then set about the full ECU restting.

Whilst the battery was disconnected I thought I'd check the plugs too. Pulling out the orange connector from plug one made a terrible slopping noise which really didn't sound too good! Both plug wells for pot one were filled with a waxey mix of oil and water. I can only assume that whoever serviced the car before I got it wasn't too careful when pouring the oil into the engine. Plugs 1a and 1b were wet and soiled. I spent a good half an hour with oil rags mopping up then sprayed a decent dose of WD40. Was pot 1 the cause of the bad performance and miss-firing? Who knows, but a clean up and a new MAF can't be a bad thing for a 125K 156.

Back to the reset, after 45mins of battery disconnection I ran through the cycle and what a result!!
Response is tight, tone is great. I expect the ECU to have relearnt everything by tomorrow, as I have a bouncing rev counter when I take my foot off the gas. But this is just a recalibration by the ECU on how to use the MAF data.
nizanh156 is offline  
Status: BEEN AWAY SITE GOT WORSE .....
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betty_Swallocks View Post
I've read the codes using FiatECUScan. There's nothing recorded. I think it just needs a jolly good service and new filters. I'll do that over the next couple of weeks.
disconnect your MAF sensor and drive see if you got bit more power
davealfa11 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
alfadaveuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
Thumbs Up

you can stop the condensation from affecting your spark plugs again as condensation built up in the spark plug hole of my 2l ti 146 i used a silicone conductive gel from ford works wonders stops any bad connections on any electrical part i used it on the coil packs and the 4 plug leads on my twin spark. and for the price under 10 its worth while it also works around the house well any electrical connection. it stops any arching i think its called where the electric cant get connection so it jumps from metal to metal.
alfadaveuk is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Hi. I own a 2001 156 selespeed 2.0. My airbag warning light is on permanently. Is there a quick re-set that anyone is aware of?
Have to add, that I've owned this car from 14,000 miles to 66,000 (nearly 5yrs) and this is the FIRST thing that's gone wrong. I'm even still on the original exhaust. So ******** to all the people who told me it would break down regularly! I love it.
Pat
Pat Oakley is offline  
Status: BEEN AWAY SITE GOT WORSE .....
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat Oakley View Post
Hi. I own a 2001 156 selespeed 2.0. My airbag warning light is on permanently. Is there a quick re-set that anyone is aware of?
Have to add, that I've owned this car from 14,000 miles to 66,000 (nearly 5yrs) and this is the FIRST thing that's gone wrong. I'm even still on the original exhaust. So ******** to all the people who told me it would break down regularly! I love it.
Pat
usually it connector under passenger seat thats not toooo good ,does the mrs put her bag there ?
davealfa11 is offline  
Status: S/W ,gtv sold, Mito 1.3jtdm
AO Member
 
alfafanatic100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Recently had a belt service inc variator etc, since belt service there has been a loss of performance, especially
after 3000rpm, car felt bogged down and engine boomy on acceleration, specialist had car back and checked
timing and new parts etc, could not find problem (tried diagnostic, no recorded fault codes).
Well i was slightly sceptical about this Ecu reset but nothing to lose so gave it a try.
Well to my suprise the car is as lively as before and pulls away effortlessly and now get a real boost at 3000rpm, i couldn't
believe my luck, i was beginning to think maybe the powerloss was my imagination, well its a different animal now.
Worked for me, car is much more responsive and no boomy engine noise....

Update jan 2011; car seems to have returned to being a bit sluggish under 3500rpm, had a silenced de-cat fitted and it has
made the car slightly more perky and revs more freely also nice rasp when accelarating, but not 100% sure ECU reset works
long term, had timing check and is ok, so just reset the Ecu again and doesn't seem much different this time..
Looking at a new Maf i think...although it idles smoothly but lacks power below 3500rpm...

Last edited by alfafanatic100; 19-01-11 at 14:05.
alfafanatic100 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Ecu reset

Did an ecu reset today on my 156 2.0 selespeed and it has sorted out the selespeed issues and is much quicker than it was, I would recommend this in the first instance before taking it to a dealership and spending loads of money
pelham27 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Hi guys, would this work for a jerky throttle response from my 2,0 ts???
damo494 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
ive bought a alfa 147 jtd today and its got all sorts of mad stuff going on with it. the windows go up a inch at a time, the odometer flashes, its got a whirring sound from the engine and a flatspot on acceleration. Not doing to bad for a alfa hey ha ha
bazza18888 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
just done the reset and no flstspot anymore however i do still have the flashing odometer and the windiws are still going up a inch at a time. Helppppppppp
bazza18888 is offline  
Status: the Alfa is re-born!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyrone
flashing odometer = weak battery possibly?
aopa25 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
update- had it plugged into the fiat computer and cleared the flashing odometer and the windows go up and down as normal now too. Thinbk the whining noise is a water pump.
bazza18888 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Africa
County: Free State
hi all i was wondering wil a ecu reset fix alarm bugs i took appart the right back door to fix the speaker as i took it apart i disconected the electric window my tinking is the alarm thinks there was an atemted theft after puttting the door pannel back the remote key stop working the batery is fine tested it and bought a new one i think its just a gremlin in the system i have a 2003 ts 2.0 selespeed
gwam is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
alfadaveuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwam View Post
hi all i was wondering wil a ecu reset fix alarm bugs i took appart the right back door to fix the speaker as i took it apart i disconected the electric window my tinking is the alarm thinks there was an atemted theft after puttting the door pannel back the remote key stop working the batery is fine tested it and bought a new one i think its just a gremlin in the system i have a 2003 ts 2.0 selespeed
yeah i think it will sort it most probs being as you should of dc the battery in the first place as i always dc the battery if im disconnecting any electrical connection. as newer cars are very temperamental about having open circuits. next time if ever you try to do something and come across a electrical connector just get a 10mm and undo the negative terminal of battery first just incase it throws a wobbly.
alfadaveuk is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alfa666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Images: 14
Hi guys interesting thread.
Didnt see any regarding 156 2.5 V6. I am also suffering from lumpy tickover and a 'holding back as if needing to clear throat feeling' on accel'. Can you guys advise if the ECU reset will assist? I have also been told the car is stage 3 tuned so would the reset effect this?
Alfa666 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
alfadaveuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
dont know about if the reset will wipe any tune but i would doubt it but do get some one confirm this. mafs and egr valves can give you those chocking feeling.
egr valves can play up without codes being thrown up and so can maf's so its always worth checking those before messing around coz i know they say miracle ecu cure but if you have any underlying messed or mucked up part it will not sort anything out. best way to check if its down to maf would be to make sure u have fiat ecu scan first and then dc maf if it runs better then maf is playing up. egr valve is an easy clean job on the jtd i dont know about v6 but you might be able to find someone with some advise on those. they would both be my first thought on finding out why your car is feeling chocked up. the ecu reset just basicly resets the cars ecu to standard settings if its anything like the renault ecu reset as the car learns your driving style and makes the engine perform best to work with your driving. if you drive lazy then it will most probs try to find the best economy if you have always driven fast and hard then it will keep the throttle response very sharp. so to cut it short the only time an ecu reset will really benefit is if you have just brought the car or if you have been dc the battery lots. i do an ecu reset after i change any electrical part but i do drive it 10-50 miles before doing that reset just incase parts might be faulty. i hope this helps you alfa666. my guess would point more towards maf being as its cold weather. are your temps ok as an open stat will cause lumpyness do your blowers get very hot when driving or do they just blow mid temp air. test for hot if hot everything with stat is fine
alfadaveuk is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
raggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Images: 10
can this ecu reset be done via alfa diag.
raggy is offline  
Status: Black pump
Regional Representative
For East Midlands - AOEM
 
gtlewi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by raggy View Post
can this ecu reset be done via alfa diag.
Yep, its under the actuators tab....called something like reset self adaption parameters. You need to ignition off for 90 seconds after test complete for the ECU to be reset I think
gtlewi is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alfa666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Images: 14
Many thanks for your informative response, I have not had the car all that long and when I first got it the alternator was changed, subsequently prior to that the battery would have been run down quite a few times I expect.
Alfa666 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
cure , ecu , miracle , reset

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome