selespeed problem - main dealer saying new gear box..???? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 10 Old 02-10-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9

Member car:


selespeed problem - main dealer saying new gear box..????


we have a 147 selespeed 04 which has done around 60.000 miles. we had had a series of problems with it for the first couple of years and eventually circumbed and had the actuator and pump replaced by a main dealer a year ago at a cost of £2500.

it has run great all year but at the weekend suddenly dropped out of gear into neutral. This was definately happening in 5th and i am not really sure about in other gears.

thinking it was possibly a similar problem to before and because it was just under the year since the work was done I had it recovered to the main dealer.

they have looked at it and road tested it and are saying that there are no faults coming up on the diaog but from the road test it needs a new gearbox and is nothing to to with the work they did last year. They have quoted a cost of over £2100 for this work and said this may or may not be solve the problem.....

It was also slightly concerning that they told me that they no longer touch selespeeds (despite being a main dealer)

We are now a bit stumped - we get the impression the main dealer just doesn't want to know and we are certainly not happy with the idea of paying out again without more clarity about what is wrong.

having read through the forums many times over the years whilst I have come across many people who have had simalar experiences about gears dropping out a new gear box doesn't seem to be the solution.

any ideas folks about where we could take it for a honest opinion ? we are in west yorkshire but are willing to travel for Knowledge and honesty!!

all contributions greatly recieved!!!!!
beltabout is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Gold Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7,178
Send a private message to Smaky - there is no point in pursuing someone (main dealer or otherwise) who has neither the will, training or experience to diagnose selespeed faults.

Its fairly unlikely to be the gearbox itself, most problems relate to the actuator, sensors or clutch.

Does the Screen acknowledge the drop into neutral - or display the gear it should have been in?
cj romeo is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
iainfm's Avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,271
Images: 5
Before doing anything as drastic as changing the gearbox, I'd hook it up to AlfaDiag and check (and adjust if necessary) the clutch rod length and perform an EOL calibration.

Secondly, use the sensor graphs to monitor the requested gear and the inserted gear values. If the system is *choosing* to enter neutral, then I suspect it's something other than the box. If it's slipping into neutral by itself (and the recalibration hasn't sorted it) it may be a mechanical problem.

There are 3 bolts with spring ball-bearings in the end (no idea what they're called!) that help lock the selector shafts in place. Maybe one of these is worn. They can be removed and changed from the outside without removing the box.

Finally, if all else fails, replacement units can be found pretty cheaply if you scour ebay and look for people that are breaking a selespeed car. I got an actuator and box for £56 recently

Hope this helps,

iainfm is offline  
Status: Selector problems
AO Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 59
hold on there! don't go giving away more cash to a dealer who looks like he just wants your money without understanding and fixing your problem. I am sure there is a passionate and experienced independent near to you who could diagnose and check every nut bolt and screw on your car for HALF of your quote. As is mentioned on these posts, it is highly likely to be a result of other components which are causing the fault. In my short ownership time, these forums have shed light on the most simple things causing what appears to be a major problem. My selespeed was jumping around and not selecting gears, i got under car and cleaned all the crud from all the contacts/switches/relays/connectors etc and it has solved the glitch. have you checked your battery type? seems tio be first port of call for a lot of sele problems.
PauloLindum is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
zulu ferret's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,255
Images: 2
As iainfm mentions could be detent balls and springs/general wear and tear with the mechanical side of the system at 60K? But worth having it looked at by a Sele' specialist like Smaky down there in darkest Wiltshire? Perchance one more local to your area here on AO? :
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
rarebear's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7,021
does you car has the undertray ? if not, the PauloLindum story comes in view.
As Iain says , sele gearboxes come cheap (I had a new one for 350 quid) but it is a tough job and expensive if you cannot do it yourself.
rarebear is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 10 Old 03-10-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9

Member car:


Thanks for the replys people. I am taking it to JJB Motors in York, who talked more sense on the phone without seeing the car than Dews Motors who have had it for three days!

I'll report back later!
beltabout is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Mike2909's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 568
Images: 6

Member car:

Alfa Romeo

Originally Posted by beltabout View Post
Thanks for the replys people. I am taking it to JJB Motors in York, who talked more sense on the phone without seeing the car than Dews Motors who have had it for three days!

I'll report back later!
Lets hope they live up to your expectations. Make sure you get a second opinion before agreeing to anything that is going to cost you big bucks.
There are very very few garages prepared to work/repair anything selespeed, it is far easier and more profitable for them to replace ( or say they have replaced) and charge you for it.
I can give you the address of an Alfa indie garage in Keighley if you need a second opinion. I have never used them personally but they serviced my car from new by its previous owner and there are a few members on here that have used them and give very good reports.
Mike2909 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 396
Where are you based?

I was having a chat with Paul at Motormech about selespeeds when I was getting my Alternator sorted. He was very confident that he could sort out more or less anything with it. Even had a Stilo Arbarth in that Fiat had sent them because they couldn't work out what was wrong with the seles!

They're in Birmingham.
kamran is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
muggs1958's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 149

Member car:

156 2.0 lusso

pm smaky he is a sillyspeed expert and his shed is a aladins cave of bits i know he has three acutator in there as i was with him thursday doing my cam belt and he told me that most sillyspeed probs are not mechanical so pm him he,s more than willing to help any one /ps try a privete email to him as his inbox is useally full
muggs1958 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

box , dealer , gear , main , problem , selespeed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome