156 aux belt tensioner - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 23 Old 04-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: I would rather not say
Posts: 5

Member car:

alfa 156

156 aux belt tensioner

Hi

How do you replace the aux belt tensioner on a 2.0l 156?
Tried replacing Aux belt with one from motor factors but i could not get it to fit as it just seemed too short(has air con and got belt for 156 with air con),even though they were sure it was the right one
Don180 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,456
Images: 10

Member car:

various Alfas

Why do you want to replace the tensioner?They are all the same.
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 18,728
Images: 14
Garage
Silly question here. Can't you match the old and new one to see if they are the same size when they are both off?
Joss is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,268
Images: 5
Did you change the idler as well? There are a couple of sizes of those...

You fit the tensioner onto the block, then you need a 15mm spanner to turn the tensioner itself about 90deg clockwise. Wrap the belt around it and let the tensioner take up the slack.

It's a bit awkward, and it helps to have an assistant to hold the belts as they tend to try to jump off. Make sure it's properly seated in the pulleys as well, and keep all fingers out of the way!

Do you need a picture showing the route of the belt?

Breaking X-Reg 156 1.6 TS. Most parts available.

S'cuse me, while I Kiss The Sky...

Last edited by iainfm; 04-06-09 at 19:14.
iainfm is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 23 Old 04-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: I would rather not say
Posts: 5

Member car:

alfa 156

Don't have the old belt,it came off.

Tensioner wheel has play in it....should it?
To remove the tensioner is it just one bolt?
Changing idler wheel as well,just one bolt too?

I tried fitting the last bit of slack in the belt to the air con pulley but it just wouldn't stretch enough.
Then i tried fitting the last bit onto other pulleys but the same so im wondering is it a prob with the tensioner or just the wrong belt.The part number was 7pk.......Does anyone have the genuine alfa part number for the belt or other parts?

A pic would be good,thanks.

Last edited by Don180; 04-06-09 at 18:11.
Don180 is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,268
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don180 View Post
Don't have the old belt,it came off.
Thought that'd be the case!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don180 View Post
Tensioner wheel has play in it....should it?
To remove the tensioner is it just one bolt?
Changing idler wheel as well,just one bolt too?
What kind of play? In/out? side-to-side? Just one bolt to remove it, and the wheel. You'll need a deep off-set spanner to get at the idler bolt. I did one the other day that was on stupidly tight, and had to drop the engine slightly to get a socket on it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don180 View Post
I tried fitting the last bit of slack in the belt to the air con pulley but it just wouldn't stretch enough.
Then i tried fitting the last bit onto other pulleys but the same so im wondering is it a prob with the tensioner or just the wrong belt.The part number was 7pk.......Does anyone have the genuine alfa part number for the belt or other parts?

A pic would be good,thanks.
The only way you'll do it is to hold the tensioner off the belt by turning the tensioning part of it clockwise (15mm spanner on the bolt head that's in the middle of the wheel, not the one that holds it onto the block). Route the belt first, and get the slack near the tensioner/idler - then de-tension it (it's spring-loaded), and slip the belt over the idler/tensioner. It's not easy, and it'll probably take a couple of goes.

Pics of the tensioner are on ebspare's website. Give me a mo, and I'll dig out a pic of the belt's route.

Last edited by iainfm; 04-06-09 at 19:13.
iainfm is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,268
Images: 5
Here you go.

PAS : power-steering pump
AC : Aircon compressor
G : Idler
CS : Crankshaft pulley
T : Tensioner
GEN : Alternator
Attached Images
File Type: jpg serpbelt.jpg (63.3 KB, 17 views)
iainfm is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 23 Old 04-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: I would rather not say
Posts: 5

Member car:

alfa 156

Quote:
Originally Posted by iainfm View Post
Thought that'd be the case!



What kind of play? In/out? side-to-side? Just one bolt to remove it, and the wheel. You'll need a deep off-set spanner to get at the idler bolt. I did one the other day that was on stupidly tight, and had to drop the engine slightly to get a socket on it!

Yes side to side,in and out.Surely that would make the belt come off
Just the tensioner wheel where the belt runs along has the movement


The only way you'll do it is to hold the tensioner off the belt by turning the tensioning part of it clockwise (15mm spanner on the bolt head that's in the middle of the wheel, not the one that holds it onto the block). Route the belt first, and get the slack near the tensioner/idler - then de-tension it (it's spring-loaded), and slip the belt over the idler/tensioner. It's not easy, and it'll probably take a couple of goes.

Im not sure i get you......
You say turn it clockwise? isn't it anti clockwise?
So the tensioner wheel has to be the last pulley to fit the belt over!?.


Pics of the tensioner are on ebspare's website. Give me a mo, and I'll dig out a pic of the belt's route.
Thanks for the help so far
Don180 is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,268
Images: 5
I put anti-clockwise originally, then looked at the picture and confused myself (and did a sly edit!)

Thinking about it again (with less whisky in my system!) anti-clockwise is the way to slacken it.

It'll only turn one way anyway. The spring's pretty strong, so get in a good position to heave on the spanner!

An assistant is very useful as well. But watch not to trap their fingers!
iainfm is offline  
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6
15mm spanner, length of string, loop the belt into position leaving it resting across the side of the Idler and it takes 10 seconds to fit a belt on your own, for witnesses to this fact just ask Davis222, Wetpants, Rallye Matt, Raul, Rob3rto, Tatters40 or anyone that's been to see me since xmas, after they've seen me do it they wonder why all the guides say do it from underneath... as I've never done one from down there and my fingers will never be harmed.

It is still easier to swap the Tensioner and Idler from underneth though.
Smaky is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,268
Images: 5
What's the string for? To pull on the spanner? I'll have to give it a go
iainfm is offline  
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by iainfm View Post
What's the string for? To pull on the spanner? I'll have to give it a go
Exactly.
Smaky is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,268
Images: 5
You should patent that method!!!
iainfm is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 30,588
Images: 13
When I did my last one, I used a large, long screwdriver, and a 15mm ring spanner with another ring at the other end..

I then fed the belt over the top pulleys, and put the spanner underneath the bottom belt run and then onto the tensioner.

I then levered over the tensioner and put the screwdriver through the other ring on the spanner so that the screwdrivers handle wedged against the brake disc.

That hols the tensioner over so that you can put the belt over it with your fingers...

Then simply remove the screwdriver, the tensioner springs back and voila.
symon is offline  
Status: Frickin Awesome!!!
AO Silver Member
 
Prof Peach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,800
Images: 13

Member car:

RénoLaGünah

Must just be my ape-like physique, but I was able to do the spanner and the belt.

But then... I am fantastic, aren't I? (and still currently in possession of all 10 fingers)
Prof Peach is offline  
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof Peach View Post
Must just be my ape-like physique, but I was able to do the spanner and the belt.

But then... I am fantastic, aren't I? (and still currently in possession of all 10 fingers)
Do you want an honest answer???
Smaky is offline  
Status: Frickin Awesome!!!
AO Silver Member
 
Prof Peach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,800
Images: 13

Member car:

RénoLaGünah

I have to wear stileto's to stop my knuckles dragging on the ground!
Prof Peach is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by iainfm View Post
Here you go.

PAS : power-steering pump
AC : Aircon compressor
G : Idler
CS : Crankshaft pulley
T : Tensioner
GEN : Alternator
Ok, My friend borrowed the car yesterday for a long trip. He said he was having problems at Idle, the engine light kept coming on, he lost PAS, and Air Con was broken. He also heard a knocking sound. i've had the car back today and checked it all over and found that this belt has come off. What damage would it have done by not being attached for say 200 miles?

Many thanks for your help.

Blister
Blister69 is offline  
Status: .
AO Silver Member
 
Rob3rto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: I would rather not say
Posts: 2,517
Images: 6

Member car:

156

Worst thing is dead battery and no Power steering (VERY heavy to steer) with the AUX belt off.
Rob3rto is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob3rto View Post
Worst thing is dead battery and no Power steering (VERY heavy to steer) with the AUX belt off.
Phew! Thanks for the reply.

Are they hard to fit?
Blister69 is offline  
Status: belts, w/pump and cam sensor changed!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7,653
Images: 12
Blister: PM me your VIN/Chassis number .. starts ZAR932 ... I'll put it in eper and get you the proper Alfa part number for your belt ..
gazza82 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 18
Thanks for the help, It's worse than I thought though. The belt was there but had come off, on closer inspection one of the pulleys has come loose. It's a big one and I can't tell where it has come from. Do the pulleys have covers that screw/bolt on? It might be a cover? It has the grooves going around it.

I thing this is going to be a recovery then garage job
Blister69 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 18
Ok, quick update.

Had the car recovered and taken to the garage. The crank shaft pulley has fallen off and it looks like it's been off for some time. I have no idea how the PAS has been working, but it has.

They are going to take a closer look tonight to see if anything else has been damaged.

What does a crank shaft pulley do? It's costing £125 for the part, but that's from Alfa.

Thanks.
Blister69 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156 , aux , belt , tensioner

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome