Selespeed Gearbox problem - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 11-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 3
Selespeed Gearbox problem


Im having problems with my Selespeed Gearbox on my 156.

It started a few months ago when occasionally the gearbox warning light would flash on the dashboard. This happened whilst driving and would only last for a few seconds. During the time it flashed I could not change gear.

It has gradually got worse and now the light flashes for a couple of minutes when I start the engine. I can not engage any gear before it stops flashing. When I start driving it is only a matter of minutes before the warning light starts flashing again. It then flashes randomly during the journey during which time I can not change gear.

The oil level appears fine and there seems to be no pattern for the fault starting. The gear selector info on the dashboard does not flash whilst the warning light is flashing.

Any help would be gratefully received.

Many Thanks
booboo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 19

Member car:

156 selespeed

Today i have the same problem to but not sure whats causing it. Just had my pump replaced.
pauljg1 is offline  
Status: -
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 8

Member car:

alfa 156 v6 '99

Selespeed gearbox light flashing

Hi Bud..
Did you resolve the problem where the light was flashing and you couldnt select any gears as we have the same problem.. Cheers any help would be great
acemike is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
David C's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 28,997
It would point to the pump not running.
So any of:
failing pump
failing pump relay
poor earth from the pump
wiring fault to/from the pump
David C is offline  
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
rarebear's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7,021
as David says , but if the pump runs and still the problem exists it may be the accumulator leaking i.e.
not enough pressure (<45 bar) Alfadiag will tell you in a second whats wrong.
rarebear is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
alfa_baller's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 30
147 selespeed problems

same thing i have just had, i have had my selespeed pump replaced in Jan 09 fine until last week Selespeed warning light will come on any time for a few minutes then go away but i can still change gears.
atfer a week i could not change gears.

Problem caused: Faulty Selespeed Relay and faulty brake light switch, has now been replaced working now

selespeed replay should cost no more than 15 and brake light switch no than 15 Selespeed pump is alot more in the 300 priced bracket and thats not including VAT + there is labour.
alfa_baller is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

gearbox , problem , selespeed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome