Diagnostic Port - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
Diagnostic Port

Does anyone know where the OBD2 connector is on a 156 ( 1.8) ?

Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Exeter
Posts: 246
To the right of the steering column behind the panel. There is then a black clip cover on the port itself.

The pnale will either simply come off when pulled as there are two clips on the bottom and it hooks in at the top or there may be a butterfly screw insdie the recess as well.

Angle Tunning
AlfaNige is offline  
Status: cornea come l'inferno
AO Silver Member
Hoygaard's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
County: Kobenhavn
Posts: 4,156

Member car:

156 GTA SW

So Alfanige...

Any advice on cheap FIAT group diagnostic gear. quality, price and wher to obtain it?


Hoygaard is offline  
Status: ready4vacations
AO Platinum Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 31,304

Member car:

Alfa 159 QV

That would be interesting, Lars
THROTTLEMAN is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Exeter
Posts: 246
Unfortunately, no, no and er no! I think the first word will throw you off the scent...cheap - no chance!

I am awating a friend of a friend to design me a dongle that will attach our OBD leads correctly to one of our laptops so I can use the OBD diagnostic software. If this then works Rarebear (with help from ourselves ;-)!) will conqueor the know world! In fact I will try and chase that up today if I get chance.
AlfaNige is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
ajcarter's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: High Wycombe
Posts: 3,257

Member car:

145 Turbo, 330CD

This is already possible! I used my laptop, an interface & some 'still under development' software to diagnose why my injector light was on. Comparing the trouble code to the DTC list, indeicated camshaft angle sensor malfunction - when I lifted the rocker cover it was correct - in pieces all over the engine!

The software works on ECU's which use the KWP2000 protocols - the software has to be bespoke becuase FIAT's range of ECU's are finud on a different address to all other mfrs wink

So for simple DTC troubleshooting the answer is yes - dirt cheap - about 10-$15 for the electronics required to make up the interface to an rs232 (serial comms) port. And it works under windows, including NT based versions.

Currently it does not read real time values (I and a few others have experienced the same problem doing so with Alfa ECU's - a standard OBDII function not supported is the error returned)

It's only a matter of time before we crack it wink

Websites are like ********s, everyone has one, and im wary of any bloke trying to direct people into their's
ajcarter is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
McGuinn's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland.
Posts: 3,194

Member car:

145 1.8 TS

AJ for Bill Gates' old job!
McGuinn is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

diagnostic , port

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome