Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag)) - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 109 Old 03-03-09 Thread Starter
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6
Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag))

At some time everyone here with a Selespeed will need to adjust the clutch release rod on the actuator if you sevice the car yourself. Now I've searched the forum and there is no guide, so today I shall demonstrate and SHOW you where this adjustment is made and how it is measured.

1, Load up Examiner or Alfadiag and select the "Selespeed" ECU, connect and then go to the "Sensor" tab, in the drop down menu select "Clutch Adjustment Position" and check the position on the graph. If it is outside of 28 - 28.5mm then continue, otherwise your done.

2, Remove the battery and tray to gain access to the actuator.

3, Slide the cover off the clutch release actuating rod and loosen the 10mm locknut.

4, Connect the battery via jump leads and turn the key to MAR, connect with Alfadiag or Examiner again.

5, Now to adjust the rod you hold the piston still and rotate the larger 19mm rod, out to increase the length of corse. Watch the display as you do it to ensure you don't go too far, when it'sin limits lock off the 10mm nut and refit the dust cover

6, Now click the "Actuators" tab and select "Calibration Routines", Bleed the clutch and then run the EOL Auto adjust. You'll hear a lot of whiring and clunking, that's normal, just keep your fingers out of the way.

7, When that finishes sucessfully, rebuild the car and reset your clock.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 03032009645.jpg (99.3 KB, 715 views)
File Type: jpg 03032009647.jpg (34.6 KB, 612 views)
File Type: jpg 03032009642.jpg (121.4 KB, 1046 views)
File Type: jpg 03032009650.jpg (41.0 KB, 583 views)
Smaky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 109 Old 03-03-09 Thread Starter
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6
Re: Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag))

Does that clear things up now? BTW that was alfadiag in action. Now if only I'd done this in the 147/156 lounge, D'oh!
Smaky is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 203
Re: Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag))

just like to say a quick thanks just done this job and with this guide it only took 45mins

cheers
terrycarter is offline  
 
Chris155
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag))

Good Guide. Thanks.
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
scot360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 384
Images: 10
Re: Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag))

nice one, i will have go with that sometime soon.
scot360 is offline  
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
 
rarebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7,027

Member car:

911, 156, Merc C

Re: Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag))

Great stuff SMAKY !!!
rarebear is offline  
_cuore_
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag))

x

Last edited by _cuore_; 24-07-12 at 09:10.
 
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,059
Re: Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag))

Cheers Smaky,

I did this (admittedly not using diag, but counting up the visible threads on your pic and a ruler, (I know, I know)) and the car is so much better to drive, much more responsive and just flows better.

I really need to get diag to do a proper job, but its the difference a few mill makes is amazing.
purple145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 109 Old 18-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6
Re: Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag))

Quote:
Originally Posted by purple145 View Post
but its the difference a few mill makes is amazing.
I recall hearing the actress tell the bishop that too.
Smaky is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
scot360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 384
Images: 10
Re: Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag))

smaky your message inbox is full mate, i tried to ask you about the graph being so vague, how can you see where 28.5 and 28mm is on it exactly please?
scot360 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 15
Re: Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag))

Having experienced Smaky and Alfadiag in action I can tell you that to the left of the graph are three digital readings, look at the bottom of the three. When you see it all will be clear
flashgit is offline  
geoff1132204
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by _cuore_ View Post
? If I want to compensate worn out clutch, should I adjust rod lenght more or less to 28 mm ?
.... bloody good question. Anyone know which way to go??
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
scot360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 384
Images: 10
mine is 27.93mm is that worth adjusting or not? is it better to put it to 28.25mm or is that too hard to do?
scot360 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,236
After 3-months I would have thought a forum mod would have moved this thread to the correct section...!

Last edited by David C; 09-06-09 at 19:00. Reason: spelling
David C is offline  
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoff1132204 View Post
.... bloody good question. Anyone know which way to go??
a bigger value makes the gear change slower, less than the 28.5 makes it quicker, but I am not sure if that creates other issues, for example, does it disengage the clutch fully.

A worn clutch I would have thought just needs putting to 28.5mm,

HTH
purple145 is offline  
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
After 3-months I would have though a forum mod would have moved this thread to the correct section...!
mods rarely visit here...
purple145 is offline  
paintergirl
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Moved to 147/156/GT section
 
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFAPAT's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 237
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Moray
Posts: 1,866
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by scot360 View Post
smaky your message inbox is full mate, i tried to ask you about the graph being so vague, how can you see where 28.5 and 28mm is on it exactly please?


The measurement is to the left side of the graph,it comes up on the same page in digital figures, and changes as you adjust it.
ALFAPAT is offline  
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by paintergirl View Post
Moved to 147/156/GT section
Ooops secrets out, the 145 lounge is now policed
purple145 is offline  
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,059
thx for moving PG, I'm sure Smakys post will help loads in here
purple145 is offline  
Status: Regrettably my Gtv was written off
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
alexGS's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1265
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
County: Waikato
Posts: 2,393
Images: 36

Member car:

Mostly my Golf 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by purple145 View Post
thx for moving PG, I'm sure Smakys post will help loads in here
Absolutely It's one of my favourites, but I had difficulty searching for it before, as I forgot to search in the right forum!

Today, my OBD2 cable arrived from England. What a bargain (postage was only 2.99) and oh, the excitement! I was too busy to give it much time but finally got out there at about midnight - sitting in my 156, interior light on - I connected to the Selespeed ECU and uncovered lots of interesting info. Most of the mileage covered in 3rd gear, for example - 14km covered in neutral! - 211 failed insertions of 1st gear (and none for the other gears), over 23000 successful insertions of first gear, and system pressure very well-controlled, acting as it should.

My clutch actuator rod is currently 19.4mm - I hope that might be the cause of some low-speed jerkiness. Is that a sign that the clutch is worn out?

Another question - for bleeding the clutch, the AlfaDiag help makes mention of opening the bleed screw while the procedure runs the pump. That sounds sensible enough - is that how it's done? I read somewhere here that there isn't a need to open the bleed screw, which confused me (how would the air get out?)

And finally - is the Clutch Degradation Index meaningful? I have yet to run that test and wondered if it can tell me whether my clutch needs replacing. The car has covered 223,000km - a lot for a 2003 car used in Singapore...

Thanks,
-Alex

'07 166 3.0V6 Sportronic, '08 FIAT 500, '03 Stilo Abarth, '13 Golf TSi, '08 G Spyder, shell and parts for a '71 FIAT 850 Coupe
alexGS is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Russian Federation
County: Moscow
Posts: 2
Hi, the Clutch Degradation Index test should not be relevant for the Selespeed model in your car.
al_156sel is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Dunc2047's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
Posts: 123
Images: 5

Member car:

147 selespeed

Cheers smacky top post
Dunc2047 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 2
Thumbs Up

OMG what a difference, I wonder how many owners are driving round thinking this is great when it could be so much better.
Went from 32mm to 28, no juddering, much smoother changes and power comes on sooner.
If anyone north west needs diag let me know.
Many thanks Smacky.
corfco is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 109 Old 01-11-09 Thread Starter
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by corfco View Post
OMG what a difference, I wonder how many owners are driving round thinking this is great when it could be so much better.
Went from 32mm to 28, no juddering, much smoother changes and power comes on sooner.
If anyone north west needs diag let me know.
Many thanks Smacky.
If your rod was at 32mm then I suspect your clutch is almost worn out.



As to the questions earlier,

As the clutch wears, you wind out the screw to keep the distance correct, I find that seting it to 27.95 before I lock the nut gets me bang on 28mm when I finish.

If the rod is too short, say below 26mm then on a worn clutch you will gat a failure on the EOL service along with 3 double beeps and probably a 0xd fault code, that one means clutch not fully disengaging and preventing gear selection.


This thread was posted in both the 145/146 and 147/156/GT lounges as I had realised my mistake when I made it, PG's just made me duplicate a thread in the lounge now.
Smaky is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
adjustment , alfadiag , clutch , rod , selespeed

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome