Dual Climate Control - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 24-02-09 Thread Starter
Status: I don't know what goes here
AO Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 250
Dual Climate Control

Greetings, since buying my 1.9 16v jtd, it has always had this small issue with displaying the first line of the LED in the dual climate screens, so if it's on, I just constantly leave it on Hi, it'll miss out the first line in H and so on.

Anyway, everything still works and all and occasionally I get that line back, in the numbers, the first line is missing also sometimes, it's intermittent and just one of the bonuses of an Alfa I believe.

Basically, is there a way to fix this? It's not a big issue if not as I don't use the system anyway, lol.

Also, in other cars I've had, there was a way to have a variety of cold to warm air without the fan blowing... i.e. just through air intake as the car is moving, is there a possibility to get this also? so that I can have like a slight amount of warm air without the fan blowing the warm air to save battery, lol (yes, I'm quite stingey).

nugget is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: OK
AO Member
CuoreAlfa's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
County: -
Posts: 157
Re: Dual Climate Control

Can't help with the led's I'm afraid. Though it is odd you say it sometimes works so not blown segments.

But with the air flow, you should be able to reduce fan speed down to no lines showing and no sound (therefore fan is off) before you reach the "OFF" display. Mine is MY2005 but I assume the MY2002 is the same if that's what you have.

Then make sure the "recirc" light is off and therefore you have air coming in from outside and select your desired heated air temp.

I can however tell you that no car (any brand) aircon system will work without the fan on...the fan on/speed switch is is intentionally connected to turn on the compressor once you slect A/C on switch.

I'd give my right finger for an Alfa Romeo Giulietta with huge red Brembo calipers...well I did!!! Now I can say I BLEED FOR MY ALFA!

See my pics here; http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/motor...ml#post7196153
CuoreAlfa is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 5 Old 25-02-09 Thread Starter
Status: I don't know what goes here
AO Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 250
Re: Dual Climate Control

That's great information, just what I was looking for thanks.

One final thing I forgot to ask, is the Frost Protector button my air con button? if not... what is it for?
nugget is offline  
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
Re: Dual Climate Control

The display issue is probably down to dry solder joints on the circuit board - very common problem on the climate unit. To fix it you would need to remove the unit and re-solder the connections.

The button on the left of the unit with the snowflake symbol is to turn the AC on or off.
Status: -
AO Member
adf83's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 438
Re: Dual Climate Control

I have exactly the same led issue with mine. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I've seen a few units on ebay for cheap, but it hasn't bothered me enough to do anything about.
adf83 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

climate , control , dual

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome