147 "tapping" type noise from engine - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 09-11-08 Thread Starter
County: -

Member car:

Alfa 147

147 "tapping" type noise from engine

I have a 147 2.0 T Spark 2004. Yesterday when I started the engine, I heard a strange noise (sorry can't remember what sort of noise - not memorable, but the sort of noise that makes you think somethings not right!) Then the fuel went from half way to empty, which definitely caught my attention, but then went back up again to half way (have started it up again a few times and the fuel gauge does seem to be doing down correctly). Then I started to hear a tapping noise coming from the engine. On further investigation, the tapping speeded up on revving, but appeared to disappear on 2,000 revs. I think it also seemed to go away a bit when the engine warned up. I am a complete novice when it comes to diagnosing faults, but thought I'd try the basics and check oil level. It was half way between the two dots so thought I would fill it up to max. Now, when I start the engine nothing appears out of the ordinary, but if you lift the bonnet and put your ear close to the engine, there is an underlying "tapping" noise. Now, as I say, being a novice, this may be usual, but I am worried the engine might need attention. My question is, would you recommend I get this looked at? Any help and advice anyone can give is greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
AO Member
County: Kent
Re: 147 "tapping" type noise from engine

The problem when you hear a bump or a clunk, is you then start listening out for noises. In most cases, they have always been there, and you pass it by.

Any "unusual" noises are never a good thing, If you are worried about it I'd get it "looked" at, most garages (Indipendant's and dealers) normally have a fixed price diagnostic charge. My last dealer it was 62 inc VAT.