buying an alfa 147 need help plz :) - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 3 Old 18-10-08 Thread Starter
AO Member
County: Leicestershire

Member car:

alfa 147

buying an alfa 147 need help plz :)

Hi, im new to all this and currently own an astra 1.6 16v, boring lol! i am looking at an alfa 147 1.6 t-spark as im only 19 and cant afford 2.0 insurance. its a lusso with leather, digital climate control etc. It has 50,000 on it on an 02 plate. full service history, most alfa, and is having cambealt, variator, rollers etc dun with new bushes on gear linkages. I think its damn beautiful and have never owned an alfa before. The reputation for alfa is unrealiability, is this going? does it sound like a good car? and what things do i need to look for? ( i am also having the car inspected by an rac man) would appreciate help, thanks
Sponsored Links
County: Antrim

Member car:

147 1.6TS Lusso

Re: buying an alfa 147 need help plz :)

Hi matey,

I'm 22 and just passed my test about 4months ago thus i opted for the 1.6ts. Its a great little revvy engine but other that what you've mentioned i don't think there is much else mechanically to worry about. Mine is a 2001 and runs sweet as a nut and pulls like a train. The only problems i've had with mine have been electrical gremlins like airbag warning lights and other odds and sods!

Other than that its been great! Good luck and enjoy!
AO Member

Member car:

2001 147 1.6

Re: buying an alfa 147 need help plz :)

Sounds good,how much is it?

ive had mine for a couple of months now,and i love it so much! im 19 like yourself with the 1.6 model.

I would say if you after good fuel economy forget it because according to the computer i get an average of 28 mpg,it drinks oil as well but its worth every penny when i hear that glorius howl of the engine