Problems with 156 dials/display - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 21-05-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Help Problems with 156 dials/display

Hi, i have just had my engine rebuilt after cam-belt dissaster. I have 156 2.0 selespeed on a 2000(V), previous to this it has had a new selespeed chip and ecu. But since my engine rebuilt (by a friend of a friend) the rev counter only goes upto 2k revs and the speedo doesn't move at all and the gear selection display doesn't indicate anything. The car however drives fine and has passed a BFG inspection (forces equivilent of an MOT) the warning light with a car with bonnet up is also flashing. Has anyone come across this problem before or know what might be causing this fault?
bennyandhis156 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
rarebear's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7,021
Re: Problems with 156 dials/display

I had something similar after fitting a new gearbox to my 156 selespeed. Speedo did not work but the total counter last two digits were counting from 00 through 19 again and again, Solution was taking all plugs/connectors in the engine bay off clean them spray contact spray and miracle everything is fine ever since !

Last edited by rarebear; 21-05-08 at 14:23.
rarebear is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
jug's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Durham
Posts: 3,681
Images: 23
Re: Problems with 156 dials/display

yeah the good old disconnect and reconnect trick is needed here.
jug is offline  
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6
Re: Problems with 156 dials/display

Also check that the plugs are fitted to the correct sensors, some of them can be cross connected, the dash gear disply problem may be just a case of hiting the dial and squeezing it all back into place.

I've always felt that the BFG was a wste of time, especially since my old Beemer got through one with a sheared rear axle, what use are MT fitters anyway, they didn't even know what a Torx screw was when I asked for a handful last week.
Smaky is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Medio
ALFAPAT's Avatar
Club Member Number: 237
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Moray
Posts: 1,862
Images: 6
Re: Problems with 156 dials/display

Hmm, yes some of them don't know, and don't care and others know that it is beyond the capabilities of supply to scource this sort of thing, this is MT I am talking about,(mod)to even go there, I am afraid its only civvy street you will get your torx screws!

Last edited by ALFAPAT; 21-05-08 at 21:29. Reason: grammer
ALFAPAT is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 6 Old 23-05-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Re: Problems with 156 dials/display

thanks guys for the tips, will give them a try and let you know what happens.
bennyandhis156 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

156 , dials or display , problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome