147 Battery Change - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 20-03-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 33

Member car:


147 Battery Change

I suspect my battery is on the way out as I'm having some issues with the electricals in my car:

Skipping gears (selespeed)
Remote locking not working
VDC warning light
Airbag warning light

This is the original battery from 2001, so not suprised its about done, however I've been reading some threads on this forum which make me think it's not just as straight forward as removing the old battery and plugging in the new one...

Can anyone confirm if it's true that by removing the battery you can lock up your immobiliser and require a code from Alfa to unlock it?

r38063 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Gold Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7,178
Re: 147 Battery Change

You shouldnt need the key code for the battery swap, though the radio code might come in handy.

What I would do is - have the new battery ready and fully charged and all the prep work done and fasteners loose so that the time without power is as short as possible, get the new battery hooked up before doing everything up again.

Its best practice to wear eye and hand protection when handling batteries these days.
cj romeo is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 6 Old 20-03-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 33

Member car:


Re: 147 Battery Change

Cheers for the advice, luckily I have the radio code already as I lost power a couple of weeks ago and the radio cut out.

A good fella from this very board was kind enough to provide my radio code free of charge

Just a bit worried about the whole immobiliser thing when I remove the battery... Is there a time limit on the battery being disconnected before this feature kicks in?
r38063 is offline  
Status: - Update
Posts: n/a
Re: 147 Battery Change

As CJ says, have the new battery ready and swap over.

Did mine a short while ago and had no issues at all.
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
zulu ferret's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,255
Images: 2
Re: 147 Battery Change

Her 147 Sele' is disconnected for fourteen days at a time roughly. No problems, not even with the radio. She only flies during the summer months.
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: -
Admin Team
Alfa Vincent's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,411
Images: 27
Re: 147 Battery Change

no problems with mine either when I swapped battery.
Alfa Vincent is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

147 , battery , change

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome