156 Undertray? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 27-02-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 123
156 Undertray?

A friend at work has a 1999 156 V6. At present there is no undertray fitted under the engine. Does anyone know if it should have one as standard?
Dan17583 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
bazza's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 42,042
Images: 3

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA SW

Re: 156 Undertray?

Yes it should, but they're notoriously fragile, so a lot are missing. It's not such a big deal I don't think. The bottom of the engine might be dirtier, and a tiny bit more noise.
bazza is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
jug's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Durham
Posts: 3,681
Images: 23
Re: 156 Undertray?

its nothing to worry about. mine is missing, i dont plan to replace it.
jug is offline  
Status: is fed up!!
AO Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 452
Re: 156 Undertray?

same here, its not an issue really. Just keeps a bit of muck out of teh engine bay but not a lot.
BigRed is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Heathrow, UK
Posts: 1,365
Re: 156 Undertray?

alleged noise dampening and protection from the elements, I beleive the weather protection line, makes sense but I have not seen issues with cars missing the trays.

and even dealers dont bother repairing them and simply remove trays that are falling off! unless they want more money from you, thus charging for a new one and not simply fixing what you have!

if you can, try to have a look under the car for any damage/wear, highly unlikely but best to check.
*the issue you could have is driving through standing water, the tray could help prevent the engine sucking any water in? maybe?
mo 156 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 139
Re: 156 Undertray?

Install an aluminium one. You won't regret it.
It protects the engine from taking a hit on the sump and also keeps it clean.
Installing an aluminium one, also gives you some more clearance than the plastic one and also won't break on the first hit.

Alfa 156 Aluminium Motor-Schutzabdeckung Aluminium Motor-Schutzabdeckung
kyriacosmetal is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
zulu ferret's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,255
Images: 2
Re: 156 Undertray?

Wouldn't be without one. Stops an immense amount of dirt, and muck, getting into the engine/transmission bay. That aside from the purported aerodynamics.:
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: Back in Black
AO Silver Member
Dougie166's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Clackmannanshire
Posts: 4,103
Images: 9

Member car:

Alfaless :( BMW!

Re: 156 Undertray?

I would not bother they are a pain! They get mangled and screws/bolts can be hard to remove. Also stop you noticing any minor leaks as they simply lay on tray.

I recently bought my 166 - I asked the seller if I could borrow some tools and removed the undertray (and left it with them!) before I headed home as it was hanging low and would have been very noisy on motorway flapping about!

I give the underside of my engine a jet wash every week or two to remove and salt and grime
Dougie166 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Marko156's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dunmurry,Northern Ireland
Posts: 853

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4JTD

Re: 156 Undertray?

I don't have one either, won't bother putting one on.....Too much hassle when changing oil for a start, the only benefit is it'll protect the sump to a very small effect when your car bottoms out (and if it's a 156...IT WILL!!) But it won't protect it enough to warrant putting one on!! IMO
Marko156 is offline  
Status: King of the Arcade
AO Silver Member
Alfa_Daryl's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 2,131
Images: 8

Member car:

BMW E92 320D

Re: 156 Undertray?

I bought mine without one on.. well apart from a piece of remains when last owner gave up removing the bolt. I'm a bit more stubborn so an hour later the bolt was out and I had connected on an aluminium tray. I actually notice a difference in noise, it sounds throatier with the tray on (better!) as possibly helps to keep wind noise to a minimum. Only fitted 5 of the 7 bolts though as would just take too long when oil change comes round
Alfa_Daryl is offline  
Status: -
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156

I have part numbers 60669267 Alfa 156 frame guard petrol 1997-2002 and 156 m.y. Bz/ds 2001-2005 brand new in the box (plastic)
Also part number 60622315 156 petrol 1997-2002 frame guard brand new.(plastic).
CraigWalker is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Fozzie13's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 30

Member car:

Alfa 156 1.9 JTD

After the original one fell apart I didn't fit a new one, the result was that, probably from going over the numerous humps around these days, my bottom turbo hose wore through as did the bottom hose on the oil cooler. I bought one of the metal ones off e-bay for about 160 and no more problems. It only takes a few minutes to remove it for an oil filter and oil change so for me well worth it!
Fozzie13 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

156 , undertray

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome