147 Suspension queries..and more! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 4 Old 25-02-08 Thread Starter
147 Suspension queries..and more!

Hi all,
New to AlfaOwner, and have just acquired a cheap (but nice) 147 2.0 Lusso (51 plate), however, (and I have owned an Alfa before) I have some of the usual little niggles, half of which I have ironed out...but there are some larger ones that I need help with... I am not a mechanic, but a pretty compentent DIYer and like a challenge!

(I will warn you in advance for the monster post! Sorry!! )

Basically here goes:
  • I have a little problem with the ride 'experience'! When I get to about 65mph I get a pronounced 'wobble' in the steering wheel. Now I need 4 new tyres, so am going to put it down to balancing, and I will get the tracking done as well, but I don't think that is all that is wrong.
  • I also get a sort of 'clunk' when on a bumpy (or pot-holed) surface, feels as if the steering wheel is 'dis-jointed' from the rest of the front end and does a very quick sort of shimmy/rattle (that's a dance move I hear)
  • In addition, the car seems to be very 'grabby' i.e. when I hit a groove or a bump (more so when braking) it feels as if 'it' is in control and jerks out of my hand (not quite as severe as it sounds)
  • ..also! I get the 'squeak' from what I think is the front left wheel, which I assume is like it was on my 156 and is the suspension bushes, or is it this wishbone thing that everybody keeps talking about? This is worse when cold, and is only noticeable on speed-bumps, but if it is like the 156 then it gets worse...