New stereo advice please. - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 10 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
County: -
New stereo advice please.

I'm after a quality stereo for my facelift 156.
I need: output to BOSE,
Steering wheel controls to work,
iPhone/iPod compatible with control from the stereo of the iDevice.
A CD player,
Ideally Bluetooth phone kit included and a silver face.

What have the assembled masses got?
GTAAndyMac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 10 Old 1 Week Ago
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTAAndyMac View Post

What have the assembled masses got?
A mega-thread in the ICE section of the forum - http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/ice-a...56-and-gt.html

Might be worth posting over there, loads of info on integration with Bose and steering wheel controls etc..
_The_Editor_ is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 10 Old 1 Week Ago
Status: Loving my beautiful Busso!
AO Member
 
Shimmerydolmeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Are there any head units with both 2v and 4v outputs? I want to change my system but don't want to shell out on new head unit, amp and speakers at the same time.
Shimmerydolmeo is online now  
(Post Link) post #4 of 10 Old 1 Week Ago
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Your situation differs depending on if your car is currently fitted with CD/Radio or the Blaupunkt Nav unit. If you have CD/Radio, then don't worry about the Bose situation, any normal head unit with ISO outputs will do fine.

If you have Blaupunkt navigation unit then its not so straight forward.
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 10 Old 1 Week Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Sooty Si's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lincolnshire
County: UK
Garage
Were any 156's, facelift or otherwise, fitted with the nav unit? Never seen one.
Sooty Si is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 10 Old 1 Week Ago
jwq
Status: Thinking about giulia veloce
Club Member
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sooty Si View Post
Were any 156's, facelift or otherwise, fitted with the nav unit? Never seen one.
yes:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg alfa_romeo__alfa_156_sportwagon_2_0_jts_selespeed_distinctiv_2002_3_lgw.jpg (29.6 KB, 7 views)
jwq is online now  
(Post Link) post #7 of 10 Old 1 Week Ago
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sooty Si View Post
Were any 156's, facelift or otherwise, fitted with the nav unit? Never seen one.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
yes:
Unfortunately I have one, and need to work out how I'm going to change the plugs so I can fit a CD/radio:

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/ice-a...adio-swap.html (156 Nav to CD/Radio swap)
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 10 Old 1 Week Ago
Status: Loving my beautiful Busso!
AO Member
 
Shimmerydolmeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Your situation differs depending on if your car is currently fitted with CD/Radio or the Blaupunkt Nav unit. If you have CD/Radio, then don't worry about the Bose situation, any normal head unit with ISO outputs will do fine.

If you have Blaupunkt navigation unit then its not so straight forward.
I just have the cd/radio unit, that's great news. So 4v won't cook the amp or sound rubbish?
Shimmerydolmeo is online now  
(Post Link) post #9 of 10 Old 1 Week Ago
jwq
Status: Thinking about giulia veloce
Club Member
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shimmerydolmeo View Post
I just have the cd/radio unit, that's great news. So 4v won't cook the amp or sound rubbish?
The Bose amp(s) need approx 4-5 volts drive for full output.... Very few headunits deliver this, most are around 2 volts, so you will have to "open up" the volume control further to get decent volume levels....
Alternative is to use the speaker ouputs of the radio, this will give the oposite, ie high volume levels at low settings of the volume control.

You can also get external adapters that convert speaker output to line output ....
jwq is online now  
(Post Link) post #10 of 10 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
County: -
Mine is a 'normal' stereo linked to BOSE speaker setup.
Any advice on model of stereo?
GTAAndyMac is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
advice , stereo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome