Accelerator Pedal - 156 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 23-01-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2

Member car:


Accelerator Pedal - 156

Hi All,

Apologies for my ignorance but I know next to nothing about cars, which probably isn't the best thing in the world if you own an Alfa Romeo.

Anyway, I had a little problem with my car and was just wondering if anyone else had experienced it.

When I went to start it today, as I pressed the accelerator, nothing happened. The clutch control in the car worked so I was able to get it back to my house at about 4kph. But the accelerator just seemed to have shut down.

Any suggestions on what might be wrong as I don't want to go to mechanic and get fleeced if the car is seriously clapped out. Kefu
kefola is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Now driving a BMW :(
AO Platinum Member
RicksAlfas's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 17,033
Images: 11

Member car:

1750GTV 147Lusso

Re: Accelerator Pedal - 156

It sounds like the throttle cable has come off the back of the pedal. We had this once on a 145. If you look at the top of the pedal you might see what has happened and with a pair of pliers you should be able to get it back on. Good luck!
RicksAlfas is offline  
Status: Tin worm attack ... ARGHH!
AO Gold Member
gazza82's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 8,285
Images: 12
Re: Accelerator Pedal - 156

Unless it is a fly-by-wire throttle ... then you probably need it hooked up to a diagnostic system to check it. If it is a fly-by-wire throttle, it could be a potentiometer has failed or a connection has come loose.

But try a throttle reset first ... turn on ignition for 90 secs then turn off for 90 secs. The start car and leave it to idle for a few mins. BUT don't touch the throttle while doing this ....

Turn off, start again and see if it comes back to life.
gazza82 is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 6 Old 23-01-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2

Member car:


Re: Accelerator Pedal - 156


Thanks for both of the replies.

I tried the throttle reset and that didn't work and had a look at the pedal and can't see any cables loose or anything like that.

Anyway, I have it booked into garage for Friday but if anyone has any other suggestions to save that eventuality, I'd be very grateful.

kefola is offline  
Status: Bring on the Giulia
AO Platinum Member
OperationAlfa's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,171
Re: Accelerator Pedal - 156

It is fly by wire. I think you must have a connection problem.

OperationAlfa is offline  
Status: age is only a number ;-)
AO Gold Member
rgwm's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,069
Re: Accelerator Pedal - 156

Agreed - assuming it is a 147 we're talking about its fly-by-wire. There's a linkage off the throttle pedal that goes to a cylinder about 4" long - darned awkward to get at . This is connected to by a short cable to a plug, thence via the loom to the throttle body.

Check for the obvious electrical connections, but also make sure the mechanical linkage hasn't fallen off...
rgwm is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

156 , accelerator , pedal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome