GT 147 plus 156 = GT? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 21-01-08 Thread Starter
AO Member

Member car:

GT 147 plus 156 = GT?

I'm hoping to return to Alfas as I need something fun but economical Alfa GT JTD. In the past I've owned a 146ti (fast but basic) 2 156 's (reliable suprisingly!), 2 147 (reliable but bouncy ride) and 1 166 (a great looking unreliable petrol eater!).

I love my Alfas but I'm no expert on cars and have been waiting a long time for the GT to get within my budget. A few questions;

Is 10k a reasonable price for a 50K 4 year old (no leather) from a dealer with FSH, cambelt change and good condition (I saw another post about a 7.5k one at auction!)

I read that the Gt is basically a 147/156 under the beautiful body. Can anyone tell if there are any differences or does it basically drive like a 147

How do you feel about the umphh of the diesel and its MPG. I'm not into remappes but I do like a bit of "go"

Sponsored Links
Re: GT 147 plus 156 = GT?

The stock diesel has loads and loads of oooomph. - you won't find any issues there. Quite honestly I don't understand why people want to remap - I know its cheap to achieve, but there will be extra wear later in the cars life and more to the the stock diesel not already fast enough at 130mph!! (it gets up to 120mph very very quickly but starts tailing off after that, but how many times do you get to do those crazy speeds?). Economy of my 147 is superb....high 40's on urban runs with 65mpg quite achievable on a long motorway run....beware though the supplementary heater takes ALOT of fuel in the winter months - way more than aircon IMO.

As far as drivability goes, it drives a bit like a cross....probably becuase the GT is about 50/50 on componants from the 147/156! -it drives very nice but its no sports car.