Changing battery - don't wanna lose stereo and immobilizer code - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By David C
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 05-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: Fixing problems one by one
AO Member
 
gijst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
County: Bosnia & Herzegovina
Posts: 214
Garage
Changing battery - don't wanna lose stereo and immobilizer code

I need to change the battery because it's been giving me problems for the past few months - taking a lot to start up, shows up immobilizer if you try igniting with the lights on etc, and I'm afraid to do it myself or have a mechanic do it who doesn't know about the immobilizer code. I read somewhere on this forum before that if you disconnect the battery, it will reset the ECU and you'll maybe need the code to start it up again. I don't have this code. I didn't receive a code card from the guy I purchased the 147 from, and the dealership he got it from didn't have it either. It's a bit too expensive to go to Alfa and get a new code card from them. I also found a thread saying to disconnect the negative first and connect it the last, and that's all that matters?
gijst is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,239
You shouldn't need any codes to change a battery.
jwq likes this.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 9 Old 05-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: Fixing problems one by one
AO Member
 
gijst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
County: Bosnia & Herzegovina
Posts: 214
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
You shouldn't need any codes to change a battery.
Yeah, but doesn't the ECU forget the key or something if the battery is disconnected for too long?
gijst is offline  
 
Status: Spider put in winter hibernation
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
Henrik_45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denmark
County: Aalborg
Posts: 505
Garage
The ECU will not forget the key or anything else when power is removed
The Radio may require a code if the power has been removed for too long time.

When you reconnect the battery don't have the key in the ignition, it may ****-up the immobilizer.

If you don't have the radio code you can use a spare battery and connet this battery to the wires going to the in-situ battery before you disconnect the old battery then everything will be powered until you have connected the new battery.

Beware that you don't make anything short circuit with the loose wires.

Last edited by Henrik_45; 05-10-16 at 15:39.
Henrik_45 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Normandy, France
County: -
Posts: 34

Member car:

156 2.5 V6

With a battery charger set on the lowest input (just in case), you can provide power while changing the battery. Plug it with additional cables for more convenience.
I've done it a few times already.
Neocray is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,239
The radio in a 147 should be paired with the body-computer, so won't need a code for battery change.
A 156 will need a code.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 9 Old 05-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: Fixing problems one by one
AO Member
 
gijst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
County: Bosnia & Herzegovina
Posts: 214
Garage
Thank you

EDIT: Changed without issues. Got a Bosch for 65€.

Last edited by gijst; 06-10-16 at 13:39.
gijst is offline  
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 4,771
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gijst View Post
Yeah, but doesn't the ECU forget the key or something if the battery is disconnected for too long?
I have had the battery disconnected for a month at a time while doing clutch, heatshield, clutch again, timing belt and no issues with codes, immobilizer, key or alarm during any of those.
ransoman is offline  
Status: New quiet lifters
AO Silver Member
 
halftone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 1,285
Garage

Member car:

147 Sport Q2

Same here. 6-7 weeks, no issues.
halftone is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
battery , changing , code , immobilizer , lose , stereo , wanna

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome