Alfa GT Antenna query - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By jwq
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 05-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Spain
County: -
Hmmm Alfa GT Antenna query

Hi folks...

This might be stupid, so bear with me please...

I recently bought a GT 2.0 JTS Selespeed (2007) with ConnectNav+. I am thinking of changing this with an aftermarket head unit (GPS/BT/Radio etc).
The many headunits I have come across, provides their own GPS antenna.

My question is :
1. Is the original bee-sting antenna on my GT good enough for GPS?
(I have heard/read in places that the roof antennas on the connectnav GTs had both power and phone/GPS module.)
2. Will my GPS work if plug in my existing Antenna to the ANT IN of the head unit?

Thanks for your help/inputs/comments!
oliveskin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
jwq
Status: Thinking about giulia veloce
Club Member
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Images: 16
b-sting antenna is of no use for gps, gps uses a special active antenna (small square box) specific for gps.
However, as you stated, almost all gps systems come with their own gps antenna. These usually have a magnetic base, and you can just mount it invisibly on top of the metal case of the nav/radio beneath the dashboard. It will get sufficient signal there.
jwq is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 5 Old 05-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Spain
County: -
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
b-sting antenna is of no use for gps, gps uses a special active antenna (small square box) specific for gps.
However, as you stated, almost all gps systems come with their own gps antenna. These usually have a magnetic base, and you can just mount it invisibly on top of the metal case of the nav/radio beneath the dashboard. It will get sufficient signal there.
Thanks jwq!
Does it mean that the factory Antenna on my GT does not have a GPS module?
oliveskin is offline  
 
jwq
Status: Thinking about giulia veloce
Club Member
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by oliveskin View Post
Thanks jwq!
Does it mean that the factory Antenna on my GT does not have a GPS module?
probably not, if it didn't come with factory navigation.....
In the case of factory nav, the GPS antenna is mounted in the base of the roof antenna, with separate wiring/connectors
oliveskin likes this.
jwq is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 5 Old 05-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Spain
County: -
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
probably not, if it didn't come with factory navigation.....
In the case of factory nav, the GPS antenna is mounted in the base of the roof antenna, with separate wiring/connectors
Thanks again !

It came with connectnav+ so I am guessing the connectors are available and plugged in to the factory nav unit.
Will try using these connectors to see if my aftermarket will work, if not, will use the one that comes with the new one.
oliveskin is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
alfa , antenna , query

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome