Selespeed clutch operation ? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 29-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
Posts: 8
Garage
Selespeed clutch operation ?

Hi guys,

After 6 years I'm back to alfa - 147 2.0 selespeed

Get it in good price but have to fix gearbox - mainly is crunching on 3th and just a bit on 4th gear.

done all calibrations in FES - and no better so sounds like the synchros in gearbox gone...

But one question before i will strip the box - anyone knows how clutch operates when changing 3 - 4 - 5 gear ? I mean how far the clutch is pressed for gear change.

When did some graph in FES have found that clutch travel is quite short (definitely not to the full push) on changing 2-3 3-4

Have to test it better but maybe someone knows how far the pushrod should go ?


Regards
Selelover is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Vivat least vaguest.
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
County: -
Posts: 708
Is that a fault of low reserve pressure (as in, under-spec accumulator sphere)?
addo is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 8 Old 29-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
Posts: 8
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by addo View Post
Is that a fault of low reserve pressure (as in, under-spec accumulator sphere)?
Was no errors on selespeed module - but to be honest I haven't checked pressure.

Will do it today ...

And by the way - 4-5 is going nice the same as 1-2 3-2 2-1

Is any chance to see the proper graph of clutch travel versus gear selector positions on slow and quick change ?

Regards
Selelover is offline  
 
Status: The artist formerly known as Roarsbaby
AO Silver Member
 
Mufasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 5,188
Images: 27
Garage
Mufasa is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
County: -
Posts: 2,339
My sele was the same 3rd gear then after a while 4th as well graunching. Do your checks on the sele system but you almost certainly need new 2-3-4th gear synchro's. Or a good used box.
sprint_veloce is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 8 Old 30-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
Posts: 8
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprint_veloce View Post
My sele was the same 3rd gear then after a while 4th as well graunching. Do your checks on the sele system but you almost certainly need new 2-3-4th gear synchro's. Or a good used box.
Cheers guys - will do good check today with calibration, pressure - maybe the bleed ....
then will go for a ride and get graphs of clutch travel - this should give me the answer to strip the box...


If so - can anyone help what the gearbox model selespeed is ? what the synchro part numbers or any info about internal of the gearbox (pictures) ?


Regards
Selelover is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 8 Old 30-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
Posts: 8
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprint_veloce View Post
My sele was the same 3rd gear then after a while 4th as well graunching. Do your checks on the sele system but you almost certainly need new 2-3-4th gear synchro's. Or a good used box.
So did the good check of selespeed operation - in FES did the graphs for clutch travel, then pressure, then gears positions - did it separate to have the highest data rate.

Looks like clutch operates good - all gears travel from 28.4 to about 14 on change - so unfortunately is not the case.
Pressure from 55 to min when riding and gear change to 42.5 - but quickly pressure build up.
Gears selector positions looks ok (maybe 3 and 4 just a tiny bit shorter travel than other gears)

So looks I have to get gearbox out and strip it and change synchros... is the shame as car has about 50k miles
Selelover is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 8 Old 30-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
Posts: 8
Garage
And by the way - is there a chance to remove only back casing of the box to get shafts out ? Anyone have try ?
Selelover is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
clutch , operation , selespeed

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome