Help with spark plugs/coils and Aux belt - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 10 Old 14-09-16 Thread Starter

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 147

Help with spark plugs/coils and Aux belt

Evening.

I have two issues with my 147. Firstly I should point out I am a complete amateur when it comes to cars and don't even know the correct names for certain parts so please bare with me. I am however capable with my hands and like to learn how to do things myself. I change my own brake pads and discs for example.

Issue number one, intermittent smoking from aux belt. This is my toughest problem to explain as I don't know correct names or parts, hopefully someone understands my description. Its taken me a while to find where exactly the smoke was coming from as it only happens now and then. Smoke is coming from the 'pully' closest to the front of the car. The outer rim of the pully where the belt is in contact seems to be spinning freely with no problems, however the center of the pully is sticking after the car is running after a while and is heating up and smoking.

Issue number 2 is the common Motor Control System Failure message. At the same time this happened the car became sluggish and a vibration throughout the entire car started. It felt similar to what happened it my Focus when a cylinder was misfiring and that was a result of a bad coil. I thought I would take a look at the plugs, give them a clean etc in the hope it was something simple like that. I took the engine cover off and noticed straight away a very small puddle of oil sitting on top of the first coil. So i popped the first coil off to find the Spark plug completely flooded with oil. From left to right, First coil and two plugs completely flooded. Second coil and two plugs 80% flooded with oil, third coil and two plugs 10-20% flooded and the final coil and two plugs completely dry.