reviving the 100 156 - Page 3 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 26Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 42,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaffMGF View Post
done, number 1's tubes were both half full of oil. I have cleaned them out, and wire-brushed & gapped all 8 plugs

Replacement MAF fitted but not plugged in, battery fully charged. Started the car and the revs fluctuated. Switched off, plugged in the MAF, started the car, revs nice & even. Quick test drive, she pulls nicely right through the rev range.

So, todays question. I have yet to change the temp sensor. Is it worth me running the ECU reset process at this point? Or should I wait until the temp sensor has also been replaced?
Leave the temp sensor for now, drive it for a bit and see how you get on.
Pud237 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #52 of 86 Old 17-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Posts: 46

Member car:

156 2.0 T Spark

she's still not MoT'd. I was going to change the temp sensor as well, see if she sneaks through emissions and then smoke about like there is no tomorrow!

I tell you what, she really takes off when she's warmed up ok. How did I not buy one of these sooner??!!
sneaker and Zuhayb like this.
TaffMGF is offline  
(Post Link) post #53 of 86 Old 20-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Posts: 46

Member car:

156 2.0 T Spark

Started her up to move her last night and the EML went out. I do like a car that appears to be fixing itself.

New temp sensor is being collected today, I'll change that tonight and then she can go for re-test on Friday afternoon.
dgmayhead likes this.
TaffMGF is offline  
 
(Post Link) post #54 of 86 Old 20-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Posts: 46

Member car:

156 2.0 T Spark

quick one, I've done a search and got back dozens of answers, most that seem to contradict themselves.

Airbag connections; One under each front seat and one in the boot, is that correct?
If so, where in the boot is that one located?

Thanks, Al
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2201
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,461
Images: 6
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaffMGF View Post
quick one, I've done a search and got back dozens of answers, most that seem to contradict themselves.

Airbag connections; One under each front seat and one in the boot, is that correct?
If so, where in the boot is that one located?

Thanks, Al
Curtain rail airbag connector in the boot to the right under the carpeting.
TaffMGF likes this.
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #56 of 86 Old 20-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Posts: 46

Member car:

156 2.0 T Spark

nothing under the right hand side boot carpet that looks like it might be the airbag connections.

anywhere else they might be?
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: age is only a number ;-)
AO Gold Member
 
rgwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Burnley-ish
County: Lancashire
Posts: 9,290
2000 model year may well not have curtain airbags.......just the dash and seat ones, I think.
rgwm is offline  
(Post Link) post #58 of 86 Old 20-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Posts: 46

Member car:

156 2.0 T Spark

ok, cool. I've contact-cleaned and cable-tied the front two, the light is still on.

I assume it needs a diag reset to turn that light off? (unless of course there is a fault elsewhere in the system)
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: "Ruby" has been Torpedoed!
AO Member
 
bazzbazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
County: Queensland
Posts: 219

Member car:

Alfa 156

2000 Twinsparks do not have side airbags
bazzbazz is offline  
rxe
Status: Busso
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 2,812
Yes, I'm pretty sure airbag needs a reset to go out. Good that the engine is happier....
Pud237 likes this.
rxe is offline  
(Post Link) post #61 of 86 Old 23-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Posts: 46

Member car:

156 2.0 T Spark

Passed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bazzbazz View Post
Fit a new MAF & Temp Sensor & check the spark plug tubes first before doing anything else and I think you may be pleasantly surprised.
New temp sensor (2nd one I tired, I bought the wrong one initially - mine is a four-wire type) 13
Good used Bosch MAF from a convincing chap on eBay 15
Fiddling with the plugs under the seats cost nothing and he ran the diag to clear the warning lights in return for a packet of chocolate hobnobs
MoT itself was 35

So the car, with 12 months ticket, owes me 163, fuel notwithstanding. Thanks to all who were good enough to give tips and advice, very much appreciated.

Next stop, cambelt and some decent tyres. Any recommendations on tyres?
Rewe and dgmayhead like this.
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 8,431
Images: 12
Garage
I've been running mine on Dunlop Sport RT's .. good in dry and wet and I don't tend to poodle around.

Get the best you can afford

Cambelt, idler and adjuster, balance belt and new adjuster, aux belt .. and new adjuster. You will need cam locks and the adjuster tools .. you might be lucky and manage it with leverage!. http://greenserpent.unospace.net/howtos/download.html

Variator is a possibility if it sounds a bit diesel'ly on start up but a oil change might help that. 10W40 semi-synth.
gazza82 is offline  
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 8,431
Images: 12
Garage
double-post!
gazza82 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
dgmayhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 1,370
You've probably fixed the air bag fault but on the older cars the light doesn't go out unless you clear it via the odb port. Face lift cars put the light out once the circuit is good.
dgmayhead is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
dgmayhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 1,370
Really enjoyed this thread.

In keeping with the budget I can recommend Nankang, Goodride and even Highperformer. All of these will coat less than 50 a corner and out live your rear floor pan.
broadsword and TaffMGF like this.
dgmayhead is offline  
(Post Link) post #66 of 86 Old 24-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Posts: 46

Member car:

156 2.0 T Spark

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgmayhead View Post
Really enjoyed this thread.

In keeping with the budget I can recommend Nankang, Goodride and even Highperformer. All of these will coat less than 50 a corner and out live your rear floor pan.

Ha! Sounds like a marginally better idea than the current Ditchfinders on the front & Widowmakers on the rear...

Joking aside, the MGF has Nexen's all round. Extremely good tyres for the F, a car that is sensitive to tyre choice. Anyone using them on their Alfa?
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: Got that new car feeling!
AO Member
 
BrighouseAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 260
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaffMGF View Post
Ha! Sounds like a marginally better idea than the current Ditchfinders on the front & Widowmakers on the rear...

Joking aside, the MGF has Nexen's all round.
Extremely good tyres for the F, a car that is sensitive to tyre choice. Anyone using them on their Alfa?
I had Nexens on my GT and Gtv and they were good on both cars. Which version are you looking at?

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
BrighouseAlfa is offline  
Status: Just got a license
AO Member
 
tishobg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
County: -
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaffMGF View Post
Ha! Sounds like a marginally better idea than the current Ditchfinders on the front & Widowmakers on the rear...

Joking aside, the MGF has Nexen's all round. Extremely good tyres for the F, a car that is sensitive to tyre choice. Anyone using them on their Alfa?
I've got Nexen's on my 147 . They grip very well.
tishobg is offline  
Status: Don't. Cut.
AO Member
 
sneaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Romania
County: Timiș
Posts: 118
Images: 1

Member car:

156 8v

Nexen's N Blue HD Plus are also less than 50 quid and are so good they even won this cheap tyre test
sneaker is offline  
(Post Link) post #70 of 86 Old 07-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Posts: 46

Member car:

156 2.0 T Spark

Haven't had much chance to use this yet, been away with work and so I haven't managed to get any decent miles onto the car. That changed last night when I used her to nip out for takeaway and noticed that, in a 5 mile round trip, her temp guage crept above halfway.

So this morning, after a 10 mile "enthusiastic" drive, this happened:-

I got out and left her running until she reached the 'max' position and at this point the cooling fan kicked in. The fan ran until the temp dropped back to the 3/4 position and then cut out. I left the car idling on the drive with the bonnet up for about 3 mins, at which point she had reached 'max' on the gauge again and the fan came on again.

Turning on the heater motor with the temp turned to max had the effect of bringing the temperature gauge down. The heater blew hot while it was switched on. The coolant level is ok, car starts and runs with no issues, doesn't smell unpleasant, nothing appears to be binding or slipping. I have replaced the temp sensor (the one in the thermostat housing) as I had an error code that indicated that the temp sensor had failed.

Anything likely to be wrong or is it a case of "they all do that, Sir"
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tc01.JPG (40.2 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg tc02.JPG (41.1 KB, 5 views)
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 42,287
They don't all do that... Was the temp sensor that you used an original/OEM one or a pattern part?

The gauge could be overreading. It would be good to confirm what the ECU thinks the temperature is by having diagnostics plugged in & reading live data.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: "Ruby" has been Torpedoed!
AO Member
 
bazzbazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
County: Queensland
Posts: 219

Member car:

Alfa 156

Agree with PUD, could be anything, a broken wire from the Temp sender, faulty gauge, possessed by ex-mother in law . . . . .

Can't be bothered to read back through all the posts to see if you have already or not, but if you own a laptop, spend the $15 to buy yourself an OBD Adapter and a copy of MultiEcuScan for $50 or whatever it costs. It will save you thousands and you'll spend more time driving the bloody thing than typing on a keyboard yapping to us miserable internet drones!
maxiboy wales likes this.
bazzbazz is offline  
Status: Freezing!
AO Silver Member
 
Rockhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 4,927
Can you see coolant flowing back into the header tank? Not unheard of for the impeller to come off the water pump if its not been changed for a while and is still one of the older types..
Rockhopper is offline  
(Post Link) post #74 of 86 Old 08-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Posts: 46

Member car:

156 2.0 T Spark

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockhopper View Post
Can you see coolant flowing back into the header tank? Not unheard of for the impeller to come off the water pump if its not been changed for a while and is still one of the older types..
yes, you can see the coolant flowing through the header tank.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
They don't all do that... Was the temp sensor that you used an original/OEM one or a pattern part?

The gauge could be overreading. It would be good to confirm what the ECU thinks the temperature is by having diagnostics plugged in & reading live data.
Here is the new sender and it's box, no evidence of it being a genuine AR part. I've removed it and re-fitted the original one. I then went on the same test-drive loop. The temp gauge didn't get above 70 in 12 miles/20 minutes driving. I parked up on the drive with the bonnet up and left her idling. It took about five mins for her to read 100-ish and it was at this point that the cooling fan kicked in. As for yesterday & the new sender, no smells, no slips, no odd noises, nothing out of the ordinary. .

Stupid question alert. Does that temp sensor (the one located in the thermostat housing) do anything else other than provide the signal for the temp gauge? Mine has 4 wires, so I'm guessing it provides signal for another function.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tc03.JPG (38.5 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg tc04.JPG (40.2 KB, 5 views)
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 42,287
Cheap sensor = junk

There are 4 wires as essentially it is two sensors in one. One gives the ECU a temp reading, the other powers the gauge in the car. These sensors can fail in different ways - if the part that the ECU relies on goes open circuit it will give you a fault code and an engine management light will come on. But if the part that drives the gauge goes wrong, it won't give a fault, just cause gauge misbehaviour. I've seen the part that the ECU relies on go wrong before and report ridiculously low coolant temp - like minus 5 degrees or something, and it made the car in question overfuel and splutter but with no errors.

Also the plugs on the loom that plug into the temp sensor can go dodgy - I've seen the ends of the wires all green with corrosion and changed a good few of these plugs in my time. Usually they give an intermittent connection which causes the gauge to flicker up and down like a mad thing but your high gauge temp could be being caused either by that Cambiare sensor or equally by a dodgy connection.
TaffMGF likes this.

Autolusso Penrith - UK's leading independent Alfa Romeo specialist with branches in Bedfordshire, Cumbria & Dorset

Wizard Exhaust systems available here

Tel: 01768 879 171
Pud237 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156 , reviving , 100

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome