reviving the £100 156 - Page 2 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 26Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: "Ruby" has been Torpedoed!
AO Member
 
bazzbazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
County: Queensland
So when do we get a few pics to see just what £100 buys you these days?

This is what £150 gets you in Australia

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL136.../412294028.jpg

( gods truth - But then I have a little saying - "It's not WHAT you know in life that matters, it's not WHO you know in life that matters, it's who you've got dirt on that matters!" )

Baz
bazzbazz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #27 of 86 Old 06-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
wish mine was that tidy! I'll post some pics up later
TaffMGF is offline  
(Post Link) post #28 of 86 Old 06-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Here you go, £100-worth of 156. It's very much a 25 yarder...

Excuse the air freshener, the inside was a bit whiffy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ar01.JPG (73.8 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg ar02.JPG (60.5 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg ar03.JPG (76.8 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg ar04.JPG (68.5 KB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg ar05.JPG (48.7 KB, 33 views)
Zuhayb likes this.
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: 500 up
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Loosk alright that. You'll be able to polish a few bob into that if you can get a ticket on it.
mossca is offline  
(Post Link) post #30 of 86 Old 07-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
I need a 4 door to ferry elderly relatives about, my 80-year old mum struggles to get herself into my X1/9 (although she likes the white leather seats in that car)

I know I'm preaching to the choir a bit, but to be honest, I couldn't see a 4-door car that I felt like owning, I've been smoking about in either my MGF VVC or my X1/9 for the last few years. Fords, Peugot's, Audi's etc, plenty about but all their saloons made me feel like I given up on life. The Alfa seems to have a bit of spirit about it.
I do have a nasty feeling I'll end up wishing I had hung on and bought a better example of a 156, but there you go. I've spent £100 in the pub before now, how bad can this car be?
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Hugh Myles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sligo, Ireland.
How did supper go ?
Hugh Myles is offline  
rxe
Status: Busso
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Quote:
Got my own mig welder, mate, essential as an X1/9 owner... Point taken about the floor.
A man with an X1/9 has no fear of corrosion on a 156.
dgmayhead likes this.
rxe is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Lets hope you can get it sorted out, good luck with it buddy

Even if you had to scrap it those teledials would be worth a bit surely ?
Ber Tony GT is offline  
(Post Link) post #34 of 86 Old 09-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Myles View Post
How did supper go ?
Ha! Ok, turning up in a red Italian sports car with a white leather interior never fails.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rxe View Post
A man with an X1/9 has no fear of corrosion on a 156.
There is just enough rust on my Exey to make every MoT exciting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ber Tony GT View Post
Lets hope you can get it sorted out, good luck with it buddy

Even if you had to scrap it those teledials would be worth a bit surely ?
Thanks, the thing is I would like to keep it alive for a few more years yet. It all seems fairly together, with the MAF unplugged it goes like the clappers, so there isn't anything wrong with the driveline itself, just some playful senders. If I can get those sorted for a realistic outlay, a couple of tyres, some bush's in the suspension (bit of a clonk on hard acceleration), then it should be fine. And I dislike scrapping cars on principal, it annoys the green lobby when you bring one back to life and point out it's better overall to re-use an existing car than build a replacement...I'll get off that soapbox now, sorry.

It's in for a diag session & MoT this afternoon, I'm expecting epic fail. Watch this space
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: "Ruby" has been Torpedoed!
AO Member
 
bazzbazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
County: Queensland
Just remember the RAAFs Motto . . . . "If it won't fit, force it! . . If it breaks . . . eh, it needed replacing anyway . . ."
bazzbazz is offline  
(Post Link) post #36 of 86 Old 09-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Fail, but quite a good fail!

Details to follow
TaffMGF is offline  
(Post Link) post #37 of 86 Old 09-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
ok, pics of fails attached.

The codes were cleared, and the warning lights are still on. The MAF was disconnected for the drive there, and for the emissions test, as the car won't run at all with the MAF connected. We reconnected the MAF for the diag test.

I will strip, contact clean & cable tie the three airbag connectors.

Now, the good folk of the forum will have idea's of how to get this one sorted, of that I have no doubt. The tester (who is a good egg) was of the opinion that the lambda sensors were to blame. He felt that replacing the lambda's would bring the exhaust emissions down significantly, and also allow the MAF to function correctly.

Ref the codes, any pointers before I start googling?

Gents, your opinions? it looks like we are going to save this one!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1140.jpg (65.4 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1139.jpg (94.4 KB, 28 views)
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: Hacker and fixer
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
County: -
Garage
300 is Misfire on multiple cylinders
301 / 302 / 304 tell you which ones

1178 seems to be a mixture problem
couple of others pointing to Lambda / O2 sensors ... so your mech is onto something
proinsias is offline  
Status: "Ruby" has been Torpedoed!
AO Member
 
bazzbazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
County: Queensland
P0100 & P0110 show the MAF is completely screwed. If the MAF is not working properly I can bet the O2 sensor data is screwed. Also P0115 indicates a faulty coolant temp sensor (fitted in the top of the thermostat housing) which will cause the car to run rich all the time, again screwing up the O2 sensors.

Also as for the coils misfiring pull the coils out & see if there is oil/water down the spark plug tubes, THE most common cause of misfiring in unmaintained twinsparks.

Fit a new MAF & Temp Sensor & check the spark plug tubes first before doing anything else and I think you may be pleasantly surprised.

Baz

Patty - 2004 Alfa 156 2.0JTS Sportwagon

Ruby - 2000 Alfa 156 2.0 TS Selespeed with Sports Pack
(Eibach 2.5 Lowering Springs)
(Bilstein Sports Dampers )
bazzbazz is offline  
rxe
Status: Busso
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Graph the lambdas in the free version of MES and post them. You'll also be able to see what the engine thinks the intake and coolant temperature are.

If it drives without the MAF connected, that simply means the default map is about right. The MAF is giving bad data to the engine. I wouldn't condemn the lambdas just yet. See what they are doing first.
rxe is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Those P0100 and P0110 codes might just be from when the MAF was unplugged.

The starting point is to ensure no air leaks between the air mass meter & the throttle because this will make a MAF appear faulty when it might not be. If you don't have any air leaks here, then its likely you do need a new MAF. Get a genuine Bosch one and go from there.
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #42 of 86 Old 14-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
new temp sensor and a good used Bosch MAF ordered today.

I've had a quick google but the location of the temp sensor isn't clear? Am I right in thinking it's located under the air trunking?
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Coolant temp sensor is on the thermostat, which is between the cylinder head and the battery. Remove air intake trunking for access, you might need need the battery off too depending on what tools you have, they're a little awkward.
TaffMGF likes this.
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #44 of 86 Old 14-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Coolant temp sensor is on the thermostat, which is between the cylinder head and the battery. Remove air intake trunking for access, you might need need the battery off too depending on what tools you have, they're a little awkward.
Thank you. Tools are not a problem however dexterity, common sense and patience are often in short supply...
Pud237 and Egon like this.
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: "Ruby" has been Torpedoed!
AO Member
 
bazzbazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
County: Queensland
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaffMGF View Post
Thank you. Tools are not a problem however dexterity, common sense and patience are often in short supply...
And you bought an ALFA!!??
bazzbazz is offline  
(Post Link) post #46 of 86 Old 15-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazzbazz View Post
And you bought an ALFA!!??
I thought it would be therapeutic after an X1/9
ARnovice likes this.
TaffMGF is offline  
(Post Link) post #47 of 86 Old 16-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
so, with brand new temp sensor clenched in one sweaty hand, and a good used MAF in the other, I approached the car.

Wrong sensor, mine is a four-wire and the replacement is a two-wire. Oh well, they will change it for me.

Fitted the MAF with the no problem, car started, ran for a second, spluttered & cut out. It was low on fuel plus my drive is sloped (car is parked nose down), so I sloshed another 5 litres in, and tried again. It just wouldn't quite catch and it was obvious that the battery was dying. So the battery is on charge, the temp sensor is on it's way back to be swapped for the correct one and I'll try again tomorrow...
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: "Ruby" has been Torpedoed!
AO Member
 
bazzbazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
County: Queensland
While you are waiting check the spark plug tubes for oil or water , it is a common cause of misfires, poor running and difficult starting.
bazzbazz is offline  
(Post Link) post #49 of 86 Old 17-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: Failing the doorstep challenge
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wiltshire
County: -
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazzbazz View Post
While you are waiting check the spark plug tubes for oil or water , it is a common cause of misfires, poor running and difficult starting.

done, number 1's tubes were both half full of oil. I have cleaned them out, and wire-brushed & gapped all 8 plugs

Replacement MAF fitted but not plugged in, battery fully charged. Started the car and the revs fluctuated. Switched off, plugged in the MAF, started the car, revs nice & even. Quick test drive, she pulls nicely right through the rev range.

So, todays question. I have yet to change the temp sensor. Is it worth me running the ECU reset process at this point? Or should I wait until the temp sensor has also been replaced?
TaffMGF is offline  
Status: "Ruby" has been Torpedoed!
AO Member
 
bazzbazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
County: Queensland
No need to reset the ECU again, just replace the temp sensor when it arrives. Till then, just enjoy the bloody thing and drive it like the leather clad Italian sports machine it is.

Baz
bazzbazz is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156 , reviving , £100

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome