LED numberplate lights..?? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 8Likes
  • 1 Post By dgmayhead
  • 1 Post By gazza82
  • 1 Post By dgmayhead
  • 2 Post By David C
  • 1 Post By dgmayhead
  • 1 Post By _The_Editor_
  • 1 Post By ARnovice
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 30-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,654
Images: 20
Question LED numberplate lights..??

I got a pair off of Fleabay. They both work, but are throwing up a CANBUS error on the GT. Seller claimed they were error free, but they're not.

Can I fit resisters, and where do I get em, and how do I fit 'em..?

Cheers.

It was these ones, in case you fancy getting ripped off

LED License plate Light lamp Fits ALFA ROMEO 147 156 159 166 GT Brera Spider
pendragonfalls is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
dgmayhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 1,480
You can fit resistors but really why bother? What is the problem with the oem bulbs?

Anyway, to calculate the correct resistance required measure the resistance across the old bulbs using a multimeter. Measure the resistance across the new led (record the lowest reading as it will vary depending on the direction of current). Then subtract the led value from the filament bulb value. This will give you the additional resistance required in the circuit to convince the CANBUS all is good. Buy the resistors from Maplin or such like (they are well cheap). It will be worth purchasing a few of differing resistance as the calculation above gives a ball park figure based on the resistance with a small current from the multimeter. The current in the real circuit will be higher so the filament bulb will have slightly higher resistance. This shouldn't be significant but the test above will give you a ball park figure so you can purchase a range of resistors with appropriate resistance. If you want to know precisely the resistance then you will need a working circuit with the oem bulbs and you should measure current by putting your multimeter in series and the calculate resistance by dividing voltage by current. Once you know the correct resistor required then wire each one in series with the appropriate bulb.

Alternatively buy some bulbs rhs work.
pendragonfalls likes this.
dgmayhead is offline  
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 8,466
Images: 12
Garage
Send the cr@p back .. and complain to ebay they are selling misleading items .. if you can ..

Don't bother .. most go wrong pretty quickly as they are poor quality and you'll find your "bulb out" warning light flickers ..
pendragonfalls likes this.
gazza82 is online now  
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
dgmayhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 1,480
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazza82 View Post
Send the cr@p back .. and complain to ebay they are selling misleading items .. if you can ..

Don't bother .. most go wrong pretty quickly as they are poor quality and you'll find your "bulb out" warning light flickers ..
Yes. That's kind of what I was trying to say nicely.
pendragonfalls likes this.
dgmayhead is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,300
How much to post back to Taiwan??
pendragonfalls and dgmayhead like this.
David C is online now  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
dgmayhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 1,480
Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
How much to post back to Taiwan??
Cheaper to put in the bin.
pendragonfalls likes this.
dgmayhead is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
dgmayhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 1,480
Sorry pendragon but unless they are a cool colour or something I wouldn't bother. I have 1 led side light because I got bored of changing the oems so regularly but other than longevity I can't think of any other advantages to the leds and by all accounts some brands don't last long anyway. In addition to all this when they do break the resistor is still operational as the circuit remains closed so the Bulb warning light ceases to provide useful information.
dgmayhead is offline  
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 2,418
I've got LED numberplate bulbs installed.. Bought them from http://www.autobulbsdirect.co.uk/... Work fine with no bulb errors.

Did it purely because I didn't want to be going back in to replace them again if I could help it!
pendragonfalls likes this.
_The_Editor_ is online now  
Status: still excited(shoudn't be)
AO Gold Member
 
ARnovice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: The land of burning...
County: Berkshire
Posts: 8,376
Images: 3
there are some LED bulbs with resistors built in. I had them - bought form a local Motorist's Discount Centres.
They didn't throw any errors, but one of them didn't last long (about a year only) and when it was gone it didn't show it on a dashboard.

Went back to GE 501 and happy since then.
pendragonfalls likes this.
ARnovice is online now  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
led , lights , numberplate

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome