Air con problem - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By plugster
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 10 Old 28-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
plugster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Posts: 29
Unhappy Air con problem

Hello everyone,
Sorry if this has already been covered.

My air con has developed a stupid fault, if the outside temperature goes above, around 25 degrees the air con will not work. I push the button for air con but nothing engages.
If the temperature on the dash is below ,say 20 degrees , no problems.

Has anyone ever come across this. The system gas/pressure etc was tested and is ok.

Cheers for reading and any advice.

Plugster.
plugster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,366
Images: 16
double posting

Last edited by jwq; 29-08-16 at 09:42.
jwq is online now  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,366
Images: 16
The only thing I can think of is that at higher temperatures, the climate control will initialy switch to recirculate mode, to get the temp down asap.
Perhaps there's a problem with the recirc flap or something.....
Altenatively could always be a problem with the control panel I guess....

You could try a reset: disconnect minus side of battery for half hour or so, reconnect, switch on ignition and wait for sound of moving climate control flaps to stop (1 or 2 minutes )

Last edited by jwq; 29-08-16 at 09:44.
jwq is online now  
 
Status: Vivat least vaguest.
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
County: -
Posts: 708
Overgassing might be a possibility. System pressure would exceed the pressostat's upper threshold. Worth checking the charge properly as you risk blowing a compressor seal.
addo is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 10 Old 29-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
plugster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Posts: 29
Thanks for the replies, 23degrees today and it worked fine
plugster is offline  
Status: Don't. Cut.
AO Member
 
sneaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Romania
County: Timiș
Posts: 118
Images: 1

Member car:

156 8v

I had a similar issue but having never touched the AC system at all, too much gas was obviously not it. The symptoms though did point to excessive pressure (on hot days it would cycle on/off) so I cleaned the condenser with a pressure washer. It didn't seem very dirty, but cleaning did the trick for me.

Bumper off job though
sneaker is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 10 Old 31-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
plugster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Posts: 29
Sorted, everything checked , pressure , relays etc all ok , the problem was down to that, pulled it apart and it was making really poor contact, cleaned it with switch cleaner ,refastened and bingo, air con works as it should , never fails to switch.

Please don't say that has sod all to do with the air con and it's just a coincidence.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image1.JPG (37.7 KB, 13 views)
sneaker likes this.
plugster is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Hugh Myles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sligo, Ireland.
Posts: 923

Member car:

156 2.4 JTD SW

Quote:
Originally Posted by plugster View Post
Sorted, everything checked , pressure , relays etc all ok , the problem was down to that, pulled it apart and it was making really poor contact, cleaned it with switch cleaner ,refastened and bingo, air con works as it should , never fails to switch.

Please don't say that has sod all to do with the air con and it's just a coincidence.
Where is that ?
Hugh Myles is offline  
Status: Vivat least vaguest.
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
County: -
Posts: 708
It's the one wire plug/socket on the AC compressor.

I've personally had slight trouble with the black interface plug set between engine harness and cabin harnesses, up high on the central firewall or back of the motor. Some of the pins were slipping back and not making full contact even though the housings were fully locked together.
addo is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 10 Old 01-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
plugster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by addo View Post
It's the one wire plug/socket on the AC compressor.

I've personally had slight trouble with the black interface plug set between engine harness and cabin harnesses, up high on the central firewall or back of the motor. Some of the pins were slipping back and not making full contact even though the housings were fully locked together.
addo, that's exactly what was happening to that plug. I x pin intermittent contact , worse in hot weather
plugster is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
air , con , problem

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome