New Alfa Blues - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 3Likes
  • 2 Post By boringoldgituk
  • 1 Post By addo

(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 26-08-16 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: Berkshire
Garage
Cry Like A Baby New Alfa Blues

First of all I'd like to say thanks for the add and a big hello to everybody on here on what seems like quite a friendly forum. I'm new to alfa's having bought a 2005 147 and was ok with her on the first couple of days but seemed low on power and the ussual suspension bushes gone (easy fix) but otherwise quite pleased. Then on my first slightly long trip out to take my son for a preop appointment got about 4/5 miles then a nice bang from under the bonnet followed by quite a large blue puff of oil out the exhaust so pulled up and decided one off the plugs has been blown out. So on the phone to the new breakdown company (only been a member 27 hours) and they got us home. Had a look and it seems just the top part of the plug has broken off above the thread leaving the threaded part in the head and quite a horrible mess of the rocker cover and coil pack. I know alfa's have always had a "reputation" but being an ex mechanic working on cars doesnt bother me it would have been nice though to at least get 100 miles before having good issues to deal with LOL
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20160820_150813.jpg (204.0 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg 20160820_170349.jpg (64.0 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg 20160820_170358.jpg (27.4 KB, 17 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Gold Member

County: Lancashire
Welcome - and hard luck! Pretty unusual fault - I've run TS-engined Alfas for 15 years or more and never had that happen. I suspect the previous owner had bodged something.......

Its quite common for a badly fitted cam-cover seal, and/or sloppy oil top-ups, to lead to oil getting into the spark-plug wells, and that can cause misfires which could give the issue you've had.