V6 Exhaust Flexi - Page 2 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Images: 1
Sorry to hear about your cylinder 2 problems

I would remove your new sensors and keep them aside for when the originals do fail. Handy to have a some spares but if there is nothing wrong with the old ones they shouldn't be wasted.
ransoman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #27 of 44 Old 31-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Cheers mate, just looking at quotes to get it sorted now. I have a 2 week window from next week where I have use of another car so that would be perfect. Although I am kind off tempted to try it myself, not sure it's quite the right engine to cut your teeth on regarding cambelt though.
I have removed all the new bits already and refitted the old (I was in the same frame of mind as you on that)
dominic2115 is offline  
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Images: 1
Well the engine is quite an old design so compared to many it is quite simple to work on. I don't know if you would want to make it your first rebuild job though.

The timing belt is hard but that's mostly due to access. There is a ridiculous number of bolts to undo and a lot of them are down the side of the engine up against the Chassis leg and are hard to apply any torque to, you end up doing a lot of the bolts blind and only by feel.

on rebuilding though, the actual refitting of the belt and tensioning it is easy, easier than on an 8v fiat actually I found. You need a lot of special tools though.

Alfa GT 3.2 V6 - Daily Driver.
Alfa 145 QV ph1 in green (Death by rust project) For Sale.
Alfa GTV TS ph2 in blue
ransoman is offline  
(Post Link) post #29 of 44 Old 01-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Right the plot thickens!

The car was still in pieces from compression testing the other day, so I put it all back together today incase I need to move it soon.
Tried to start it once It was done and it would turn over but not start. The battery was drained from cranking during testing, so I stuck the battery charger on it to give it a boost.
Went out a few hours later and fired it up, she started and ran beautifully. So I thought I would take it for a quick drive, she ran great.
On getting back the revs at idle were still hunting between 700-750rpm.

So I stripped the rear bank down again and replace did the compression test. All 3 cylinders were at 175psi. No issues on cylinder 2 showing themselves at all.
Strange?!

Anyway she is all assembled again but still missing slightly and still hunting on idle.
dominic2115 is offline  
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Images: 1
Perhaps that odd rubber bit affected the seal?

Did you check the engine timing?
ransoman is offline  
(Post Link) post #31 of 44 Old 01-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransoman View Post
Perhaps that odd rubber bit affected the seal?

Did you check the engine timing?
Not yet, I'm a while for a few days from tomorrow, so wanted it running si the Mrs could move it if need be.
It's next on my list
dominic2115 is offline  
(Post Link) post #32 of 44 Old 01-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
I also need a TDC gauge
dominic2115 is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
The plot thickens indeed! I would monitor things, maybe strip down again in a few weeks and do another compression test.
Pud237 is online now  
(Post Link) post #34 of 44 Old 01-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
The plot thickens indeed! I would monitor things, maybe strip down again in a few weeks and do another compression test.
My thoughts exactly Dan.
I do want to check timing, but may run it a few days next week to see how we get on as you suggested
dominic2115 is offline  
(Post Link) post #35 of 44 Old 06-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Ok so I have been running the car for the last couple of days and it has driven well apart from the slightly lumpy idle.
On the way home today though up a horrendous incline of a hill (so it was under some load) It start misfiring badly again.
I limped it home and checked the error codes, I had 4:
P0606 pcm/ecm module
P0300 multiple misfire
P0303 misfire on cylinder 3
P0306 misfire on cylinder 6
The car also smelt like it was running really hot but temp gauge was normal.

So do you guys have any thoughts? I'm thinking I need to strip back down compression test again and check cam timing as suggested previously. So I would need a TDC gauge and cam cover gaskets. Would I need spark plug gaskets?
Do I need to check both banks or is it all set on the rear one?

If anyone else as any different thoughts please let me hear them
dominic2115 is offline  
(Post Link) post #36 of 44 Old 06-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Has anyone in or around wiltshire (I'm near swindon) got 3.2 cam locking tools and a TDC gauge the wish to lend me this weekend?
dominic2115 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
County: -
You don't really need a TDC gauge for this just stick a long screwdriver down No1 plug hole. If cam cover seals aren't leaking you should be ok to reuse, unless they're old and have hardened. Plug hole seals should come as part of a new cam cover seal I think, did with mine.

But yes, 3.2 camlocks are necessary.
sprint_veloce is offline  
(Post Link) post #38 of 44 Old 07-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprint_veloce View Post
You don't really need a TDC gauge for this just stick a long screwdriver down No1 plug hole. If cam cover seals aren't leaking you should be ok to reuse, unless they're old and have hardened. Plug hole seals should come as part of a new cam cover seal I think, did with mine.

But yes, 3.2 camlocks are necessary.
Ta, gonna try EB spares today to see if I can rent theirs this weekend. If not I'm gonna have to try and borrow from Nick at Optima if I can.
dominic2115 is offline  
(Post Link) post #39 of 44 Old 08-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
EB sadly couldn't help, do I drove down to Optima and had a chat with Nick. I think he could see my despair as he suggested I take it to him on Saturday and he will have a look for me.
So it's off there on Saturday and he can have it all week as I have use of a 147 jtd all week.
Hopefully gets sorted and doesn't cost the earth because quite frankly I'm starting to lose my love affair with it right now.
It may well be up for sale very soon.
dominic2115 is offline  
(Post Link) post #40 of 44 Old 25-09-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
So a little update for you all. I am still waiting for the fault to be found on the GT. Optima have now had it 3 weeks and think it's electrical causing the misfire.
I'm a little frustrated because it's along time to have the car and still not be able to tell me for certain what's wrong.
In the meantime I have managed to get in contact with Smakey (who used to be one here) he has suggested I get the car back from Optima and get down to see him with it. I want too, buy I am at work all week so it's staying at Optima for now.

Getting fed up of not having a car I have gone out and bought a new motor.

It's a Saab 9-3 vector sport. It was a Saab dealerships show car when new so was fully Aero trim kitted out and had the Hirsh (Saabs tunning division) package put on also. FSH, 2 Previous owners and 92k on the clock. Cost me 1600quid.
It need new discs and pads on the rear but they are getting put on today by me at 43 quid from ECP. Apart from that it's in great nick, pulls like a train and so far averaging 51mpg.



Not sure if she is a keeper yet, that all depends on the GT.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20160925_083918_1474789877242.jpg (79.4 KB, 6 views)
dominic2115 is offline  
(Post Link) post #41 of 44 Old 01-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
So got really ****ed off yesterday with the lack of movement on the GT.
It's been at Optima over 3 weeks now and they have only got as far as a compression test and still not given me cause of the misfire.
So I phoned autolusso in Bournemouth and spoke to Lawrence who is gonna look at it for me now, I probably should have done this in the first place, but when you have a so called Alfa specialist just down the road from you, that's your natural first port of call.
So I picked up the GT yesterday from Optima as they have done **** all with it and prioritise every other job over that.
Drove it home and it sound awful and now has a low oil pressure warning flashing at me. This was not happening before it went to Optima by the way! And to top it all off the window switches on the drivers side are all broken and someone has literally balanced the thing back together hoping I won't notice the top fall off exposing the buttons which then fall our!
****ing fuming! I phoned optima who say it wasn't them, why would they touch the window switches etc. It funny that the leather around them is all covered in oily grease marks too!

I am so angry! Over 3 weeks they had it, Achieved nothing, and I get it back with a low oil pressure warning anf a smashed up window switch!

AVOID OPTIMA AT ALL COSTS!!!!
dominic2115 is offline  
(Post Link) post #42 of 44 Old 23-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
IT'S ALIVE! Loz and the guys at Autolusso have fixed it. Cam timing was way out causing the misfire, a full cambelt kit and waterpump fitted and she is all re-timed.

The last cambelt change was in Feb 15 and the car has done 18k since, seems the waterpump and idlers etc weren't replaced though, so glad it's all been done now.

She is still at Autolusso just having a couple of small bits sorted that Loz picked up on the Health check, hopefully be ready to pick up in the week. I am so excited to have her back, it's been going on since mid Aug!

Unfortunately my joy will be short lived as I have decided to let her go, so keep you eyes peeled for a For Sale thread sometime next week if anyone is interested in a cheap to fuel, well sorted, fresh cambelt, great colour combo(black with Tan) example. :-)
_The_Editor_ likes this.
dominic2115 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Images: 2
Sorry this is off thread and no help with your recent problems now hopefully resolved for the benefit of someone else, but I've been trying to find someone with an LPGed V6 for ages, any chance you could give me the details of your system components and any engine and tank pics would be really appreciated. before you let her go.

Last edited by Yorkshirekeith; 23-10-16 at 20:54.
Yorkshirekeith is offline  
(Post Link) post #44 of 44 Old 23-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorkshirekeith View Post
Sorry this is off thread and no help with your recent problems now hopefully resolved for the benefit of someone else, but I've been trying to find someone with an LPGed V6 for ages, any chance you could give me the details of your system components and any engine and tank pics would be really appreciated. before you let her go.
I will PM you now mate.
dominic2115 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
exhaust , flexi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome