Aircon/blower issue - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Alfa Seltzer
  • 2 Post By rodt
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 22-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Going the right way
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 179
Aircon/blower issue

2003 156 1.8TS Sportwagon. The air appears to be quite cool coming out of the vents but it's the lack of any oomph that is the problem. A chihuahua wagging it's tail could produce more air.

I wouldn't be too worried but the drivers door window is stuck in the up position so airflow is a bit limited.

Any suggestions?
rodt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 2,415
Blocked pollen filter?
_The_Editor_ is offline  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,522
Images: 16
or needs a re-gas
jwq is online now  
 
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 2,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
or needs a re-gas
Lack of gas in the AC circuit will affect the temperature, not the amount of air coming out of the vents...

If there's not enough air, either the blower isn't blowing hard enough, or the air is being restricted somewhere...
_The_Editor_ is offline  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,522
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by _The_Editor_ View Post
Lack of gas in the AC circuit will affect the temperature, not the amount of air coming out of the vents...
.......
of course, but might feel as though capacity is less ....
jwq is online now  
Status: Alfaless
AO Member
 
Alfa Seltzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hants
Posts: 948

Member car:

GT...Golf GT

Have you checked the internal flaps that control airflow are operating freely? These can sometimes stick if left in one position for prolonged periods.

TBH I have found that the airflow on Alfas is generally poor anyway as though the ventilation & heating system is something of an afterthought, my GT's fan is properly noisy at full chat but the airflow is nothing like I could muster on the Focus or Golf that I had forays into a few years ago.
dgmayhead likes this.
Alfa Seltzer is offline  
Status: Just got a license
AO Member
 
tishobg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
County: -
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa Seltzer View Post
Have you checked the internal flaps that control airflow are operating freely? These can sometimes stick if left in one position for prolonged periods.

TBH I have found that the airflow on Alfas is generally poor anyway as though the ventilation & heating system is something of an afterthought, my GT's fan is properly noisy at full chat but the airflow is nothing like I could muster on the Focus or Golf that I had forays into a few years ago.
Hey. I have a problem with my flap being stuck to cold air. Is it possible to fix it somehow? It's probably just seized, since the AC was never used by the previous owner, I had to re-gas it entirely. No leaks !
I have heard of some A/C unit reset via a battery disconnect ?
tishobg is offline  
Status: Alfaless
AO Member
 
Alfa Seltzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hants
Posts: 948

Member car:

GT...Golf GT

Yes, if you disconnect the battery and leave it for 30 minutes or so the various ECU's should theoretically "drain" of their settings.
Upon reconnecting turn the key to the first position only and you should hear all sorts of strange noises as various components liven up and settle to their default position, this should include the heater flaps which I'm told will initially cycle all positions before settling on those requested by the controls...I have witnessed this on my GT as short bursts of air came from various places in succession. The exact technicalities and procedures are unknown to me but I'm relating past experience here.

Of course if a flap is truly stuck in position for whatever reason (swelling out of shape /moisture ingress etc?) the above may not solve the problem....Good luck

Sprint - 33 - Sprint - 33 - 155 - GTV - GTV - 156 - GT ...gone German for now though.
Alfa Seltzer is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 13 Old 28-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Going the right way
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 179
Thanks everyone. Disconnected the battery, waited 30 minutes and now I have cold air actually blowing.
Alfa Seltzer and dgmayhead like this.
rodt is offline  
Status: Just got a license
AO Member
 
tishobg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
County: -
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa Seltzer View Post
Yes, if you disconnect the battery and leave it for 30 minutes or so the various ECU's should theoretically "drain" of their settings.
Upon reconnecting turn the key to the first position only and you should hear all sorts of strange noises as various components liven up and settle to their default position, this should include the heater flaps which I'm told will initially cycle all positions before settling on those requested by the controls...I have witnessed this on my GT as short bursts of air came from various places in succession. The exact technicalities and procedures are unknown to me but I'm relating past experience here.

Of course if a flap is truly stuck in position for whatever reason (swelling out of shape /moisture ingress etc?) the above may not solve the problem....Good luck
If the flap is indeed stuck in my position, is a removal of the dashboard the only way to get to it? I would love to have a heater during the winter months, but shops are asking for 150EUR to remove the dashboard.
tishobg is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 13 Old 30-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Going the right way
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodt View Post
Thanks everyone. Disconnected the battery, waited 30 minutes and now I have cold air actually blowing.
And it's fixed the annoying bleeps and misleading warnings from the computer thing.
BUT I forgot that I don't have the radio cose...............
rodt is offline  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,522
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodt View Post
....BUT I forgot that I don't have the radio code...............
Ask for it here ?
http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...-here-349.html (Need a radio code? Ask here...)
jwq is online now  
(Post Link) post #13 of 13 Old 31-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Going the right way
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 179
Thank you. I found it in my safe place (and that's pretty much a first for me).
rodt is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
aircon or blower , issue

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome