Keys - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 26 Old 11-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Banbury
County: Oxfordshire-
Posts: 6

Member car:

1.9 JTD GT

Keys

Hi, I have just got a 2005 Deisel Gt but do not have keys or fob , I had a guy supply a key so I could trailer it home , he tried to programme the new key but didn't work,I think he was short of time so didn't have the time to spend on the issue .
Any advise would be welcome .
Studoublem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,537
Images: 16
I assume you have the security code ? If not, it's going to be a lot more difficult ....
jwq is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Scotland
County: Falkirk
Posts: 633

Member car:

147

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
I assume you have the security code ? If not, it's going to be a lot more difficult ....
And that's assuming the ecu, body computer and key haven't already been changed at some point. Hopefully not though.
Davffc is online now  
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
MalcQV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 12,065
Images: 24
Garage

Member car:

Office Chair.

An Alfa dealer is your best bet here.
However be prepared.
MalcQV is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 26 Old 11-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Banbury
County: Oxfordshire-
Posts: 6

Member car:

1.9 JTD GT

No I don't have the code !
Studoublem is offline  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,537
Images: 16
Then you have a serious problem. You need the code to program keys (and use the emergency start procedure)
Your best bet would be to check with the seller to see if he has the code.
Official way if you can't get it from Alfa UK is to install a new set of bodycomputer plus ECU (expensive).... I think there are companies who can remove the start inhibiter, though I seem to recall it's more difficult with 147 & gt
jwq is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Gold Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 10,547
Images: 11
Garage
Sorry, but why would you buy a car without keys?

Did you get all the documentation with the car?...
Verbout is offline  
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 4,787
Images: 1
How/why did you buy a car that has no keys?

Your only option without the code card is to get a 2nd hand Key, lock and ECU set.
ransoman is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Gold Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 10,547
Images: 11
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransoman View Post
How/why did you buy a car that has no keys?

Your only option without the code card is to get a 2nd hand Key, lock and ECU set.
I there an echo in here
Verbout is offline  
Status: +o-V-o+
AO Silver Member
 
Giorget2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 3,775
Buying a car without keys is like buying a cellphone without a charger or any accessories...

Unless you got very good documentation with the car, I'd suspect a rather large snake in the grass.
Giorget2 is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 26 Old 11-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Banbury
County: Oxfordshire-
Posts: 6

Member car:

1.9 JTD GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
Sorry, but why would you buy a car without keys?

Did you get all the documentation with the car?...
I have bought the car from an insolvency company a cheap car for a project a group of us are doing I should have the V5c soon ,
Studoublem is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 26 Old 11-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Banbury
County: Oxfordshire-
Posts: 6

Member car:

1.9 JTD GT

I have bought the car from. Insolvency company very cheap how ever with out keys , this is normal with repossessions . A group of us have this top gear type task all in Alfa Romeos , so all need is it to run not to bothered about the immobiliser .
Studoublem is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Gold Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 10,547
Images: 11
Garage
Good luck with that
Verbout is offline  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,537
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Studoublem View Post
I have bought the car from. Insolvency company very cheap how ever with out keys , this is normal with repossessions . A group of us have this top gear type task all in Alfa Romeos , so all need is it to run not to bothered about the immobiliser .
However, the immobiliser is an integral part of the ECU (and bodycomputer), so extremely difficult to bypass (lucky for us owners, as that is the whole idea )
jwq is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
MalcQV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 12,065
Images: 24
Garage

Member car:

Office Chair.

Hang on. I bought a second key from Alfa (Mango's IIRC) for my GT. All they wanted from me was the registration and VIN which the OP will get. They had all the details, cut the blade to suit the car. I picked the key up.
What I never did was pay Alfa UK for the pin code to program the (once only per fob) code. The key cost me 160, the code and programming was about another 60-70 which I never bothered to do.

Now from what I recall you can phone the dealer whom will attempt to get you the code from ARUK which in most cases is possible. You need to prove ownership which the OP will be able to do.
You can then take that code to a key specialist who would also do it. However I don't think there is much in the way of saving much money but you might.

Mangos never once asked for my exisitng key, they don't need it.

So Studoublem when you get the V5 speak to your favourite AR dealer. He should be able to organise the key/s and programming. I'd wager the keys to be about 200-250+programming. If you need two it'll be around 500-600 I would guess.

Priorities I find, are usually someone else's.
Statements above are all my own opinion and not fact.
MalcQV is offline  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,537
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wezley View Post
Hang on. I bought a second key from Alfa (Mango's IIRC) for my GT. All they wanted from me was the registration and VIN which the OP will get. They had all the details, cut the blade to suit the car. I picked the key up.
What I never did was pay Alfa UK for the pin code to program the (once only per fob) code. The key cost me 160, the code and programming was about another 60-70 which I never bothered to do.

Now from what I recall you can phone the dealer whom will attempt to get you the code from ARUK which in most cases is possible. You need to prove ownership which the OP will be able to do.
You can then take that code to a key specialist who would also do it. However I don't think there is much in the way of saving much money but you might.

Mangos never once asked for my exisitng key, they don't need it.

So Studoublem when you get the V5 speak to your favourite AR dealer. He should be able to organise the key/s and programming. I'd wager the keys to be about 200-250+programming. If you need two it'll be around 500-600 I would guess.
The key is not the problem, you can get a virgin key in a number of ways..... However, to get it (the transponder chip) recognised/registered by the immobiliser, you need the security code. If you have that, you can even program the key(s) yourself using MES.
jwq is offline  
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 4,787
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
I there an echo in here
I think our posts were seconds apart
ransoman is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
MalcQV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 12,065
Images: 24
Garage

Member car:

Office Chair.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
The key is not the problem, you can get a virgin key in a number of ways..... However, to get it (the transponder chip) recognised/registered by the immobiliser, you need the security code. If you have that, you can even program the key(s) yourself using MES.
Indeed, the security code I never had for my GT. Alfa UK normally have it, if they don't Alfa in Italy will. I was told I might just have to wait a bit longer. I'm currently aware just how laid back the Italians are!
MalcQV is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,303
Italy will be on holiday for August, so they won't be rushing back from the beach to sort his key.

With some ECUs good automotive locksmiths can suck the code from them and make the key that way.
So all is not lost and it can be done, but may take a while if you need help from Italy.

Studoublem, where in the world are you? There may be a good key man we can recommend local to you.

Last edited by David C; 12-08-16 at 12:48.
David C is online now  
Status: Freezing!
AO Silver Member
 
Rockhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 4,970
Rockhopper is offline  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,537
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockhopper View Post
Not really, because it doesn't include the also required bodycomputer, whereby it should be noted that the bodycomputer is specific to the chassis number of the car.....
They form a matched set... Also doesn't mention if it includes the security code

Last edited by jwq; 12-08-16 at 14:58.
jwq is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Yorkshire
Posts: 309

Member car:

GT 2.0 JTS

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
Not really, because it doesn't include the also required bodycomputer, whereby it should be noted that the bodycomputer is specific to the chassis number of the car.....
They form a matched set... Also doesn't mention if it includes the security code
The picture does show the body computer (it's the grey box screwed behind the fuse box) and the set shown does indeed include all you need to get a GT going. Plus a few parts you don't need (the speedo' binnacle and the other relay/fuse box aren't needed).

The parts you need to fit: body computer, engine management ECU and ignition barrel are all coded to each other and to the key that comes with them. So long as the vehicle is identical to yours all will work fine.
jonb.gt is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Cromwell's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2418
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Studoublem View Post
Hi, I have just got a 2005 Deisel Gt but do not have keys or fob , I had a guy supply a key so I could trailer it home , he tried to programme the new key but didn't work,I think he was short of time so didn't have the time to spend on the issue .
Any advise would be welcome .
Where abouts are you? I can sort out getting the key you have programmed no problem without changing anything. Drop me a pm if you still need it sorting.
Mav666 likes this.

Last edited by Cromwell; 14-08-16 at 09:13.
Cromwell is offline  
Status: Busy
AO Member
 
biddyrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 183
Images: 16
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cromwell View Post
Where abouts you? I can sort out getting the key you have programmed no problem withiut changing anything. Drop me a pm if you still need it sorting.
And there's the proof nothing is impossible, Love it !
biddyrascal is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
County: -
Posts: 112

Member car:

156

Is the ignition barrel coded? I'd think not. The locks are not electronic, just the immobilizer chip from the key is required when swapping ECU and body computer.
gwinter is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
keys

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome