2.4 JTD Maf Sensor do I need it ? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By TOX1C
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 15 Old 08-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
meterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Swansea
County: Wales
Garage
2.4 JTD Maf Sensor do I need it ?

Hi I got my 2000 156 JTD about a month ago it was going fine but fuel consumption was not. I looked at the air filter but when I tried to remove it the nuts where F**&ED so I replaced it with a cone shaped filter. Then the problems started very sluggish my Vivaro van went quicker so I checked for leaks nothing I then disconnected the MAF sensor. Now it drives better than when I bought it. So do I need it?
meterman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
You need a new one, and/or a replacement airbox with working fasteners...

MAF sensors don't always play nicely with cone filters... Could be that fitting the cone filter changed the airflow enough that the MAF isn't working correctly... Original airboxes are designed to work well with the MAF meter, and run quietly too...
_The_Editor_ is online now  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Yes you need a new MAF sensor, you've killed your old one with the oiled cone filter.....
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 15 Old 08-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
meterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Swansea
County: Wales
Garage
Why is the car now driving better with the sensor disconnected?
If I replace the sensor how can I prevent the same happening again by still using the cone?
meterman is offline  
jwq
Status: Thinking about giulia veloce
Club Member
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by meterman View Post
Why is the car now driving better with the sensor disconnected?
......
Because your maf was defective..... disconnecting it causes the engine to fall back to programmed default values, which will allow the engine to run, but are far from optimal.....
jwq is online now  
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Quote:
Originally Posted by meterman View Post
Why is the car now driving better with the sensor disconnected?
If I replace the sensor how can I prevent the same happening again by still using the cone?
Use a non-oiled filter, or even better use an original airbox/filter arrangement.
_The_Editor_ is online now  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Images: 9
The oiled filter problem is a myth. I've used both K&N and Pipercross filters on a JTD 16/20 valve and now a GTA without any problems - providing the instructions are followed and the filter is not over-oiled.
jwq likes this.
TOX1C is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 15 Old 09-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
meterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Swansea
County: Wales
Garage
Thanks for your replies anybody know the best place to get a sensor please. I have had a look on e-bay but there are just so many and a lot from China. Cheers
meterman is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by meterman View Post
Thanks for your replies anybody know the best place to get a sensor please. I have had a look on e-bay but there are just so many and a lot from China. Cheers
If you want it to work properly, it needs to be a genuine Bosch part.
eBay is best avoided for MAF sensors.
David C is offline  
Status: Inspired
AO Gold Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Images: 11
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by meterman View Post
Thanks for your replies anybody know the best place to get a sensor please. I have had a look on e-bay but there are just so many and a lot from China. Cheers
Have you tried cleaning it before buying another?
Verbout is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 15 Old 09-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
meterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Swansea
County: Wales
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
Have you tried cleaning it before buying another?
Is there a cleaning tip available or am I best trying You Tube?
meterman is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Images: 9
I've sprayed the MAF with electrical contact cleaner (Isopropanol) to good effect.

There is no need to buy the complete housing, you can just get the sensor. I "Dremelled" off the bolt heads, removed the remains of the threads and replaced them with big self tappers - job jobbed
TOX1C is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
dgmayhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Quote:
Originally Posted by meterman View Post
Hi I got my 2000 156 JTD about a month ago it was going fine but fuel consumption was not. I looked at the air filter but when I tried to remove it the nuts where F**&ED so I replaced it with a cone shaped filter. Then the problems started very sluggish my Vivaro van went quicker so I checked for leaks nothing I then disconnected the MAF sensor. Now it drives better than when I bought it. So do I need it?
Yes a working maf is needed. However, given the age of your car and the fact that you think it is currently running well. No harm will come to your engine with it running as it is. A new Bosch maf is over 80 and new air boxes that don't leak are hard to find. There's probably a little more refinement to be had from a standard set up but I'd keep it as it is and spend the change down the pub.
dgmayhead is offline  
Status: Inspired
AO Gold Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Images: 11
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by meterman View Post
Is there a cleaning tip available or am I best trying You Tube?
There are YouTube videos, some scream that you should spray them with maf cleaner only, some say any electrical contact cleaner.

I saw Scanner Danner, a well respected technician on YouTube cleaning the wire/resistor with a small screwdriver.

I would imagine if your wire is contaminated with oil a degreaser of some sort may spark it into life. Worth a go.

Pays you're money takes your chance.
Verbout is offline  
jwq
Status: Thinking about giulia veloce
Club Member
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Images: 16
one example:
Fun starts @ 3000!

use something like "Kontakt 60" : http://uk.farnell.com/kontakt-chemie...0ml/dp/2142395 , http://www.motoelectrical.co.uk/uplo..._KONTAKT60.pdf and/or rinse off afterwards with "Isopropyl alcohol".
Don't touch the actual sensors with any objects.....

Last edited by jwq; 10-08-16 at 09:18.
jwq is online now  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
jtd , maf , sensor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome