This might sound a stupid question but .. - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 25-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 8,463
Images: 12
Garage
This might sound a stupid question but ..

... can you use a brake hose clamp on braided hoses (Goodridge)???

Need to swap out a rear caliper at some stage (seized handbrake mechanism) and wanted to lose as little fluid as poss in the process. Makes bleeding quicker.




When I fitted them I clamped the original hose, removed the caliper from the end and fitted new hose to the caliper. Then as quickly as I could removed the old hose from the fixed pipe (had already loosened them), blocked the end with a well-placed latex-glove-covered-finger and then screwed the new hose back on and nipped up the pipe nut. Refitted caliper and tightened the fixed pipe end after re-aligning the hose.

cheers, Gary

HIS: ex-1998 156 2.0 TSpark with Sport Pack 2, sunroof and hi-level spoiler in Alfa Rosso. V6 intake mod, clear side repeaters and Zeatek undertray. 10th Sep 1998 to 12th Jan 2017

HERS: 2009 MiTo 1.4 95bhp Turismo arrived 21st November in Techno Grey with colour-coded headlight surrounds.

My Alfa156 Web Site - how-to's, piccies, links, useful stuff, etc.
gazza82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Meh....
AO Gold Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 10,531
Images: 11
Garage
Good question

I would have thought yes, it's only an outer covering of plaited wire with normal brake hose underneath, but I don't know for definite.

Someone will be along shortly to blow me out of the water
Verbout is online now  
Status: Meh....
AO Gold Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 10,531
Images: 11
Garage
These don't think it's a good idea:

Caliper change - Page 1 - Chimaera - PistonHeads
Verbout is online now  
 
Status: Meh....
AO Gold Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 10,531
Images: 11
Garage
And it's a no from these:

http://forum.205gtidrivers.com/index...owtopic=124866

"Keep the brake pedal pressed down and no fluid will come out"

Didn't know that!!!
Verbout is online now  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 3,263

Member car:

Alfa 156 Gta

Nope
maxiboy wales is offline  
Status: DB9 Top Gear Track
AO Silver Member
 
pubsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 1,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
"Keep the brake pedal pressed down and no fluid will come out"

Didn't know that!!!
What?

Pub
pubsinger is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 5,821
I wouldn't risk it.

If the pedal pressed is pressed the hole between the master cylinder & the reservoir will be closed, so fluid can't enter the system. You can get the same effect by blocking off the breather hole in the reservoir cap - easiest way is to remove the cap, place a piece of a plastic bag over the top of the reservoir & screw the cap back into place.
Dave Brand is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
County: -
Posts: 112

Member car:

156

I've had my hoses changed at a workshop.
They don't bother clamping it at all.
The reservoir was not opened and not much fluid came out as I thought it was going to be.
Afterwards just bled normally.
gwinter is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Gold Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 10,531
Images: 11
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Brand View Post
I wouldn't risk it.

If the pedal pressed is pressed the hole between the master cylinder & the reservoir will be closed, so fluid can't enter the system. You can get the same effect by blocking off the breather hole in the reservoir cap - easiest way is to remove the cap, place a piece of a plastic bag over the top of the reservoir & screw the cap back into place.
Done the plastic bag thing before, but that was on old cars many years ago, can't see it being any different with present day cars.

The brake pedal being held down I quoted was from the article I put in the post, but I'm sure I've seen it done either on the TV or a YouTube video.
Verbout is online now  
(Post Link) post #10 of 12 Old 26-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 8,463
Images: 12
Garage
Thanks. I had a feeling it wasn't a great idea .. and I've used the plastic over the reservoir many times before. But with Alfa having ABS, you don't want air in that or it can be a pain to re-bleed, so I'll just have to work quickly, although being a rear caliper is probably less risk.

Thanks .. appreciate the feedback!
gazza82 is offline  
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 2,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
The brake pedal being held down I quoted was from the article I put in the post, but I'm sure I've seen it done either on the TV or a YouTube video.
EricTheCarGuy on his Youtube channel tried it, and it seemed to work out pretty well.. Small amount of spillage when first cracked the lines as it was under pressure, but once that small volume has been displaced there wasn't any productive dripping/leaking..
_The_Editor_ is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Gold Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 10,531
Images: 11
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by _The_Editor_ View Post
EricTheCarGuy on his Youtube channel tried it, and it seemed to work out pretty well.. Small amount of spillage when first cracked the lines as it was under pressure, but once that small volume has been displaced there wasn't any productive dripping/leaking..
That's where I'll have seen it then I subscribe to his channel. Cheers.

Last edited by Verbout; 29-07-16 at 05:16.
Verbout is online now  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
question , sound , stupid

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome